December 09, 2018

#BookReview: From Twinkle, with Love by Sandhya Menon

Title: From Twinkle, with Love
Author: Sandhya Menon
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: Hardcover330 pages
Pub Date: May 22nd 2018
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Book Source: Publisher (ARC) & Purchased (Owlcrate)
My Rating: DNF
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants to tell and universes she wants to explore, if only the world would listen. So when fellow film geek Sahil Roy approaches her to direct a movie for the upcoming Summer Festival, Twinkle is all over it. The chance to publicly showcase her voice as a director? Dream come true. The fact that it gets her closer to her longtime crush, Neil Roy—a.k.a. Sahil’s twin brother? Dream come true x 2.

When mystery man “N” begins emailing her, Twinkle is sure it’s Neil, finally ready to begin their happily-ever-after. The only slightly inconvenient problem is that, in the course of movie-making, she’s fallen madly in love with the irresistibly adorkable Sahil.

Twinkle soon realizes that resistance is futile: The romance she’s got is not the one she’s scripted. But will it be enough?

Told through the letters Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, with Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you.

#BookReview: Runebinder (The Runebinder Chronicles #1) by Alex R. Kahler

Title: Runebinder
Series: The Runebinder Chronicles #1
Author: Alex R. Kahler
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopian, LGBT
Pages: Hardcover394 pages
Pub Date: November 14th 2017
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Book Source: Purchased
My Rating: DNF
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  Magic is risen.

When magic returned to the world, it could have saved humanity, but greed and thirst for power caused mankind's downfall instead. Now once-human monsters called Howls prowl abandoned streets, their hunger guided by corrupt necromancers and the all-powerful Kin. Only Hunters have the power to fight back in the unending war, using the same magic that ended civilization in the first place.

But they are losing.

Tenn is a Hunter, resigned to fight even though hope is nearly lost. When he is singled out by a seductive Kin named Tomás and the enigmatic Hunter Jarrett, Tenn realizes he's become a pawn in a bigger game. One that could turn the tides of war. But if his mutinous magic and wayward heart get in the way, his power might not be used in favor of mankind.

If Tenn fails to play his part, it could cost him his friends, his life…and the entire world.

#BookBlitz: Resurrection: Sign of Six by @SummerEllenLane @XpressoTours #Giveaway


Resurrection: Sign of Six
Summer Lane
(Resurrection Series #3)
Publication date: December 7th 2018
Genres: Dystopian, New Adult
The third installment in the hit survival series, following the adventures of Cassidy Hart!
There are many words used to describe Cassidy Hart:
President. General. Sniper. Soldier.
Girl.
Now, just one word echoes through her head: Infected.
Cassidy Hart has been infected with a nanovirus that turns her own body against itself. As civil war with the technologically advanced Eastern Coalition and President Ayad begins to escalate, the need for more advanced weaponry and reinforcements arise.
When the United Kingdom makes Cassidy and the Western Republic an offer they can’t refuse, they board a plane to London to forge an alliance with the first known surviving European country they have truly communicated with since Omega’s defeat. Unknowingly, leaving their home turf may be more dangerous than they think…
Uriah True and Chris Young – two men whom Cassidy cares deeply for – will be pitted against each other in the most unimaginable way.
While Omega may be gone, loyalty to the cause remains. Yet a new, more dangerous enemy arises. An enemy who promises to reshape the known world. Omega was nothing. He will be everything.
Look for his sign. The sign of the sixth.
Heed his promise:
The end of the world was only the beginning. The worst is yet to come.
Even Cassidy Hart may not survive this time…or will she?
From Summer Lane, the #1 bestselling author of more than 20 hit books.

#BookBlitz: A Prophecy Fulfilled by @OConnorAndi @XpressoTours #Giveaway


A Prophecy Fulfilled
Andi O’Connor
(The Vaelinel Trilogy #3)
Publication date: December 9th 2018
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Regrouping after their escape from the Light Elves, Irewen and her companions fear the worst after black smoke plumes on the horizon. Allowing compassion to rule over reason, they ignore Finnwyn’s warning and return to Lilendvelle, hoping to help some of the survivors stranded in the city’s wake. Instead, they run into a trap.
Completely surrounded by an endless army of Drulaack, they fight for their lives, but their efforts aren’t enough. Irewen is captured and dragged into the heart of the Corrupter’s lair.
Having his prize, the others in the company are granted their freedom, but at a great cost: the one named in the prophecy who is meant to unite the elf forces and stand against the Corrupter is lost to the world – trapped beneath the Corrupter’s talons.
With the aid of his mother’s spirit, Brendell must now find a way to gather an alliance strong enough to march against the Corrupter and his army, but his time is running out. Each day that passes brings Irewen closer to death.
And the world closer to destruction.

December 08, 2018

#BookReview: Heritage (Imagine, #3) by @jgreenewrites @champagnebooks ‏

Title: Heritage
Series: Imagine, #3
Author: Jenna Greene
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: Kindle Edition249 pages
Pub Date: November 5th 2018
Publisher: Champagne Book Group
Book Source: Creative Edge

My Rating: 4 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  As Becky tries to adjust to life back on Earth, in Oren, Prince Eston suffers under the deadly effects of broxide poisoning. 


While Cristox Savu joins with an unlikely friend as he attempts to save his people from extinction, Leda and Jamee, two of the three Naturals, those born with magic, struggle to defend the sanctuary of the Painter's Valley. 

And, even as they finally face the feelings they have for each other, Kat and Ino must evade the Coalition's clutches as they journey to discover what is affecting magic across Oren--before it is too late and magic, and an even deadlier enemy, destroys Oren and everyone Kat cares about.

#BookBlitz: Shopping for a Baby’s First Christmas by @jkentauthor @XpressoTours #Giveaway


Shopping for a Baby’s First Christmas
Julia Kent
(Shopping, #15)
Publication date: December 6th 2018
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance
My mother wants all her kids and grandkids to spend Christmas Eve at her house and wake up on Christmas morning together.
Sounds reasonable, right?
And it would be.
If it weren’t my mother.
My husband, Declan, is protesting any involvement, though he’s openly intrigued by the idea of claiming his territory by suggesting we have sex in my childhood bed.
And by ‘suggest,’ I mean make a series of really hot offers that make me whimper when I have to say no.
Wait – why am I saying no again?
Mom has turned her house into a Christmas showcase that makes Frankenmuth look like the picked-over clearance rack at Target on December 26. You know those crazy people on Etsy who make felted gnomes out of belly button lint and use … a certain kind of hair… to make thatched roofs on little decorative elf homes?
Those people are saner than my mother.
There is no force of nature stronger — and more emotionally volatile — than a fifty-something grandmother determined to create holiday memories.
Wait a minute. Maybe there is. My husband.

#BookTour: The Royal Order of Fighting Dragons by Dan Elish @JeanBookNerd #Giveaway

Title: The Royal Order of Fighting Dragons
Author: Dan Elish
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy
Pages: Paperback300 pages
Pub Date: August 7th 2018
Publisher: Vesuvian Books

Book Source: Jean Book Nerd
My Rating: 4 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  

Born to... Fight?

Ike Rupert Hollingsberry is haunted by the past because complete strangers won’t let him forget that his famous father died on the set of The Fighting Dragons, a cult favorite that still has people talking. But when he’s attacked by a large locust, like the one that killed his dad, Ike is helped by the geekiest nerd of all, Elmira Hand. Killing the giant locust is only the beginning of the surprises in store for Ike as he is whisked away from New York City to an isolated Florida compound to assume his role as the next in line to lead the Royal Order of Fighting Dragons—that are NOT supposed to exist—and learns his dad’s death was a cover-up for a far greater purpose…
 


#BookBlitz: Your Sound by @katiaroseauthor @XpressoTours #Giveaway


Your Sound
Katia Rose
(Sherbrooke Station, #3)
Publication date: December 1st 2018
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance
Molly Myers is just your average groupie next door.
Literally.
The rock star whose posters cover her bedroom wall is banging her roommate right on the other side of it. Even for Molly, reigning queen of embarrassing moments, the situation is epically awkward. Every thump of the headboard is just one more reminder that the lead singers of famous bands don’t date bumbling shy girls too anxious to leave their own rooms.
JP Bouchard-Guindon wasn’t looking for Molly’s room when he accidentally burst through the door, but the wild-haired girl lying there in her underwear was certainly worth the detour.
As the keyboardist for Montreal’s latest indie rock sensation, JP has met his fair share of fangirls. He’s always ready to throw up some finger guns for a photo. What he’s not ready for is the way skittish, wide-eyed Molly Myers gets stuck inside his head.
A practical joker and a social recluse are the last people anyone expects a connection between. She’s silence aching for a voice, and he’s sound with a craving for quiet. Their differences will either pull them together, or fracture their worlds when they push them apart.

December 07, 2018

#BookReview: A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo

Title: A Line in the Dark
Author: Malinda Lo
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT
Pages: Hardcover288 pages
Pub Date: 
October 17th 2017
Publisher: 
 Dutton Books for Young Readers
Book Source: Purchased
My Rating: 3 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis: The line between best friend and something more is a line always crossed in the dark.

Jess Wong is Angie Redmond’s best friend. And that’s the most important thing, even if Angie can’t see how Jess truly feels. Being the girl no one quite notices is OK with Jess anyway. While nobody notices her, she’s free to watch everyone else. But when Angie begins to fall for Margot Adams, a girl from the nearby boarding school, Jess can see it coming a mile away. Suddenly her powers of observation are more curse than gift.

As Angie drags Jess further into Margot’s circle, Jess discovers more than her friend’s growing crush. Secrets and cruelty lie just beneath the carefree surface of this world of wealth and privilege, and when they come out, Jess knows Angie won’t be able to handle the consequences.

When the inevitable darkness finally descends, Angie will need her best friend.

“It doesn’t even matter that she probably doesn’t understand how much she means to me. It’s purer this way. She can take whatever she wants from me, whenever she wants it, because I’m her best friend.”

A Line in the Dark is a story of love, loyalty, and murder.

#BookReview: Reality (Imagine, #2) by @jgreenewrites @champagnebooks ‏

Title: Reality
Series: Imagine, #2
Author: Jenna Greene
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages: ebook331 pages
Pub Date: September 5th 2016
Publisher: Champagne Books
Book Source: Creative Edge
My Rating: 4 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis: The three young Elementals discover they no longer have full control over their magic, a fact that is both unsettling and could put lives in peril. 

As a new group, known as the Coalition, rises in power, anti- magic sentiment spreads rom the small village of Sorc all the way to the kingdom of Areth. 

Amidst all this turmoil, Kat decides to undertake a new quest, one that will affect Becky's future. 

Venturing into territory more hazardous than any they've seen before, both girls strive toward a goal they know has little hope of success.

#BookBlitz: Reckless by @SybilBartel @XpressoTours #Giveaway


Reckless
Sybil Bartel
(Alpha Bodyguard #3)
Publication date: December 3rd 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Bodyguard.
Escort.
Bad boy.
I didn’t come from the wrong side of the tracks. I was the wrong side. Every cliché you could think of, my family embraced. The only advantage I had was being the best-looking out of all my brothers. Except when I joined the Marines, looks didn’t count for shit downrange.
I wasn’t active duty anymore, and working for the best personal security firm in the business, my looks were getting me in more trouble than they were worth. I just didn’t realize how much trouble until a princess from a country I’d never heard of asked for me by name. Her request was simple—me, my gun, and an art opening. But she recklessly failed to mention one crucial part of the assignment… pretend to be her new fiancé.
Now she was about to find out how reckless a bodyguard could be.
*RECKLESS is a sexy new standalone book in the Alpha Bodyguard Series
The Alpha Bodyguard Series:
SCANDALOUS
MERCILESS
RECKLESS
RUTHLESS

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...