August 07, 2018

July Picks with #TheBookAddicts @JenniferBrody #WinterHavenYABC @WinterHavenLib @jk_rowling #TampaYABC @SG_Marsh


June/July pics were so amazing and were so excited to share July's Featured Author as well as the picks for our meetings in Aug.  We hope that everyone had a great time with last month's titles!  Below you will find the information that you need to know! We hope to see you at one of the meetings as well as on the group! 

July 16, 2018

#BookReview of Kiss Kill Vanish by @jlmarti1


Kiss Kill Vanish
Reviewed By: Rachael
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Recommended Age: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary, Thriller
About the Book: Valentina Cruz no longer exists.

One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she was witnessing the unthinkable: a murder in cold blood, ordered by her father and carried out by her boyfriend. When Emilio pulled the trigger, Valentina disappeared. She made a split-second decision to shed her identity and flee her life of privilege, leaving the glittering parties and sultry nightlife of Miami far behind.

She doesn’t know how to explain to herself what she saw. All she knows now is that nothing she believed about her family, her heart, or Emilio’s love, was real.

She can change her name and deny her past, but Valentina can’t run from the truth. The lines between right and wrong, and trust and betrayal, will be blurred beyond recognition as she untangles the deceptions of the two men she once loved and races to find her own truth.





#BookReview of Beware the Wild by @nataliecparker

Beware the Wild (Beware the Wild, #1)
Reviewed By: Rachael
Publisher: HarperTeen
Recommended Age: Young Adult
Genre: Mystery, Romance
About the Book: It's an oppressively hot and sticky morning in June when Sterling and her brother, Phin, have an argument that compels him to run into the town swamp—the one that strikes fear in all the residents of Sticks, Louisiana. Phin doesn't return. Instead, a girl named Lenora May climbs out, and now Sterling is the only person in Sticks who remembers her brother ever existed.

Sterling needs to figure out what the swamp's done with her beloved brother and how Lenora May is connected to his disappearance—and loner boy Heath Durham might be the only one who can help her. 

This debut novel is full of atmosphere, twists and turns, and a swoon-worthy romance.





#BookReview: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by @rinchupeco

Reviewed By: Jessica P. 
Publisher: SourceBooks Fire
Recommended Age: Young Adult 
Genre: Fantasy 
About the Book:

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.


I am out of the Hospital with @CursedReader



Hey guys if you have been following my social media you know that since Friday I (Jessica) have been in the hospital.  Firday night my heart rate according to my watch dropped to 30. And over the course of an hour of keeping track of my heart rate it was all over the place from the mid 50's to a little over the 100's.  So friends and family had me go to the ER where I was told that I had tachycardia and told that I was lucky to be alive.  

The ER doctor had me admitted and I stayed there until I came home last night.  

On Saturday morning the heart doctor came in and informed me after seeing my test results that the ER doctor jumped the gun and my heart is fine. They still did an echo of my heart as well as kept track of my heart rate for a little over 24 hours. So fingers crossed they didn't miss anything. 

Since then I am now back home and on the med from being in a very ugh hospital bed. God those things are not comfy at all. You don't realize how many muscles you use to get out of bed until you always need help to get up. Trust me it sucked so bad! 

Since this visit and very scary scare we will be making some life changes.  I really don't think that it will affect this site but if anything changes here i'll let you know. 

I hope everyone has a great week! 





 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 





Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 


#BookBlitz: Heart of the Colossus (A Holly Drake Job Book, #3) by @grotepas #Giveaway @XpressoTours


Heart of the Colossus
Nicole Grotepas
(A Holly Drake Job Book, #3)
Publication date: July 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Science Fiction, Steampunk
Save them all or die trying.

Holly Drake and her team have seen the evil lurking behind everything the Shadow Coalition does. The last time they plunged into the heart of the shadow empire, they could only rescue one. Now they’re going back for the rest. The crew is ready and willing to put everything on the line. They have a plan, they have the means, this is the job they were born to do.
But time and space are stacked against them.

The mission is a logistical nightmare. How can Holly and her crew save an entire fleet of children? The answer: whatever it takes. Co-opting fuel tankers, recruiting explosives experts, hiring pilots, and revisiting mysterious specters from the past. Some things are too painful, even for Holly Drake, but when it comes to freeing the innocent, not even the ugliest mistakes from her past will hold her back.
Is this the mission that will unveil the true nature of the Heart at the center of the Shadow Coalition? She’s seen the hands, just who is the heart? 

#ReleaseDay: Redemption by @authorsnelson1 @TheNextStepPR

Redemption -eBook cover


How do you protect someone from the darkness when that’s all you know? I tried to convince her to run from me. I tried everything I knew to make her despise me, but she never faltered, pushing back at every turn. Mason Maxwell resigned himself to a life of loneliness, forced into a world he didn’t want in order to save his sister, the only living family he had left.  And while his life was desolate, it was simple. Until he met her. Taking care of her sick mother, Lila Stone found herself unemployed.  Again. But a chance encounter with a stranger presented the perfect opportunity.  Her single reservation… her new boss. He’s gorgeous. He’s arrogant and rude. And he’s hiding a dark secret. Will Lila live by his rules and finally unravel the mystery that is Mason Maxwell?













#BookBlitz: The Boyfriend Whisperer by @LindaBudz #Giveaway @XpressoTours


The Boyfriend Whisperer
Linda Budzinski
Published by: Swoon Romance
Publication date: November 15th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
As President and CEO of Boyfriend Whisperer Enterprises, Lexi Malloy is Grand View High School’s undercover Cupid. One problem: She’s stuck in the friend zone when it comes to her own crush, Chris Broder. She and Chris have been best friends since the third grade, and he doesn’t even seem to realize she’s is a member of the opposite sex.
When pretty and popular cheerleader Lindsay LaRouche hires Lexi to whisper Chris, she has to decide whether to place her commitment to her company—and Chris’s happiness—before herself.











July 15, 2018

#BookReview with #Giveaway: Fresh Ink: An Anthology by @LRGiles @NicolaYoon @Malindalo @MelissadelaCruz @SaraFarizan @djolder @geneluenyang ‏ @sharonflake @sb_pinkmantaray @aminahmae @JasonReynolds83 Thien Pham Eric Gansworth Walter Dean Myers #FreshInk #NetGalley


Reviewed By: Jessica P. 
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Recommended Age: Young Adult 
Genre: Anthology

About the Book:

In partnership with We Need Diverse Books, thirteen of the most recognizable, diverse authors come together in this remarkable YA anthology featuring ten short stories, a graphic short story, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers never before in-print.

Careful--you are holding fresh ink. And not hot-off-the-press, still-drying-in-your-hands ink. Instead, you are holding twelve stories with endings that are still being written--whose next chapters are up to you.

Because these stories are meant to be read. And shared.

Thirteen of the most accomplished YA authors deliver a label-defying anthology that includes ten short stories, a graphic novel, and a one-act play. This collection will inspire you to break conventions, bend the rules, and color outside the lines. All you need is fresh ink.





This title releases August 14, 2018

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...