October 30, 2020

#BookReview: Nowhere on Earth by @nicholaslake #NetGalley






Synopsis: From the Printz Award winning author of Satellite comes a compelling new novel about a girl who must brave the elements to help a lost child with an other-worldly secret. 

16-year-old Emily is on the run. Between her parents and the trouble she's recently gotten into at school, she has more than enough reason to get away. But when she finds a little boy named Aidan wandering in the woods, she knows she needs to help him find his way home. But getting home is no easy matter, especially with Emily finds out that Aidan isn't even from Earth. When their plane crashes into the side of a snowy mountain, it's up to Emily to ensure Aidan and their pilot, Bob, make it off the mountain alive. Pursued by government forces who want to capture Aidan, the unlikely team of three trek across the freezing landscape, learning more about each other, and about life, than they ever thought possible.

"I love Nick Lake's writing. I would read anything he wrote--grocery list, email, etc., because his writing, always, is so real and brave. He takes on subjects other writers might avoid, and he writes the hell out of them." --New York Times Bestselling author Jennifer Niven on Nick Lake


#NerdBlast: STRONGMAN: THE RISE OF FIVE DICTATORS AND THE FALL OF DEMOCRACY by @kennethcdavis @JeanBookNerd #Giveaway




From the bestselling author of the Don’t Know Much About® books comes a dramatic account of the origins of democracy, the history of authoritarianism, and the reigns of five of history's deadliest dictators.

What makes a country fall to a dictator? How do authoritarian leaders—strongmen—capable of killing millions acquire their power? How are they able to defeat the ideal of democracy? And what can we do to make sure it doesn’t happen again?

By profiling five of the most notoriously ruthless dictators in history—Adolf Hitler, Benito Mussolini, Joseph Stalin, Mao Zedong, and Saddam Hussein—Kenneth C. Davis seeks to answer these questions, examining the forces in these strongmen’s personal lives and historical periods that shaped the leaders they’d become. Meticulously researched and complete with photographs, Strongman provides insight into the lives of five leaders who callously transformed the world and serves as an invaluable resource in an era when democracy itself seems in peril.

#BookReview: Duplicity (Dumpstermancer #2) by Michael J. Allen @TheDScribbler






Synopsis: Two weeks of freedom hasn’t been enough for Eli to rebuild his life. While he races to prepare for looming winter, a killer’s crusade to exterminate Seufert Fells’s homeless drives a knife into the city’s criminal elite. 

Forced to hunt a killer disguised by magic, Eli’s world becomes a house of mirrors. Friends become enemies. Deceptions abound, and the magic that saved Eli threatens to consume him. 

​With the serial killer targeting everything ​he ​loves, even new dumpstermancer ​ spells might not be enough. Eli may have to protect his worst enemy to defeat a killing machine with a thousand faces.

#BookBlitz: A Case for the Toy Maker by @CandaceHavens @XpressoTours #Giveaway


A Case for the Toy Maker
Candace Havens
(Ainsley McGregor #3)
Published by: Tule Publishing
Publication date: October 26th 2020
Genres: Adult, Cozy Mystery

Ho. Ho. No…

It’s Christmas in Sweet River, Texas, and the whole town is feeling festive apart from Ainsley McGregor. Ainsley has never enjoyed the holidays and would rather ignore them, but with her shop Bless Your Art busier than ever and filled with happy shoppers, even she’s feeling some Christmas spirit. That is, until her Great Dane, George Clooney, sniffs out a dead body in the Santa House at the Christmas Festival.

When one of her favorite crafters becomes the prime suspect, Ainsley is determined to prove his innocence. The case is full of so many twists and turns that even Ainsley begins to fear the truth. Is she protecting a killer?

With help from her friends and some extremely nosey townsfolk, Ainsley and her dog hurry to find the truth––as long as they can outwit and outrun the killer first. Otherwise, this Christmas might just be her last.

October 29, 2020

#ReleaseBlitz for Blood and Wine by Margot Scott @GiveMeBooksPR






Title: Blood and Wine
Author: Margot Scott
Genre: Dark Vampire Romance
Release Date: October 29, 2020


BLURB

A slow-burning descent into darkness and desire... 

Betrayed. Imprisoned. Alone. 

For decades I have suffered as a reluctant blood donor. Caged like an animal and drained of my strength to enrich the Radcliffs and their winery. I’d forsaken all hope of escape—until the winemaker’s daughter returns to the family’s estate. 

A drop of my immortal blood is all it takes to activate her psychic talents. Now we’re connected, and all that remains is convincing her to seek me in the darkness. 

Bribe. Seduce. Deceive. 

To claim she’s too young is an understatement. But a starving man doesn’t have the luxury of waiting for fruit to ripen. I’ve awakened her gifts, and now it’s her turn to replenish me. 

I will have my fill of the winemaker’s daughter. Then I will take revenge on her family. 


Author's note: Please be aware that this book contains scenes of violence, gore, and rough sexual contact, as well as an age-gap pairing spanning literal centuries. If you find drastically inappropriate older man/younger woman romances squicky, do yourself a favor and skip this book.

#ReleaseBlitz: Hollywood Enigma by @AlexaAston @RABTBookTours @BookBuzznet



Hollywood Name Game, Book 5

Contemporary Romance

Release Date: October 29, 2020


 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

 

From internationally bestselling romance author Alexa Aston – the final book in the exciting Hollywood Name Game – a stunning new contemporary romance series. Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

 

She’s a legal shark—sleek and deadly—but doesn’t trust anyone beyond her small circle of family and friends.

He’s internationally famous—and yet a mystery to the world as he cloaks himself in privacy.

Can they shed their fears and open their hearts to one another?

Actor Wynn Gallagher is at the peak of his fame, playing superhero Carbon Man in the Alpha Tharra Universe film franchise. While the role has made him wealthy, he’s ready to move on to newer challenges—but his ironclad contract will keep him tied to the role for years to come. Seeking legal advice, he approaches Scarlett Corrigan, one of the top entertainment attorneys in Los Angeles.

Scarlett is the younger sister of Hollywood’s highest paid actor, Rhett Corrigan, but she’s made a name for herself in entertainment law. She thrives on challenges and readily accepts Wynn as a client, but she puts the brakes on the strong attraction between them, not wanting to mix business with pleasure.

Eventually, Wynn and Scarlett become involved but tragedy strikes not once, but twice, threatening to end their relationship before it has a chance to grow and flourish.

Can Wynn and Scarlett overcome overwhelming odds and find lasting love?

 

Hollywood Enigma is the fifth and final book in the Hollywood Name Game series. Each book in the series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Shopping For A CEO’s Baby by @kentauthor #Blitz with @XpressoTours #Giveaway $25 winner's choice gift card


Shopping For A CEO’s Baby
Julia Kent
(Shopping for a Billionaire, #16)
Publication date: October 27th 2020
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Contemporary, Romance

It’s Andrew and Amanda’s turn… in duplicate

We’re having twins.

Twins.

Which means my shooters are stronger than my brother’s. I win.

Yeah, yeah, everyone can say it’s not a competition, but it is.

And we all know it.

Two babies at once means double the fun, and double the misery for my poor wife, Amanda. While I’m growing a Fortune 500 company, she’s growing two entire human beings out of nothing but orange cheese snacks and ice cream.

Do you have any idea how hard I’ve worked during this pregnancy, tracking down orange smoothies for her?

Not to mention being forced to Facetime into a childbirth class on perineal massage, rescuing Chuckles the cat from being shaved bald by my two-year-old niece, and fighting with a wife who has named the twins Lefty and Righty.

By the time we hit the ninth month, my entire world revolves around pleasing — and protecting — her.

Even if it means humiliating myself in the name of love.

Wait a minute. Wait a minute, now.

Hold on.

Is she the one who’s winning?

Andrew and Amanda are BACK in the newest New York Times bestselling Shopping series book as they “beat” Declan and Shannon in the baby competition, but at what cost? As their future awaits them in the form of twins, Amanda and Andrew face ghosts from the past with wit, humor, and most of all — plenty of love.

#BookReview: The Cup and The Prince (Kingdom of Curses and Shadows #1) by @Day_Leitao @Netgalley






Synopsis: One prince wants her out. 
Another wants her as a pawn. 
Someone wants her dead. 

Zora wants to win the cup and tell them all to screw themselves. 

Yes, 17-year-old Zora cheated her way into the Royal Games, but it was for a very good reason. Her ex-boyfriend thought she couldn't attain glory on her own. Just because she was a girl. And he was the real cheater. So she took his place. 

Now she's competing for the legendary Blood Cup, representing the Dark Valley. It's her chance to prove her worth and bring glory for her people. If she wins, of course. 

But winning is far from easy. The younger prince thinks she's a fragile damsel who doesn't belong in the competition. Determined to eliminate her at all costs, he's stacking the challenges against her. Zora hates him, hates him, hates him, and will do anything to prove him wrong. 

The older prince is helping her, but the cost is getting Zora entangled in dangerous flirting games. Flirting, the last thing she wanted. 

And then there's someone trying to kill her.


#Cover for Heartless by @SybilBartel @XpressoTours


Heartless
Sybil Bartel
(Alpha Bodyguard #9)
Publication date: November 23rd 2020
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Bodyguard.

Sentry.

Explosives expert.

There was a reason I was the only Explosive Ordnance Disposal technician in the Marines who’d never sustained any injuries. I didn’t take risks. Ever. My actions were precise. My thoughts were controlled, and I lived by one creed—no second chances.

Except serving my country as an EOD in the Marines had a shelf life. Promoted off the front lines, I didn’t want to ride out my career behind a desk. A civilian job with the best security firm in the business seemed like a better solution… until a frightened client with haunted eyes lied to me about everything.

Now she was going to find out how heartless a bodyguard could be.



#ReleaseBlitz for Opium Skies by @cmradcliff and @GiveMeBooksPR






Title: Opium Skies
Series: In Vein #1
Author: C.M. Radcliff
Genre: Contemporary New Adult Romance
Release Date: October 29, 2020


BLURB

Life is full of variables.
We crave control, but in reality, we have very little.

I left home with a plan: get the full college experience and pass my classes.
But that all changed when I met him.
Ander was the last thing I needed.
He was never part of my plan.
He was the one variable in my life that I could never control.

And we were destined for destruction

Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf? by @janiemarie1617 #Blitz with @XpressoTours #Giveaway $10 Amazon gift card


Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?
Janie Marie
(The Big Bad Wolf Trilogy, #1)
Publication date: October 27th 2020
Genres: Coming of Age, Fairy Tales, Young Adult

Fantasizing about Trevor Grimm is Kylie Hood’s favorite escape from her cruel reality. So, when he asks for her help on a school project, sparks are bound to fly and her dreams are going to come true . . .

Not in this fairy tale.

No, everything changes when Kylie meets Logan Grimm, Trevor’s older cousin and a professional MMA fighter some call the Big Bad Wolf.

He’s the first person to peer under the hood she hides beneath. He’s the first person to see the signs that something is wrong. He’s the first person to give her any attention. And he’s offering to help protect her.

But Logan’s world isn’t safe. It’s dirty, exhilarating, and dangerous. It’s everything Kylie needs to stay away from.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...