Showing posts with label 1 Star. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 1 Star. Show all posts

Thursday, February 15, 2024

#BookReview: Your Fault (Culpable #2) by Mercedes Ron






Synopsis: *A BookTok and Wattpad Viral Sensation*

Fast-paced and sizzling with a forbidden enemies-to-lovers romance, Your Fault is the second book in Mercedes Ron's Culpable trilogy. This suspenseful YA series untangles the threads of love, trauma, and secrets, perfect for fans of Ugly Love and After. 


When Noah fell in love with Nick, she knew their relationship would never be easy. They're fire and electricity, and when they're together, every kind of sparks fly. After last summer, Noah thought their passion had grown stronger than their fear, but her life is about to turn upside-down again now that she's starting university. Moving again while maintaining her relationship with Nick will be a difficult hurdle, with their age difference, campus life, dangerous parties, and inner demons stalking them both, reminding them of all they still don't know about each other.

No matter how hard they try, there will always be wounds that won't close. Is Noah really prepared to overcome her fears and truly trust someone again? Will Nick be able to put his past behind him and keep his heart open?

Or are they doomed only to burn each other's worlds down?


Tuesday, February 06, 2024

#BookReview: Corrupt Shadows by Rebecca L. Garcia & C.M. Hutton






Synopsis: The Witch…

Nine years ago, I killed my brother, and I’ve been running from my past ever since.

I find a home in Darkwood, finally safe from those who hunt me. But no matter what I do, the darkness keeps pulling me in.
I allow my shadow magic to edge closer to the surface to feel something, anything. But no matter how much I want to embrace the power, I can’t. My magic thirsts for violence but I won’t let it kill again. It remains dormant... until he shows up.
A masked man watches me from the mirrors, stalking my dreams.
He haunts me, unraveling my thoughts until I’m not sure what to believe. I move closer to the edge and I’m afraid of what I’ll become if I let him in.

I can’t lose control. If I do, then I’m already dead.

The Demon…

I’ve spent a century trapped in the Shadow Realm, a purgatory created for me and my demons.

I watch the humans through mirrors, waiting for the moment I can find a way to leave and return to my domain. But I never found a way. Until now.
She’s everything I’ve been waiting for. The last descendant of the only bloodline that can free me.
I stalk her from the shadows, watching her every move. Her dark magic calls to me, craving for me to unleash it.
The closer she draws to the shadows, the more she’s within my grasp. Obsession takes over, pulling me into her world.
If she won’t unleash her power, then I will make her.

Corrupting a soul has never felt so good.

Corrupt Shadows is a dark, gothic romance with dark themes that may be triggering. Please see the TWs inside, under the copyright page.


Sunday, January 07, 2024

#BookReview: Hell Followed with Us by Andrew Joseph White






Synopsis: Prepare to die. His kingdom is near.

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon they infected him with.

But when cornered by monsters born from the destruction, Benji is rescued by a group of teens from the local Acheson LGBTQ+ Center, affectionately known as the ALC. The ALC’s leader, Nick, is gorgeous, autistic, and a deadly shot, and he knows Benji’s darkest secret: the cult’s bioweapon is mutating him into a monster deadly enough to wipe humanity from the earth once and for all. 

Still, Nick offers Benji shelter among his ragtag group of queer teens, as long as Benji can control the monster and use its power to defend the ALC. Eager to belong, Benji accepts Nick’s terms…until he discovers the ALC’s mysterious leader has a hidden agenda, and more than a few secrets of his own. 

A furious, queer debut novel about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.


Tuesday, January 02, 2024

#BookReview: Sanctuary of the Shadow by Aurora Ascher






Synopsis: Enter at your own risk―and discover the greatest show unearthed in this explosive, darkly imaginative debut fantasy…

For humans, the circus is a place filled with wonder and amazement. For Harrow, though, it’s a place to hide from those who slaughtered her entire clan. Disguising her abilities as part of her act has kept her true identity safe for years.

Until he arrives.

A strange new attraction with no name, no memory of who―or even what―he is, let alone an explanation for his odd yet deadly powers. But beneath the layers of anger and isolation, one glimpse into his inky eyes reveals a soul that calls out to the loneliness in her own.

And so she chooses him.

Harrow is drawn to the darkness, to her insatiable need to soothe the beast who threatens their very existence. But with every secret she unlocks from his past, another from hers whispers free as well―luring enemies who will stop at nothing to get their final revenge on Harrow. And she’s afraid she’s given them the perfect weapon against her…because he’s not what he seems.

But maybe it’s time they finally learn―neither is she.


Saturday, December 23, 2023

#BookReview: Salt Kiss (Lyonesse, #1) by Sierra Simone






Synopsis: Tristan Thomas is lost. After leaving the Army, the young former soldier is in limbo. Until, that is, he’s hired by Mark Trevena, the owner of Lyonesse—DC’s ultra-secret club—to be Mark’s new bodyguard. He’s drawn into Mark’s dark, seductive world of power and desire, and slowly drawn to Mark himself, even though Mark is everything Tristan knows he shouldn’t want: cruel and wicked and shamelessly amoral.

But protecting Mark isn’t Tristan’s only duty: soon, Mark asks him to guard his soon-to-be bride as she travels home from Ireland on Mark’s yacht. Tristan is jealous—and hurt to learn that the object of his obsession is engaged—but the soldier in him is made to obey orders, and he goes to fetch Mark’s bride for him.

Isolde Laurence is nothing like Tristan expected, however. Young, quiet, and sharp, she’s being pushed into this marriage by her family, and as the two travel back to America, Tristan finds himself fascinated with Isolde and the glimpses he gets of the lonely but determined woman behind her reserve. And the fascination is mutual: one night, while sailing under the cold stars, they share a searing kiss.

From there, it’s a fast fall into the forbidden. But in Mark Trevena’s world, the fall is only the beginning…

The Lyonesse trilogy is a queer, kinky contemporary retelling of the legend of Tristan and Isolde, set in the same world as the New Camelot series. Readers will not have to read New Camelot to enjoy Lyonesse, although readers who enjoyed New Camelot will find all the things they loved about the trilogy here: MMF ménage, plenty of the angsty forbidden, and a sweeping retelling of a familiar story.


Wednesday, December 20, 2023

#BookReview: Nocturna (A Forgery of Magic #1) by Maya Motayne






Synopsis: Set in a Latinx-inspired world, a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed.

To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her…and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks.

As a talented faceshifter, it’s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that’s exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she’s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan’s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can’t help but feel that he will never live up to his brother’s legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

But when Finn and Alfie’s fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power—which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan’s fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.


Saturday, December 16, 2023

#BookReview: Into the Mist (Into the Mist #1) by P.C. Cast






Synopsis: From #1 New York Times bestselling author P. C. Cast comes a pulse-pounding dystopian novel for our times.

The Power meets The Stand in this gripping take on female power and the inevitable, destructive path of violent patriarchies.

As men fall to the mist, the age of womankind begins to rise.

The world as we know it ends when an attack on the U.S. unleashes bombs that deliver fire and biological destruction. Along with sonic detonations and devastating earthquakes, the bombs have also brought the green mist. If breathed in, it is deadly to all men—but alters the body chemistry of many women, imbuing them with superhuman abilities.


A group of high school teachers heading home from a conference experiences firsthand the strength of these new powers. Mercury Rhodes is the Warrior, possessing heightened physical powers. Stella Carver is the Seer, with a sixth sense about the future. Imani Andrews is the Watcher, with a rare connection to the earth. Karen Gay is the Priestess, demonstrating a special connection with Spirits. And Gemma Jenkins is the Healer, a sixteen-year-old student who joins the group after losing her parents.

As they cross the Pacific Northwest, trying to find a safe place to ride out the apocalypse, the women soon learn they can't trust anyone, and with fresh danger around every corner, it will take all their powers to save themselves—and possibly the world.


With timely commentary on power and community, Into the Mist delivers a thrilling and fantastical feminist future.


Tuesday, December 12, 2023

#BookReview: Blood of The Hunted by @MarcMicciola






Synopsis: The Resistance Is Rising

Weylyn, Olwen, and other members of the marginalized and subjugated group known as the Tóráin are trying every day to gain equality and freedom. Their enemies, which consist of vile human monarchs, their soldiers, and a masked witch assassin known only as The Dove, continue to tighten their grip around the necks of the Tóráin.

Leading The Resistance, Weylyn and Olwen endure many trials that test them physically and mentally, relying on their loved ones to keep them from losing hope. They both wish to see a time of equality and peace, but to achieve that requires more than what they have. Desperation leads The Resistance to find new allies all across the continent of Kosavros with the goal of finally defeating their oppressive overseers.

Their fight for freedom and respect leads Weylyn and Olwen down paths that open their eyes to new dangers, both involving themselves and the rest of the world. However, they do not waiver. For the Tóráin are known for their resilience, and they have already endured much. What comes next will be hard, but they’re ready to fight for their lives. Together.


Monday, December 11, 2023

#BookReview: Your Fault (Culpables, #2) by Mercedes Ron






Synopsis: Fast-paced and sizzling with a forbidden enemies-to-lovers romance, Your Fault is the second book in Mercedes Ron's Culpable trilogy. This suspenseful YA series untangles the threads of love, trauma, and secrets, perfect for fans of Ugly Love and After. 

When Noah fell in love with Nick, she knew their relationship would never be easy. They're fire and electricity, and when they're together, every kind of sparks fly. After last summer, Noah thought their passion had grown stronger than their fear, but her life is about to turn upside-down again now that she's starting university. Moving again while maintaining her relationship with Nick will be a difficult hurdle, with their age difference, campus life, dangerous parties, and inner demons stalking them both, reminding them of all they still don't know about each other.

No matter how hard they try, there will always be wounds that won't close. Is Noah really prepared to overcome her fears and truly trust someone again? Will Nick be able to put his past behind him and keep his heart open?

Or are they doomed only to burn each other's worlds down?


Tuesday, December 05, 2023

#BookReview: To Sleep in a Sea of Stars (Fractalverse #1) by Christopher Paolini






Synopsis: Kira Navárez dreamed of life on new worlds. Now she's awakened a nightmare. During a routine survey mission on an uncolonized planet, Kira finds an alien relic. At first she's delighted, but elation turns to terror when the ancient dust around her begins to move.

As war erupts among the stars, Kira is launched into a galaxy-spanning odyssey of discovery and transformation. First contact isn't at all what she imagined, and events push her to the very limits of what it means to be human. 

While Kira faces her own horrors, Earth and its colonies stand upon the brink of annihilation. Now, Kira might be humanity's greatest and final hope...


Thursday, November 02, 2023

#BookReview: A Divided Heart by Alessandra Torre






Synopsis: Can you love two men at once? Is there any future in that?

Brant loves me fiercely. 
A brilliant tech billionaire who has owned my heart for four years, he keeps proposing, and I keep turning him down. 
I can’t marry him, not with all of the secrets between us.

Lee uses me wildly.
As grouchy as he is cocky, he's interested in getting me into his bed and little more.
There’s no reason for us to work, but I can't stay away from him.

I have to make Lee mine. If I don't, all of this will be for nothing.

Go ahead, judge me. You have no idea of the agony my heart is in.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me - you haven’t.


Wednesday, November 01, 2023

#BookReview: Her Dark Love (Dark Spell, #1) by Isra Sravenheart






Synopsis: Those drawn to the dark side don't always start out that way. There is always a trigger that sends them into that vile world. It turns out that Lady Isra of the Dark didn't always reside in the shadows. She too, had a light side as you will soon discover.

Isra has come a long way to the prestigious Wingdom's Academy to learn the art of magic. The classes are dull but Isra quickly finds a companion in Everilda. They click instantly striking up a rapport.

Isra finds Everilda to be rebellious towards the craft whereas Everilda finds Isra too innocent especially when it comes to romance. Imagine Everilda's shock when she discovers her part-time plaything Jonathan has taken a liking to Isra. Isra is naïve and inexperienced in love but she sees Jonathan as quite charming and instantly takes a shine to him.

“Everilda went out so I was alone, I ran into this handsome stranger named Jonathan. He's kind and gentle. I've never known love before, never mind a love so enchanting as this.”

Little does Isra know that she, Everilda and Jonathan are in an intense love triangle but she is sure to find out as Everilda grows tired of Jonathan's insolence

“Now on a cold, dark night. I witness none other than Jonathan and Everilda together. Oh, how could she do this to me? They've been carrying on behind my back all this time! How can I ever trust either one of them again?”

Amidst all of this, the light bringer Samuel has learned of Isra's tragic plight and sends in his loyal servant Astrid the raven to keep an eye on Isra since Samuel believes Isra's heartbreak is just the ticket to send her tumbling into obscurity. Samuel also brings in in another light being, James, to attempt to keep Isra on the light path. Astrid takes an instant dislike to James. However, James and Astrid's conflict quickly turns into a rivalry.

But with Astrid watching Isra can the light get to her in time to stop her from becoming the ultimate dark foe that everyone has proclaimed her to be?

USA Today Best-Selling Author Isra Sravenheart takes us back in time to when Isra and Everilda are at the tender age of seventeen. Enter in the tall, dark, brooding Jonathan into their world and both witches falling for him? Hell is going to break loose. Darkness is calling. You can't resist it.


Thursday, October 19, 2023

#BookReview: The Keeper (Royals & Legends, #1) by Lynn Montagano






Synopsis: Some secrets never stay buried…

Victoria Chase
It started in the English countryside when he stopped to see if I was having car trouble.
It should have ended there.

But it turned into three of the most intense days of my life. And guess what? It didn’t end there either. 
His name is Xavier Maddox. Sexy, talented, untamed. A British soccer star. The enticing bad boy. He should be off limits for me. I have this policy about getting involved with professional athletes…or as I call them, the product.

Xavier was only supposed to be a one night stand. A distraction for me while I dealt with a long ignored family situation. 
Fate had other plans…


Xavier Maddox
Pulling off the road to help a stranded motorist should have been simple. But nothing is simple when it comes to this fiery American redhead. 
Victoria Chase has me questioning the parts of myself I buried years ago. She’s the gasoline to a fire I once needed to extinguish. Those flames have roared back to life.

Now I’m desperate to unlock her deepest secrets.

Trouble is, those secrets connect us both to one fateful summer. I’ll do anything to protect her. She’s my light and I’ll stop at nothing to make her see that.
Even if it means letting her go…


#BookReview: Salt Kiss (Lyonesse #1) by Sierra Simone






Synopsis: Tristan Thomas is lost. After leaving the Army, the young former soldier is in limbo. Until, that is, he’s hired by Mark Trevena, the owner of Lyonesse—DC’s ultra-secret club—to be Mark’s new bodyguard. He’s drawn into Mark’s dark, seductive world of power and desire, and slowly drawn to Mark himself, even though Mark is everything Tristan knows he shouldn’t want: cruel and wicked and shamelessly amoral.

But protecting Mark isn’t Tristan’s only duty: soon, Mark asks him to guard his soon-to-be bride as she travels home from Ireland on Mark’s yacht. Tristan is jealous—and hurt to learn that the object of his obsession is engaged—but the soldier in him is made to obey orders, and he goes to fetch Mark’s bride for him.

Isolde Laurence is nothing like Tristan expected, however. Young, quiet, and sharp, she’s being pushed into this marriage by her family, and as the two travel back to America, Tristan finds himself fascinated with Isolde and the glimpses he gets of the lonely but determined woman behind her reserve. And the fascination is mutual: one night, while sailing under the cold stars, they share a searing kiss.

From there, it’s a fast fall into the forbidden. But in Mark Trevena’s world, the fall is only the beginning…

The Lyonesse trilogy is a queer, kinky contemporary retelling of the legend of Tristan and Isolde, set in the same world as the New Camelot series. Readers will not have to read New Camelot to enjoy Lyonesse, although readers who enjoyed New Camelot will find all the things they loved about the trilogy here: MMF ménage, plenty of the angsty forbidden, and a sweeping retelling of a familiar story.


Wednesday, October 18, 2023

#BookReview: Salt Kiss (Lyonesse #1) by Sierra Simone






Synopsis: Tristan Thomas is lost. After leaving the Army, the young former soldier is in limbo. Until, that is, he’s hired by Mark Trevena, the owner of Lyonesse—DC’s ultra-secret club—to be Mark’s new bodyguard. He’s drawn into Mark’s dark, seductive world of power and desire, and slowly drawn to Mark himself, even though Mark is everything Tristan knows he shouldn’t want: cruel and wicked and shamelessly amoral.

But protecting Mark isn’t Tristan’s only duty: soon, Mark asks him to guard his soon-to-be bride as she travels home from Ireland on Mark’s yacht. Tristan is jealous—and hurt to learn that the object of his obsession is engaged—but the soldier in him is made to obey orders, and he goes to fetch Mark’s bride for him.

Isolde Laurence is nothing like Tristan expected, however. Young, quiet, and sharp, she’s being pushed into this marriage by her family, and as the two travel back to America, Tristan finds himself fascinated with Isolde and the glimpses he gets of the lonely but determined woman behind her reserve. And the fascination is mutual: one night, while sailing under the cold stars, they share a searing kiss.

From there, it’s a fast fall into the forbidden. But in Mark Trevena’s world, the fall is only the beginning…

The Lyonesse trilogy is a queer, kinky contemporary retelling of the legend of Tristan and Isolde, set in the same world as the New Camelot series. Readers will not have to read New Camelot to enjoy Lyonesse, although readers who enjoyed New Camelot will find all the things they loved about the trilogy here: MMF ménage, plenty of the angsty forbidden, and a sweeping retelling of a familiar story.


Wednesday, October 04, 2023

#BookReview: Blood of The Hunted by @MarcMicciola @BistroBookBitch






Synopsis: The Resistance Is Rising

Weylyn, Olwen, and other members of the marginalized and subjugated group known as the Tóráin are trying every day to gain equality and freedom. Their enemies, which consist of vile human monarchs, their soldiers, and a masked witch assassin known only as The Dove, continue to tighten their grip around the necks of the Tóráin.

Leading The Resistance, Weylyn and Olwen endure many trials that test them physically and mentally, relying on their loved ones to keep them from losing hope. They both wish to see a time of equality and peace, but to achieve that requires more than what they have. Desperation leads The Resistance to find new allies all across the continent of Kosavros with the goal of finally defeating their oppressive overseers.

Their fight for freedom and respect leads Weylyn and Olwen down paths that open their eyes to new dangers, both involving themselves and the rest of the world. However, they do not waiver. For the Tóráin are known for their resilience, and they have already endured much. What comes next will be hard, but they’re ready to fight for their lives. Together.


Tuesday, September 12, 2023

#BookReview: A Gentle Tyranny (Nedé Rising #1) by Jess Corban






Synopsis: 2022 Christy Award Finalist!

What if women unraveled the evils of patriarchy?

With men safely "gentled" in a worldwide Liberation, the matriarchy of Nedé has risen from the ashes. Seventeen-year-old Reina Pierce has never given a thought to the Brutes of old. Itching to escape her mother's finca—and desperate to keep her training and forbidden friendship a secret—her greatest worry is which Destiny she'll choose at her next birthday. But when she's selected as a candidate for the Succession instead, competing to become Nedé's ninth Matriarch, she discovers their Eden has come at a cost she's not sure she's willing to pay.

Jess Corban's debut novel presents a new twist to the dystopian genre, delivering heart-pounding action, thought-provoking revelations, and a setting as lush as the jungles of Central America.