23 August 2014

#Review #Giveaway of The Darkest Hour by @tonyshoey #Published @WmMorrowBks

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible—redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich.

Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he did not ask for—and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett’s wife and son, and shattered his own humanity.

Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead.

Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly. 

ARC

#ReadOn Aug. 23 4pm EST @RomilyBernard @MindyMcGinnis @Kristi_Cook with #Giveaway

#ReadOn Aug. 23 4pm EST @RomilyBernard @MindyMcGinnis @Kristi_Cook with #Giveaway via @CrossroadReviewhttps://plus.google.com/u/0/events/c27ff816vujh05ke2334ef0plh0

Dont Forget to RSVP

22 August 2014

#FF #4: Guest Reader @ArielSmith24

Lets welcome Guest Reader Ariel to the site! 

#Review of Little Zombie Activity Book: A Brainless Collection by Lauren Farnworth

Vampires are over. Werewolves are pass . Witches are so yesterday. It's the zombie's time to shine! Freakishly strong, disgustingly decayed, and always up for a slow chase through deserted streets, the army of the undead have stolen our hearts (or brains if they can get their hands on them), and we can't get enough! "Little Zombie Activity Book" will keep young zombie fans entertained for hours. They can:

Solve puzzles to help zombies relocate missing body partsMake yummy yet foul-looking treats, like zombie jelly and edible eyeballsLearn "Gross-but-True" trivia and interesting facts about the brain Complete color-by-number, fill-in-the-blanks, and connect-the-dot drawingsThere are also coloring and doodle pages, quizzes and games, projects to do with friends, and the ever popular Zombie-doku (like Sudoku, but with brains, eyeballs, and bones instead of numbers). Zombie lovers of all ages will agree, "Little Zombie Activity Book" is wonderfully warped!

Finished Print

21 August 2014

#HPT #Thursdays #4: Follow Me Around

 
So this Meme is going to change again. I was looking for someone who could post to this and then I post when I had something to say about Tips for Universal but it seems that a lot of people are interested but no one really wants to do it.  So this week Im just going to talk about what we did at universal instead. 

#Review of Galaxy's Most Wanted by John Kloepfer, Nick Edwards

Aliens Attack! When science-camp buddies Kevin, Warner, Tara, and TJ summon alien life to earth, they quickly find out that not all extraterrestrials come in peace. Can they stop an alien takeover and save the world in time to win the Invention Convention?

John Kloepfer, author of the popular Zombie Chasers books, has done it again. Galaxy's Most Wanted has a fast-paced, silly plot full of sidesplitting descriptions, a cast of diverse and endearing characters, and a slew of creepy-crawly aliens oozing off the page. With out-of-this-world black-and-white illustrations by Nick Edwards throughout, the first book in this new series is going to blast off!

Meet the Characters

Kevin: Science genius. Physics, biology, chemistry, you name it, Kevin can do it. He's the brains of the operation, leader of the crew.

Warner Reed: Kevin's best friend and resident cool dude. He's the guy to see if you've got a 2:00 a.m. junk-food craving—but you'll pay top dollar for his top secret stash.

Tara Swift: Not only is Tara supersmart and great at building things out of next to nothing, she's also in an all-girl punk band and the best drummer in the universe. (It's true—just ask her.)

TJ Boyd: Computer problems? He's your man. TJ's a regular computer-programming prodigy. He's not much of a talker, though. Word around the campfire is that he damaged his voice box in a botched robotics experiment

Print ARC

#ReadOn Aug. 23 4pm EST @RomilyBernard @MindyMcGinnis @Kristi_Cook with #Giveaway

#ReadOn Aug. 23 4pm EST @RomilyBernard @MindyMcGinnis @Kristi_Cook with #Giveaway via @CrossroadReviewhttps://plus.google.com/u/0/events/c27ff816vujh05ke2334ef0plh0

Dont Forget to RSVP

Back To Top