Showing posts with label 5 Stars. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 5 Stars. Show all posts

Friday, June 14, 2024

#BookReview: 7th Circle (Hades #1) by @TateJamesAuthor @Read_Bloom @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: Five years ago, I masterminded the infamous massacre of the Tri-state Timberwolves. 

The streets outside the Wolves HQ ran red with the blood of the old guard, and not one of those members loyal to my father were spared mercy. Not a single one. 

I let the media twist and distort the story. My new recruits eagerly proved themselves in spreading false news, in covering our tracks. To the general public, the Tri-State Timberwolves were extinct. 

But that couldn’t have been further from the truth. We changed, we grew, we evolved and came out stronger than ever. Now, I live, eat, sleep and breathe Timberwolves. I’ll do anything to keep my empire safe and thriving. To keep the people depending on me safe. 

So, what do I do, when it’s my own weakness that places us all in danger? When I let sex cloud my judgment, and my people pay the price? 

Simple. Kill the distractions. 

I’m called Hades for a reason, after all.


Thursday, June 13, 2024

#BookReview: Hate (Madison Kate #1) by @TateJamesAuthor @Read_Bloom @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: "Madison Kate Danvers was murdered tonight." Those words changed my life, and not for the better. They were wrong, of course. I wasn't dead. But I was set up. After being framed for a deadly riot, charged with a string of offences, and being made into an example by my politically minded father, I'm eventually released back into Shadow Grove. I could keep my head down, but I only have one thing on my mind. Hate. The boys who framed me are going to pay for derailing my carefully laid-out future. They're going to catch the full force of my revenge. Except when I arrive back in town, thanks to my father's shiny new girlfriend, I find all three of them living in my house, right down the hall. Archer, Kodiak, and Steele are secretive. Untrustworthy. Dangerous―and dangerously magnetic, too. But I'm not falling for their games. Not after what they did to me. Archer D'Ath and his boys messed with the wrong chick, and they're about to learn just how cold Madison Kate's hatred can run.


#BookReview: The Worst Best Man by @Only_LucyScore @Read_Bloom






Synopsis: From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Things We Never Got Over "Newsflash. You don't buy me, a$#%^*e. You earn me." The bride is a doll. The groom is the perfect gentleman.  But the rest of the wedding party? They're the stuff of nightmares. Rich? Check. Vapid? Double Check. Entitled? Not enough checks in the world. And the Best Man? More like the Worst Man. But Maid of Honor Franchesca takes her duties seriously. Kidnapped groom? She's got this. Rude attendees? You just watch her handle them. So a Best Man with a big attitude and an even bigger...checkbook? Yeah, there's  no way she's going to let that pretentious, judgmental jackhole ruin her best friend's wedding.  No matter how sexy he is. (Well, that's the plan anyway...) Aiden Kilbourn doesn't do long-term relationships.  He's busy ruling the business world, and has yet to find a woman he can tolerate for longer than a month, two at the outside, anyway.  Conquering the unconquerable is basically his bread and butter.  And he hasn't met a challenge that he can't win. But Franchesca Baranski? This smart-mouthed girl from Brooklyn may just be his downfall.


Wednesday, June 12, 2024

#BookReview: Fake (Madison Kate, #3) by @TateJamesAuthor @Read_Bloom @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: "You'll always be mine."

The latest taunt from my stalker reminded me I was nothing more than a possession to my father, to the Reapers, to Archer D'Ath. Even to Kody and Steele. Princess Danvers―the prize.

His wife.

Archer D'Ath's wife.

I hate them. They lied to me. Over and over again. I knew they were lying, too, and I hate myself for letting it get this far. For falling for them despite what they did to me. For believing in the relationships I wanted so desperately to be real.

Fake.

It's all fake. And none of them will let me go. Archer and his boys think they control me. My stalker wants to possess me. I'm not an idiot―I know my newest allies are using me, too.

That's fine.

I'll use all of them. I'll use them to take back what's mine.

My life. My freedom. My name.

No one owns Madison Kate Danvers.


#BookReview: The Awakening (The Dragon Heart Legacy #1) by Nora Roberts @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: #1 New York Times bestselling author of the epic Chronicles of The One trilogy returns with the first in a brand new series where parallel worlds clash over the struggle between good and evil.

Breen Kelly had always been a rule follower. So when her father left when she was twelve years old, promising to return, she waited. Now, more than a decade later, she needs to move forward. She can wait no longer. A summer trip to Ireland seems like the perfect next step. She never dreamed it would lead her through a portal to another world, where her latent powers of magick will be awakened, her true ancestry revealed and an epic battle against evil fought.


Tuesday, June 11, 2024

#BookReview: The Jinn Daughter by Rania Hanna






Synopsis: A stunning debut novel and an impressive feat of storytelling that pulls together mythology, magic, and ancient legend in the gripping story of a mother’s struggle to save her only daughter

Nadine is a jinn tasked with one job: telling the stories of the dead. She rises every morning to gather pomegranate seeds—the souls of the dead—that have fallen during the night. With her daughter Layala at her side, she eats the seeds and tells their stories. Only then can the departed pass through the final gate of death.

But when the seeds stop falling, Nadine knows something is terribly wrong. All her worst fears are confirmed when she is visited by Kamuna, Death herself and ruler of the underworld, who reveals her desire for someone to replace her: it is Layala she wants.

Nadine will do whatever it takes to keep her daughter safe, but Kamuna has little patience and a ruthless drive to get what she has come for. Layala’s fate, meanwhile, hangs in the balance.

Rooted in Middle Eastern mythology, Rania Hanna deftly weaves subtle, yet breathtaking, magic through this vivid and compelling story that has at its heart the universal human desire to, somehow, outmaneuver death.


Monday, June 10, 2024

#BookReview: Liar (Madison Kate, #2) by by @TateJamesAuthor @Read_Bloom @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: "Liar, liar, pants on fire."

The words scrawled on the back of my newest stalker mail make my blood run cold. I have no idea if the lie is one I know I'm telling…or one that I don't.

Since arriving back to Shadow Grove, I've been stalked, tormented, chased, and almost killed. I've been lied to, repeatedly, by the boys I was finally growing to trust―and more.

Liar.

That word haunts all four of us, but it haunts me the most. Someone knows more about my life than I do. Someone is taunting me with answers and teasing me with secrets. Am I desperate enough to fall for more deception? To fall deeper into this tangle of danger and heat?

One thing is for sure: Archer and his boys made a huge mistake when they decided to keep me from the truth. They thought they could play me, but they're about to learn that they've met their match.


#BookReview: Barbarian's Touch (Ice Planet Barbarians #7) by Ruby Dixon






Synopsis: The next novel in the Ice Planet Barbarians series, an international publishing phenomenon—now in a special print edition with a bonus new epilogue!

Lila has never been more frightened in her life, but when Rokan appears, everything changes.

When I wake up on the ice planet, I’m scared of This place is cold, silent, and the locals look more like blue devils than aliens. To make matters worse, one of the strangers decides I’m going to be his girlfriend and kidnaps me away from my sister. I’m completely and utterly alone. What’s a girl to do?

Well, this girl escapes.

Of course, that means I go from the frying pan into the fire, and my situation gets even more dangerous. Just when I have no hope left, a new hero shows up. Sure, he’s blue, horned, and has a tail. He’s also fierce, protective, makes me purr...and thinks I'm perfect.

But is what we have real or just a mating instinct?


#BookReview: From Blood and Ash (Blood and Ash #1) by @JLArmentrout @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.


Friday, June 07, 2024

#BookReview: Nightfall (Devil's Night #4) by @PenDouglas @BerkleyPub @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: What happens when it's five against one and nowhere to run? The games are back in the thrilling final installment in New York Times bestselling author Penelope Douglas's Devil’s Night series.…
 
They call it Blackchurch. A secluded mansion in a remote, undisclosed location where the wealthy and powerful send their misbehaving sons to cool off away from prying eyes. 
 
Will Grayson has always been reckless, wild, and never been bound by a single rule other than to do exactly what he wanted. He learned long ago that being treated like an animal gives you permission to act like one. Back in high school, he might’ve enjoyed backing Emory into corners when no one was looking, but he could also be warm. And fierce in keeping her safe. 
 
But the truth is, he has a right to hate her. Because it's all her fault. Everything. Devil’s Night. The videos. The arrests. She's to blame—and yet she regrets nothing.
 
He never expected one of his enemies to come straight to him. But now he knows she's here somewhere. And as the security detail leaves and the door to the gilded cage opens, giving Will free reign of the house and grounds for another unsupervised month, he remembers with a smile…

Blackchurch houses five prisoners. And he's only one of her problems.


Thursday, June 06, 2024

#BookReview: That Time I Got Drunk and Saved a Demon (Mead Mishaps #1) by @KimberlyLemming @orbitbooks @ReaderLatte






Synopsis: Spice trader Cinnamon's quiet life is turned upside down when she ends up on a quest with a fiery demon in this irreverently quirky rom-com fantasy that is sweet, steamy, and funny as hell—perfect for fans of  Legends & Lattes  and  The Dragon's Bride. 

All she wanted to do was live her life in peace—maybe get a cat, expand the family spice farm. Really, anything that didn't involve going on an adventure where an orc might rip her face off. But they say the Goddess has favorite, and if so, Cin is clearly not one of them... 

After saving the demon Fallon in a wine-drunk stupor, all Fallon wants to do is kill an evil witch enslaving his people. And, who can blame him? But he's dragging Cinnamon along for the ride. On the bright side, at least he keeps burning off his shirt.


Wednesday, June 05, 2024

#BookReview: A Novel Love Story by @ashposton @BerkleyRomance






Synopsis: A professor of literature finds herself caught up in a work of fiction… literally.

Eileen Merriweather loves to get lost in a good happily-ever-after. The fictional kind, anyway. Because at least imaginary men don’t leave you at the altar. She feels safe in a book. At home. Which might be why she’s so set on going to her annual book club retreat this year—she needs good friends, cheap wine, and grand romantic gestures—no matter what. 

But when her car unexpectedly breaks down on the way, she finds herself stranded in a quaint town that feels like it’s right out of a novel… 

Because it is. 

This place can’t be real, and yet… she’s here, in Eloraton, the town of her favorite romance series, where the candy store’s honey taffy is always sweet, the local bar’s burgers are always a little burnt, and rain always comes in the afternoon. It feels like home. It’s perfect—and perfectly frozen, trapped in the late author’s last unfinished story. 

Elsy is sure that’s why she must be here: to help bring the town to its storybook ending. 

Except there is a character in Eloraton that she can’t place—a grumpy bookstore owner with mint-green eyes, an irritatingly sexy mouth and impeccable taste in novels. And he does not want her finishing this book. 

Which is a problem because Elsy is beginning to think the town’s happily-ever-after might just be intertwined with her own.

This title will be released on June 25, 2024.

#BookReview: Dead Girls Talking by @MeganNCPeterson @HolidayHouseBks






Synopsis: The town of Wolf Ridge calls him The Smiley Face Killer. Bettina Holland calls him her father.

Everyone knows Bettina’s father was the one who murdered her mother a decade ago. It’s the subject of podcasts, murder tours, and even a highly anticipated docuseries. But after growing up grappling with what that means, a string of copycat murders forces Bett to answer a harder What if he didn’t ?

Old-money Bett must team up with the only person willing to investigate alongside bookish goth girl Eugenia, the mortician’s daughter, who everyone says puts the makeup on corpses. Can this “true crime princess” unmask a murderer who’s much closer to home than she ever imagined?

Gritty, gripping, and propulsive from page one, Pretty Dead Girls is a ride for readers who love to see girls get their hands dirty as they claw their way to the truth. Peterson’s knife-sharp thriller cuts deep, with a wicked sense of humor, a wire-taut atmosphere, and a deadly serious approach to bigger transparency, justice, and female anger.


#BookReview: Under the Palms (The Kingsleys #2) by @KairaRouda @AmazonPub @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: During a weekend retreat, a powerful family plays a dangerous game of dark secrets and cold-blooded ambition in a novel by Kaira Rouda, USA Today bestselling author of Beneath the Surface.

Under the direction of the Kingsleys’ new president, Paige, the family has gathered for a weekend retreat at a luxurious Laguna Beach resort.

Still clinging to the hope of succession are the sons of Richard Kingsley, the family patriarch and John, the oldest, who’s clawed his way back from a dark tragedy, and Paige’s estranged husband, Ted, the golden boy. When Richard’s ex and his wayward daughter join the fray, Paige finds herself with two fast allies. They know a secret that could shatter the family legacy. Call it leverage, call it revenge, the Kingsley women believe they have the upper hand.

But as the power games begin, greater threats than the howling Santa Ana winds are coming. Because this weekend, amid so much greed and betrayal, no Kingsley is safe. It’s family. Watch your back.


Tuesday, June 04, 2024

#BookReview: The Wren in the Holly Library (The Oak and Holly Cycle #1) by @authorkalinde @redtowerbooks






Synopsis: Can you love the dark when you know what it hides?

Some things aren’t supposed to exist outside of our imagination.

Thirteen years ago, monsters emerged from the shadows and plunged Kierse’s world into a cataclysmic war of near-total destruction. The New York City she knew so well collapsed practically overnight.

In the wake of that carnage, the Monster Treaty was created. A truce...of sorts.

But tonight, Kierse―a gifted and fearless thief―will break that treaty. She’ll enter the Holly Library...not knowing it’s the home of a monster.

He’s charming. Quietly alluring. Terrifying. But he knows talent when he sees it; it’s just a matter of finding her price.

Now she’s locked into a dangerous bargain with a creature unlike any other. She’ll sacrifice her freedom. She’ll offer her skills. Together, they’ll put their own futures at risk.

But he’s been playing a game across centuries―and once she joins in, there will be no escape...


Monday, June 03, 2024

#BookReview: Mined in Magic (Falling for Fables #3) by Jenna Wolfhart






Synopsis: Each year, the chasm-dwelling dwarves compete in a series of trials to find the best among them. Chocolate-loving Astrid has never bothered to enter. She'd rather tend to her garden, bake moss cakes, or search the mines for a way to break her curse, which forever binds her to the mountains.

But someone else puts forth her name. She has no choice but to take part, especially when she learns the champion will win the Everstone—a gemstone with enough magic to break her curse.

At long last, Astrid's freedom is within reach.

Of course, nothing is ever that simple. An infuriating shadow demon joins the competition, dead set on winning the Everstone himself. He'll do whatever it takes to succeed, particularly if it involves pilfering Astrid's cakes or tormenting her until she gives up hope.

But when the Everstone goes missing, they agree to join forces to track it down. And deep within the mines, they discover something in each other that is far more powerful than magic.

Mined in Magic is a stand-alone cozy romantasy set in the whimsical world of Falling for Fables.


#BookReview: Unbroken Bonds (The Bonds That Tie #6) by J. Bree @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: The gods live among us.

I thought that the death of the man who tortured me, broke me, and then hunted me to the ends of the Earth would be the end of our fight; but it’s only the beginning.

After thousands of years of being apart, our god bonds are reunited once again; and they’re not ready to go down without a fight.

They’ve woken up hungry.

All of the research in the world couldn’t have prepared us for what’s to come, enemies and wars fought over millennia. Now we’re being forced to act, but this time, we have the advantage.

This time, we’re Bonded.

Are we strong enough to survive the gods and their plans? Will we ever live in the peaceful world we’ve fought so hard for, or is history doomed to repeat itself?


*Unbroken Bonds is a full-length reverse harem PNR novel with material that may be difficult for some readers. This book is the final installment and will not end on a cliffhanger. It's recommended for 18+ due to language and sexual situations. Book 6 in the 6 book series.


#BookReview: Tragic Bonds (The Bonds That Tie #5) by J. Bree @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: Nothing will ever be the same again.

Our Bonded Group has been torn apart, and the monsters are now the prey.
But we’re not going to just wait around for our enemy to strike; the blood on his hands is unforgivable, and the god living inside of me wants her revenge paid in blood.

And a thousand souls.

We have been pushed to the limit, tested in ways that have devastating outcomes, and paid the ultimate price. Can we recover from such losses? Is the promise of a world without our enemy worth the sacrifices we’ve made?

Can we prove to everyone, and ourselves, that together our bonds are unbroken?

*Tragic Bonds is a full-length reverse harem PNR novel with material that may be difficult for some readers. This book will end on a cliffhanger. It's recommended for 18+ due to language and sexual situations.


Thursday, May 23, 2024

#BookReview: The Seven Year Slip by @ashposton @BerkleyRomance






Synopsis: An overworked book publicist with a perfectly planned future hits a snag when she falls in love with her temporary roommate…only to discover he lives seven years in the past, in this witty and wise new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Romantics.

Sometimes, the worst day of your life happens, and you have to figure out how to live after it.

So Clementine forms a plan to keep her heart safe: work hard, find someone decent to love, and try to remember to chase the moon. The last one is silly and obviously metaphorical, but her aunt always told her that you needed at least one big dream to keep going. And for the last year, that plan has gone off without a hitch. Mostly. The love part is hard because she doesn’t want to get too close to anyone—she isn’t sure her heart can take it.

And then she finds a strange man standing in the kitchen of her late aunt’s apartment. A man with kind eyes and a Southern drawl and a taste for lemon pies. The kind of man that, before it all, she would’ve fallen head-over-heels for. And she might again.

Except, he exists in the past. Seven years ago, to be exact. And she, quite literally, lives seven years in his future.

Her aunt always said the apartment was a pinch in time, a place where moments blended together like watercolors. And Clementine knows that if she lets her heart fall, she’ll be doomed.

After all, love is never a matter of time—but a matter of timing.