September 22, 2019

#BookReview: Beyond The Moon Catherine Taylor


Synopsis: Outlander meets Birdsong is this haunting debut timeslip novel, where a strange twist of fate connects a British soldier fighting in the First World War and a young woman living in modern-day England a century later.

*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize 2018/19

"A poignant and stirring love story... Taylor’s accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a WW1 historical novel and a beguiling, time travel romance... The sharply written narrative deftly moves back and forth between the past and present." Kirkus Reviews 

"A time travel romance, yet so much more than that. It is also an unflinching portrait of the horrors of war, and a look at the torturous extremes a human soul can endure. It is a sonnet to the transformative power of love, even as it is also a criticism of the futility and pointless destructiveness of war." — Shaylin Gandhi, author of By The Light of Embers

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall military hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist, he’s been wounded fighting in the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless. 

A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother – her only family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the South Downs cliffs – only to fall accidentally part-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall – now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.

Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital’s ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa hears a voice calling for help, and stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Inside, lying on the floor, is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett…

Two people, two battles: one against the invading Germans on the battlefields of 1916 France, the other against a substandard, uncaring mental health facility in modern-day England. Two journeys begun a century apart, but somehow destined to coincide - and become one desperate struggle to be together.

Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip love story - and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art - Beyond The Moon sweeps the reader on an unforgettable journey through time. An intelligent read, perfect for book clubs. 

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

*NB This novel contains graphic descriptions of war violence and injuries, as well as profanity and mild sex.

#BookReview: Keeping His Siren (Creatures of Darkness, #4) by Kiersten Fay


Synopsis: Naia DeVoe never mixes business with pleasure, but when she winds up in bed with the vampire she’s been hired to spy on, that rule gets tossed out his luxury suite window. 


But Cortez is not a man to be trifled with; he’s rich, powerful and the hottest club owner in town.

 From their first combustible night together, it’s obvious Naia is in way over her head... 

As the leader of his clan, Cortez must be careful who to trust. No one gets too close to him...no one, that is, until Naia. 


He can’t help but be drawn to the beautiful seductress who all but demands his attention.


 Is she the one he’s been searching for, or just another woman destined to betray him? 

#BookReview: Happy Messy Scary Love Leah Konen


Synopsis: As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. 

Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. 

Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! 

In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie.

 But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. 

This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.


#BookReview: One Foot in the Grave (The Mortician’s Daughter #1) by @CCHunterBooks #Giveaway


Synopsis: Her dad’s job is with the dead . . . and he’s bringing his work home with him. 

Once again, seventeen-year-old Riley Smith is the new kid in school and her dad’s career has her back to being dubbed a freak. Truth is, she’s a much bigger freak than her classmates think. The only company she keeps these days is the dead who follow Dad home from work. She can see them. She can speak to them. And Fate seems to think she can help them solve their last problems so that they can move on to the other side. Which is odd, because with the loss of her mother and her father’s alcoholism, she’s got enough problems of her own. 

But nothing could prepare her for the next tormented young spirit who darkens Riley’s door. The young woman’s death wasn’t the accident everyone believes. Soon Riley finds herself face-to-face with the killer and her only protection comes in the form of another spirit, Hayden, a boy her age with a heart-melting smile and understanding eyes that make her feel safe. If she can escape becoming the killer’s next victim, Riley knows she’ll have to help Hayden move on too, but what if she can’t let him go? 


#YearOfEpicReads with A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause via @EpicReads


This weeks prompt is to Read a book with a dress on the cover and I chose A Dress for the Wicked!  This book has been on our TBR for a few months so I thought hey it has a dress so why not!  This title is slated as "Betrayal has never been so fashionable than in Autumn Krause’s glamorous debut, perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe." Although I've never read the Luxe series I loved the Belles!! So Im excited to see what this book has in store! Let us know in the comments to see which title you are reading this week! 

#BookBlitz: A Little Sin by @everwintergreen @XpressoTours #Giveaway $35 Amazon gift card


A Little Sin
Sionnach Wintergreen
Publication date: February 23rd 2018
Genres: Adult, Historical, LGBTQ+, Romance
Sheriff Avery O’Rourke has tried to obey his strict Christian faith and lead a “normal” life. In 1923 in a rural East Texas town, “normal” means heterosexual. A cholera outbreak has made Avery a young widower, so he is married to his job. When a murder investigation forces him to confront his truth, will he finally be able to accept being gay?
Veterinarian Garland Sands has returned from Europe to take over his father’s practice. Struggling with shellshock (PTSD) and heartbroken by the suicide of his French lover, he resigns himself to a quiet, solitary life as a country vet. But the murder of the town doctor brings the sheriff to Garland’s doorstep looking for help with the investigation. Seeing Avery awakens dormant feelings. Can he love a man who hates what he is?
This isn’t the lavish 1920s of The Great Gatsby. This is the flip side of that coin—rural East Texas. No electricity. No indoor plumbing. No flappers. In 1923, the timber barons have left and racism, homophobia, and sexism thrive.
A Little Sin is a realistic mystery with unlikely heroes and a timeless romance between lovers caught in a world where their love is forbidden. This book contains steamy sex scenes and is intended for adults only.

September 21, 2019

#BookSale: ACHE by @AuthorSMSoto get it for .99! @InkslingerPR



ACHE by S.M. Soto

On Sale Now   |   Standalone Novel

 

Book Blurb:

A second chance romance. What happens when you fall for the boy next door? Bea Norwood had the market on normal. Drama free life? Check. A single-mother who doubled as her confidant and partner in crime? Check. A neighbor and best friend she trusted more than anyone? Check. But that was until the day her mother remarried. The day that changed everything. When her best friend's cousin, Liam Falcon, is sent to live with his aunt and uncle to clean up his act, Bea finds herself falling for the boy next door. With their hearts so infinitely entwined, Bea turns to Liam as her only escape from her new step-brother's daily torment at home. Bea thought their love could conquer anything. But she was wrong. Love was for fools, and she was the biggest fool of them all. When Liam left Lakeport, he took her heart with him, shattering the organ to pieces. Six years later, Liam takes a trip back to Lakeport to visit his family, and to see HER. His first love. The girl who holds his heart. The same girl who shattered it six years ago without looking back. Liam is hell-bent on seeing Bea again after six years, but what he finds tears his heart in half. Bea Norwood is a shell of the girl he fell in love with. Underneath the baggy clothes, and pale skin, he knows she's still in there somewhere, he just needs to find her. Liam will stop at nothing to win his girl back, but sometimes, ignorance is bliss, and Liam isn't prepared for Bea's truth.

#COVERREVEAL - CBML (The Hockey Gods Series #1) by @XavierNeal87

Can't Block My Love, an all-new sports romance by Xavier Neal is coming October 24th!


From bestselling romance author Xavier Neal comes an all-new, rom-com sports romance featuring a gorgeous goalie who can block any shot — except Cupid's...
Once upon a time, the Vlasta Vipers hockey team was so incredible — on and off the ice — they were almost mythical.
Every other university wanted their team to be them.

Every chick who crossed their paths wanted to bang them.
Now?

Their clout on the ice is questionable.
Their competition cutthroat.
Their beds...

Well, there will always be puck bunnies ready to keep them warm. After all, no matter how well they do or don't do, they are the university's most important athletes.
However, when Remington Ronald Rutledge the 3rd, lands himself on the new head coach's bad side, which threatens his chances of playing for the season, he finds himself striking an unusual deal with a blast from his past he can barely remember.
Did she always wear these glasses?

Was her hair always this curly?
Has she always had a smile that makes him wanna smile?

What happens when the bad boy who makes all the rules is forced to play by someone else's?
Can this good-looking goalie let love score, or will blocking it be the biggest mistake of his life?

#CoverReveal for A Baby for the Bratva by @ChloeKentBooks @BlushingBooks @GiveMeBooksPR



Title: A Baby for the Bratva
Author: Chloe Kent
Publisher: Blushing Books
Genre: Reverse Harem
Cover Design: Blushing Books
Release Date: October 2, 2019


Blurb

They wanted a girl quickly so they chose an orphanage where no one would ask questions.

They planned to use her until she was pregnant…

Instead they got twenty-one-year-old American Starla Anderson.

When the Russian Mafia invades the orphanage where she lives, in the middle of the night, throwing the nuns who raised her, into a petrified frenzy, it’s Starla who is chosen as the only one who could possibly survive the Bratva and their demands.

But in spite of her own fear of the three massive, glowering and scary men, Starla has to think and act fast…

With her heart thundering in her chest, her body on fire at their presence alone, she sees an opportunity, something that might help the other girls at the impoverished orphanage at a chance of a better life. She lays out her only condition.

Her body for a fee…

Except…

No one says no to the Bratva.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...