Showing posts with label AshleyW.. Show all posts
Showing posts with label AshleyW.. Show all posts

June 25, 2022

#BookReview @LauraThalassa: Pestilence (The Four Horsemen #1) by Laura Thalassa






Synopsis: They came to earth--Pestilence, War, Famine, Death--four horsemen riding their screaming steeds, racing to the corners of the world. Four horsemen with the power to destroy all of humanity. They came to earth, and they came to end us all.

When Pestilence comes for Sara Burn’s town, one thing is certain: everyone she knows and loves is marked for death. Unless, of course, the angelic-looking horseman is stopped, which is exactly what Sara has in mind when she shoots the unholy beast off his steed.

Too bad no one told her Pestilence can’t be killed. 

Now the horseman, very much alive and very pissed off, has taken her prisoner, and he’s eager to make her suffer. Only, the longer she’s with him, the more uncertain she is about his true feelings towards her … and hers towards him. 

And now, well, Sara might still be able to save the world, but in order to do so, she'll have to sacrifice her heart in the process.


June 03, 2022

#BookReview @Katee_Robert: Electric Idol (Dark Olympus #2) by Katee Robert






Synopsis: He was the most beautiful man alive.
And if I wasn't careful, he was going to be my death.

*A scorchingly hot modern retelling of Psyche and Eros that's as sinful as it is sweet.*

In the ultra-modern city of Olympus, there's always a price to pay. Psyche knew she'd have to face Aphrodite's ire eventually, but she never expected her literal heart to be at stake...or for Aphrodite's gorgeous son to be the one ordered to strike the killing blow.

Eros has no problem shedding blood. But when it comes time to take out his latest target, he can't do it. Confused by his reaction to Psyche, he does the only thing he can think of to keep her safe: he marries her. Psyche vows to make Eros's life a living hell until they find a way out of this mess. But as lines blur and loyalties shift, she realizes he might take her heart after all...and she's not sure she can survive the loss.


May 26, 2022

#BookReview: Bastard-in-Chief by Fancy Roberts






Synopsis: The grumpy one meets the sunshine one, but which is which?

Hailed as a genius since before he could buy a beer, Theodore Sutton runs his tech company with a healthy dose of intimidation. Notorious for growling more than he speaks and never sharing an elevator, only his dog Max knows Theo’s bark is worse than his bite.

Sophie Alexander has too much on her plate—a useless ex-husband, a sassy teenage daughter, and more bills than paycheck. But she’s an expert at being the smiling face everyone expects to see when they walk in the door at Mailbox, Inc. 

When a chance encounter and a case of mixed-up pets reveals the secrets they’ve been keeping, will they be able to maintain the careful facades they’ve been living behind? Or will their explosive chemistry expose them to the world?

If you love a grumpy boss, workplace romance in the vein of Nicole Snow, Maya Hughes, or Lauren Landish, you’ll love Bastard-in-Chief! Featuring a loveable rescue dog and one-eyed cat both named Max, Bastard-In-Chief is a standalone steamy romance, with all the feels and happily ever after guaranteed!


May 25, 2022

#BookReview: Dragonswan (Were-Hunter #0.5) by Sherrilyn Kenyon






Synopsis: Channon (Shannon with C) MacRea has spent years studying the legendary Dragon Tapestry, deciphering Old English symbolism. One evening delectable Sebastian Kattalakis appears -- a dragon slayer trapped between two worlds -- claims to hold the key to solving the tapestry’s mysteries. Channon follows him into a fantastic alternate world of magic, danger, and adventure.
Also in:
In Other Worlds anthology
Collector's-edition.


May 24, 2022

#BookReview: Wicked Wonderland (The Looking-Glass Curse #1) by Eva Chase






Synopsis: Dive through the looking-glass into a Wonderland that’s lush, exhilarating… and deadly. 

Five steps to getting over a nasty break-up: 
1. Inherit a mini-castle from your reclusive grand-aunt. 
2. Fall through a mirror into a decadent upside-down world. 
3. Get to know the smoking-hot locals. Prickly Hatter. Playful Chess. And the passionate White Knight… Wait, what was I talking about? Oh, right. 
4. Discover you possess powers that could win a rebellion against a tyrannical queen. 
5. Keep a tight hold on your head—and your heart. 

When I tumbled into Wonderland, I only wanted to escape the epic mess my life had become. I'm not sure I can trust anything in this bizarre, intoxicating place. But the three incredibly enticing men I’ve met here might need me even more than anyone back home ever has. 

Maybe a little heroism is all it’ll take to heal my wounds and theirs. As long as the Queen of Hearts doesn’t come for our heads first… 

*Wicked Wonderland is the first book in a medium-burn reverse harem series that reimagines Alice in Wonderland. If you love spirited heroines, hot men with secrets to spare, and worlds full of unexpected delights and horrors, step through the looking-glass today!*


May 23, 2022

#BookReview: Demon Rising (Embers Duology #1) by Victoria Larque






Synopsis: Desperate times make for enticing and dangerous bedfellows.

Fane is done living in Hell, and there is little time until her newest Maester has unrestricted ownership over her. When an Angel is captured and held in the Deep, she knows he might be her only chance at freedom – for only an Angel can break the demonic bond tethering her to Hell.

Mihr was ambushed by a bunch of Demons, who dragged him straight to the underworld. Now one of the Hellspawn – a sexy Demoness – offers him a way out. A forbidden way. He spent his life fighting her kind and avoiding temptation, but with freedom and life beckoning, he finally agrees to her conditions.

Together the unlikely pair flees, but the escape leaves Mihr close to death and in Fane’s care.

Soon both Heaven and Hell will come for them and they have to make a choice – Die, or stay together.


May 20, 2022

#BookReview: Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas






Synopsis: "We were perfect together. Until we met." 

Misha

I can’t help but smile at the words in her letter. She misses me.

In fifth grade, my teacher set us up with pen pals from a different school. Thinking I was a girl, with a name like Misha, the other teacher paired me up with her student, Ryen. My teacher, believing Ryen was a boy like me, agreed.

It didn’t take long for us to figure out the mistake. And in no time at all, we were arguing about everything. The best take-out pizza. Android vs. iPhone. Whether or not Eminem is the greatest rapper ever…

And that was the start. For the next seven years, it was us.

Her letters are always on black paper with silver writing. Sometimes there’s one a week or three in a day, but I need them. She’s the only one who keeps me on track, talks me down, and accepts everything I am. 

We only had three rules. No social media, no phone numbers, no pictures. We had a good thing going. Why ruin it? 

Until I run across a photo of a girl online. Name’s Ryen, loves Gallo’s pizza, and worships her iPhone. What are the chances?

F*ck it. I need to meet her.

I just don’t expect to hate what I find.

Ryen

He hasn’t written in three months. Something’s wrong. Did he die? Get arrested? Knowing Misha, neither would be a stretch.

Without him around, I’m going crazy. I need to know someone is listening. It’s my own fault. I should've gotten his number or picture or something. 

He could be gone forever.

Or right under my nose, and I wouldn’t even know it.


May 03, 2022

#BookReview: Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter #3) by Sherrilyn Kenyon






Synopsis: Zarek’s Point of View:

Dark-Hunter: A soulless guardian who stands between mankind and those who would see mankind destroyed. Yeah, right. The only part of that Code of Honor I got was eternity and solitude.

Insanity: A condition many say I suffer from after being alone for so long. But I don’t suffer from my insanity-I enjoy every minute of it.

Trust: I can’t trust anyone…not even myself. The only thing I trust in is my ability to do the wrong thing in any situation and to put a hurt on anyone who gets in my way.

Truth: I endured a lifetime as a Roman slave, and 900 years as an exiled Dark-Hunter. Now I’m tired of enduring. I want the truth about what happened the night I was exiled-I have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Astrid (Greek, meaning star): An exceptional woman who can see straight to the truth. Brave and strong, she is a point of light in the darkness. She touches me and I tremble. She smiles and my cold heart shatters.

Zarek: They say even the most damned man can be forgiven. I never believed that until the night Astrid opened her door to me and made this feral beast want to be human again. Made me want to love and be loved. But how can an ex-slave whose soul is owned by a Greek goddess ever dream of touching, let alone holding, a fiery star?


February 24, 2022

#BookReview: Star Mother (Star Mother #1) by @CNHolmberg






Synopsis: A woman’s heart proves as infinite as the night sky in a breathtaking fantasy by Wall Street Journal bestselling author Charlie N. Holmberg.

When a star dies, a new one must be born.

The Sun God chooses the village of Endwever to provide a mortal womb. The birthing of a star is always fatal for the mother, and Ceris Wenden, who considers herself an outsider, sacrifices herself to secure her family’s honor and take control of her legacy. But after her star child is born, Ceris does what no other star mother has: she survives. When Ceris returns to Endwever, however, it’s not nine months later—it’s seven hundred years later. Inexplicably displaced in time, Ceris is determined to seek out her descendants.

Being a woman traveling alone brings its own challenges, until Ceris encounters a mysterious—and desperate—godling. Ristriel is incorporeal, a fugitive, a trickster, and the only being who can guide Ceris safely to her destination. Now, as Ceris traverses realms both mortal and beyond, her journey truly begins.

Together, pursued across the Earth and trespassing the heavens, Ceris and Ristriel are on a path to illuminate the mysteries that bind them and discover the secrets of the celestial world.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...