Sales! Free to $1.99

26 September 2011

Waiting On Monday





Well I hate Sundays and I can't believe they are trying to make Sat a non mail day.  I love getting mail and I always end up wondering where the mail is and then find out it is Sunday. Then I feel stupid lol.

So as we are waiting on Monday here I thought I would drop a post on Followers.

I am currently holding an ongoing followers contest where you pick the book you win and all you have to do is follow me.  The more you follow the more entries you have.  


I have given away 15 books so far.  

I also wanted to let you all know that I will follow anyone who follows me.  Just follow me and take my button if ya want.  Then click the link at the top page that says Blog Followers.  

Comment there with what you did and who you did it as and post a link to your site. And if you took my button where is it.  


You can also get more entries if you join my site ring. Which can be found on the bottom right side of my site.  






Well thats about it for today. Ill be back Monday with what is in My Mail   Box!!  I so can't wait. 





25 September 2011

Review: Dark Passage





Title: Dark Passage
Author: M.J. Putney
Publication Date: September 13, 2011
Ages: 12 and up
Pages: 320
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin






Mary Jo Putney

Biography

A New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USAToday bestselling author, Mary Jo Putney was born in Upstate New York with a reading addiction, a condition for which there is no known cure. Her entire romance writing career is an accidental byproduct of buying a computer for other purposes. 

Her novels are known for psychological depth and intensity and include historical and contemporary romance, fantasy, and young adult fantasy. Winner of numerous writing awards, including two RITAs and two Romantic Times Career Achievement awards, she has five times had books listed among the Library Journal's top five romances of the year, and three times had books among the top ten romances of Booklist, the magazine of the American Library Association.

Her favorite reading is great stories, but in a pinch she'll settle for the backs of cereal boxes. She's delighted that e-publishing can now make available books that have been out of print. 


My Review: 


I was so happy when this book finally showed up in my mail box! I was lucky enough to get a copy from the author and her publisher.I must say that I was not disappointed!!! I cannot express how much I loved this book. And I can't wait for the next one in the series.We follow the Irregulars to France this time to save some very important people. We find that love is just a school away and your heart if more important than your duty.This book gave us more POV's as we were not just in Tory's but in Cynthia's as well which was a nice change. It really made me like Cynthia as a character.The next one comes out in 2012 and I hope that I am again fortunate enough to get a copy.













24 September 2011

Banned Book Week

Information taken from the link at the top of this post.  


September 24−October 1, 2011 
Banned Books Week (BBW) is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment.  Held during the last week of September, Banned Books Week highlights the benefits of free and open access to information while drawing attention to the harms of censorship by spotlighting actual or attempted bannings of books across the United States.
Intellectual freedom—the freedom to access information and express ideas, even if the information and ideas might be considered unorthodox or unpopular—provides the foundation for Banned Books Week.  BBW stresses the importance of ensuring the availability of unorthodox or unpopular viewpoints for all who wish to read and access them.
The books featured during Banned Books Week have been targets of attempted bannings.  Fortunately, while some books were banned or restricted, in a majority of cases the books were not banned, all thanks to the efforts of librarians, teachers, booksellers, and members of the community to retain the books in the library collections.  Imagine how many more books might be challenged—and possibly banned or restricted—if librarians, teachers, and booksellers across the country did not use Banned Books Week each year to teach the importance of our First Amendment rights and the power of literature, and to draw attention to the danger that exists when restraints are imposed on the availability of information in a free society.
For more information on getting involved with Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read, please see Calendar of EventsIdeas and Resources, and the newBanned Books Week site. You can also contact the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedomat 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4220, or bbw@ala.org.







About Banned & Challenged Books

What's the difference between a challenge and a banning? 

A challenge is an attempt to remove or restrict materials, based upon the objections of a person or group.  A banning is the removal of those materials.  Challenges do not simply involve a person expressing a point of view; rather, they are an attempt to remove material from the curriculum or library, thereby restricting the access of others.  Due to the commitment of librarians, teachers, parents, students and other concerned citizens, most challenges are unsuccessful and most materials are retained in the school curriculum or library collection.

Why are books challenged? 

Books usually are challenged with the best intentions—to protect others, frequently children, from difficult ideas and information. See Notable First Amendment Cases.
Censorship can be subtle, almost imperceptible, as well as blatant and overt, but, nonetheless, harmful. As John Stuart Mill wrote in On Liberty:
If all mankind minus one, were of one opinion, and only one person were of the contrary opinion, mankind would be no more justified in silencing that one person, than he, if he had the power, would be justified in silencing mankind. Were an opinion a personal possession of no value except to the owner; if to be obstructed in the enjoyment of it were simply a private injury, it would make some difference whether the injury was inflicted only on a few persons or on many. But the peculiar evil of silencing the expression of an opinion is, that it is robbing the human race; posterity as well as the existing generation; those who dissent from the opinion, still more than those who hold it. If the opinion is right, they are deprived of the opportunity of exchanging error for truth: if wrong, they lose, what is almost as great a benefit, the clearer perception and livelier impression of truth, produced by its collision with error. 
— On Liberty, John Stuart Mill
Often challenges are motivated by a desire to protect children from “inappropriate” sexual content or “offensive” language. The following were the top three reasons cited for challenging materials as reported to the Office of Intellectual Freedom:
  1. the material was considered to be "sexually explicit"
  2. the material contained "offensive language"
  3. the materials was "unsuited to any age group"
Although this is a commendable motivation, Free Access to Libraries for Minors, an interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights (ALA's basic policy concerning access to information) states that, “Librarians and governing bodies should maintain that parents—and only parents—have the right and the responsibility to restrict the access of their children—and only their children—to library resources.” Censorship by librarians of constitutionally protected speech, whether for protection or for any other reason, violates the First Amendment.
As Supreme Court Justice William J. Brennan, Jr., in Texas v. Johnson , said most eloquently:
If there is a bedrock principle underlying the First Amendment, it is that the government may not prohibit the expression of an idea simply because society finds the idea itself offensive or disagreeable.
If we are to continue to protect our First Amendment, we would do well to keep in mind these words of Noam Chomsky:
If we don't believe in freedom of expression for people we despise, we don't believe in it at all.
Or these words of Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas (" The One Un-American Act." Nieman Reports , vol. 7, no. 1, Jan. 1953, p. 20):
Restriction of free thought and free speech is the most dangerous of all subversions. It is the one un-American act that could most easily defeat us. 

Who Challenges Books?

Throughout history, more and different kinds of people and groups of all persuasions than you might first suppose, who, for all sorts of reasons, have attempted—and continue to attempt—to suppress anything that conflicts with or anyone who disagrees with their own beliefs.
In his book Free Speech for Me—But Not for Thee: How the American Left and Right Relentlessly Censor Each Other, Nat Hentoff writes that “the lust to suppress can come from any direction.” He quotes Phil Kerby, a former editor of the Los Angeles Times, as saying, “Censorship is the strongest drive in human nature; sex is a weak second.”
According to the Challenges by Initiator, Institution, Type, and Year, parents challenge materials more often than any other group.


11 September 2011

Review: Drought






Title: Drought
Author: Pam Bachorz
Publication Date: January 25, 2011
Ages: 12 and up
Pages: 400
Publisher: EgmontUSA

















































































Pam Bachorz

Biography

Pam Bachorz grew up in a small town in the Adirondack foothills, where she participated in every possible performance group and assiduously avoided any threat of athletic activity, unless it involved wearing sequined headpieces and treading water.

Pam draws inspiration from the places she knows best: she wrote CANDOR while living in a Florida planned community, and set DROUGHT in the woods where she spent her summers as a child. She and her family currently live near Washington, DC. When she's not writing, reading, working or parenting, Pam likes to go to museums and theater performances, and watch far too much television.

As far as she knows, Pam has never been brainwashed. Or maybe that's just what she's supposed to say.




My Review:
Ok so this book was really good. I wasn't to happy about the ending I think it could have had more. But It was good. The story was very addicting as I finished this book in one day. The book follows a girl named Ruby who has been a slave for around 200 year. It is set in the year of 2012 and it is a very thrilling story of what would you do for freedom? and what wouldn't you do for love?

The book is very religions and it shows the many issues that being dedicated to your religion can take you. As would you allow people to treat you badly just because your god left and you think that you are supposed to wait and endure. It takes you to the brink of what wouldn't you for freedom and what would you risk for love??

It is not a christen religious story just so you know. Their god is Otto who left Ruby's mother over 200 years ago. His blood and the water they collect is the staple of their lives.

All in all it was a wonderful book. It has a very good ending but I wish they would have done more. I think it would be an awesome series. And I could see it as a made for tv mini series.








09 September 2011

In My Witch Box


So I came home to a happy Surprise 

POSTCARDS!!!  YAY!!

Below is my postcard that I made for my site.  I finally got it to scan right yay!!


this is from the UKRAINE


CALIFORNIA 

POLAND


I also found some really good books at the used bookstore!

I found the following today in New Condition

Nightshade and Wolfbane
the Body Finder
Birth Marked

07 September 2011

Giveaway

Check out this awesome giveaway from @LiteraryExplore for a chance to win The Hollow http://literary-exploration.blogspot.com/2011/09/giveaway-and-guest-review.html http://literary-exploration.blogspot.com/p/giveaways.html


06 September 2011

In Our Mailbox


So I thought my mail lady was going to kill me today.  I had ordered a bunch of Priority Boxes and such and ended up messing up on the amount. So instead of getting 10 boxes I got 10 units which is 225 boxes and I did that more than once. Thinking I'm going to be getting 10-20 boxes and not units.  We also got our first post card from POSTCROSSING.COM it is from Montana.  And last but not least I revived a few books from Goodreads.com/swap.



You can see my two kids waving. Even the baby who is currently 10 months old and my 7 year old. 



Here are some of my ARC's Some I got today and some of them I didn't. 



Here is our 1st postcard we have gotten from Postcrossing.com 




05 September 2011

Review: Shifting

Title: Shifting
Author: Bethany Wiggins


Publisher: Walker Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 27th, 2011
Pages: 353
Ages: 12 and up






Ok so I finished this book in 1 DAY.  YES It was that good.  I stayed up till almost 2am to finish reading it.  So the low down.  The back of my copy says Full of romance, mysticism, and intrigue.  Well they were right.  I would have to say that this is Twilight but in a good way and without the vampires.  




Our main character is Maggie Mae an almost 18 years old (yay more almost adults) who has been shuffled around to a lot of foster homes before she ends up in Silver City.  There is no love triangle which I was grateful for.  And you don't really find out what our leading man is until near the end of the book.  Which by the end of the book when you think you know what Maggie is Bethany Wiggins throws you a curve ball and scares the ever living HELL out of you.  (have tissues)  


As I had said that this is like Twilight I want to explain our leading lady is so unlike Bella you will jump for joy. She is someone that you would want your daughters to look up to.  At most times she is filled with so much fear that I think it would be deliberating. Yet somehow she works passed it and moves on.  Even when her leading man leaves her she is dying of a broken heart but she still pushes on unlike Bella when Edward leaves.  


So this book get 5 Trees because it was OUTSTANDING!!  









03 September 2011

NEW LAWS FOR MUSIC VOLUME







MY DAY STARTED OUT LIKE THIS>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>



<THEN AS THE DAY WENT BY I START TO READ ANOTHER BOOK






THEN WE STARTED HEARING THIS HORRENDOUS  NOISE>










<WE CALLED THE COPS AND FOUND OUT THAT THEY HAD A PERMIT TO TO PLAY MUSIC TILL 8PM SO THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING

IS IT SO HARD TO ASK THEM TO >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>








WE NEED >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>












Ok so today we got up to do school and everything was fine.  We didn't get much sleep last night but we were dragging along.  Then around 12pm we started hearing this banging.  I thought it was the next door neighbor with their music up way loud.  But I just found out that it is a community picnic and that they have a permit to have music so they can have it so loud that I can hear it inside my home with the tv and music on from my computer and there is nothing they can do about it until 8pm which is when their permit expires.  So for the next 4 hours myself, my two daughter, my mother who had HBP and my elderly grandmother all have to be subjected to this crap.  

Review: Divergent


Title: Divergent
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Ages: 14 and up
Pages: 496
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books










Veronica Roth

Biography

Veronica Roth is a 22-year-old debut author, and a recent graduate of Northwestern University's Creative Writing program. While a student, she often chose to work on the story that would become Divergent instead of doing her homework. It was a transforming choice. Now a full-time writer, Ms. Roth lives near Chicago.






My Review:

Simply put, I did not like this book. I tried to like it. I forced myself to make it to chapter 12 and after that.... I was done. I just posted my review and noticed how many people like this book so I hope that this doesn't deter people from reading it. But it just wasn't for me.

The beginning starts off way WAY. I still don't have a clear picture of what was really going on with everything. I even ended up rereading a few chapters just to see if I could understand it better.

The way the book was written was very annoying. And it took me forever to reach chapter 12. When I can read a 600 page book in a day and it took me about 4 hours just to get to page 130. And the words that were used some of them were very hard to pronounce and I hate to think I'm saying it wrong.











02 September 2011

200 Follower Contest Where U Get To Pick The Book


Ok so since Google decided that closing the GFC was a good idea. We are all having to redo our followers. So I'm do an ongoing contest until I reach 200 followers on one of my social sites.  For Google + you will get two points. And I will follow anyone who follows me.  You can follow me on Facebook, twitter, rss, and stumble upon with the icons on the upper right hand corner. 


and taking one or both of my buttons for your site is now worth 10 points each.  So points will be added monthly.  And you still get to pic the book you want to win and the format.  

Follow Me at the places below:




Google + +2
Follow Twitter +1 Like Facebook +1
Stumble Upon +1


For an extra chance to win post my Button on your site. +10
Then just comment here and let me know what you did and how many points you have.  
Don't forget to include the following:


Number that blogger says for followers.  
Make sure you check it AFTER you follow. 
Following me as? (I will need each places name you are following me at) 
Your email
The link to the site if you posted my button
And last What Book You Want. 

Its an ongoing contest so Get All Of Your Friends To Join!!
Points are added at the end of each month. 





Back To Top