Showing posts with label Indie Published. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Indie Published. Show all posts

Friday, July 19, 2024

#BookReview: The One I Stood Beside (Plain Daisy Ranch #2) by @PetiteRayne @lexilikestoread




ABOUT THIS BOOK: 
It’s the classic story— best friends since childhood agree to a fake marriage, thinking they can pretend to love each other without their relationship changing.

Jude would do anything for me. He’s stood by my side since we were six, and I’ve done the same for him.

When my father dies, leaving our family farm drowning in debt and on the brink of being auctioned, I’m not surprised Jude steps in to help. I just never dreamed he’d fall to bended knee and devise a plan for us to fool everyone into thinking there’s more than a lifelong friendship between us.

Soon, I’m moving into his house, we’re planning a wedding on his family’s ranch, and we discover a new side to our relationship. I keep reminding myself it’s not real—it’s only to secure a loan to save the farm.

I’ve secretly loved Jude all my life, and now that I know how good we are together, I’m not sure we can return to being just friends.

Thursday, July 18, 2024

#BookReview: The Gift by Freida McFadden @lexilikestoread




ABOUT THIS BOOK:
It’s Christmas Eve and Stella Hansen is broke.

She is so broke that despite working two jobs, she can’t even afford a present for her husband on their first Christmas as man and wife. But then a mysterious storekeeper at a pawn shop offers Stella an intriguing trade.

Stella wants more than anything to buy her husband the Christmas gift of his dreams. But will it come at a terrible price?


The Gift is a gripping Christmas-themed thriller inspired by the classic O. Henry tale, The Gift of the Magi.

Wednesday, July 17, 2024

#BookReview: Becoming Crone (The Crone Wars #1) by @LydiaMHawke






Synopsis: She wanted purpose. She found dark magick and war.

For Claire Emerson, there is nothing ordinary about turning sixty.

First, there are the crows. Then, a pendant that unlocks a gate to a house in the woods--which comes with a snarky gargoyle, an entirely too-sexy wolf shifter claiming to be Claire's protector, and a legacy that turns her reality upside down.

Because divorced, menopausal grandmothers with creaky hips and hot flashes? They don't just randomly discover they're next in a long line of powerful women protecting the world from the dark magick of Mages.

Claire's first instinct is to turn tail and run back to the safety of baking cookies and reading bedtime stories. But when it becomes clear the Mages have targeted her, she may have no choice but to accept her calling. There's just one problem: she never got the lifetime of training she was supposed to have, and her magick is... well, unreliable would be an understatement.

With the Mages threatening everything she loves, can Claire learn what she needs to in time to become Crone? Or will she be the one to lose an ancient war—and her life?


Tuesday, July 16, 2024

#BookReview: Halloween Break (Monster Academy, #3) by Holly Hook @lexilikestoread @hollyannehook






Synopsis: As I approach my first-year anniversary in Monstreuse, I'm wishing that my fellow students were the only danger...

But when you're secretly the reason everyone in the monster reserve is no longer normal, and you can't help it, life is more complicated. I still don't know our admin's plans for me, and worse, the Society wants revenge on me. Rumblings from the normal world tell us we could all be in grave danger soon. 

Me, Byron, and our group of friends--one of whom I infected by mistake--must figure out what's going on during our school's Halloween break. I just might have more potential than I thought, and it could be up to me to save everyone on the reserve. But to do so, I'll start down a dark path that I'm not sure I can come back from.


Monday, July 15, 2024

#BookReview: Vultures in the House of Silence by A. R. Latif




ABOUT THIS BOOK:
“The Witcher meets Avatar the Last Airbender in Medieval Baghdad”

“A blend of Persian epics and Shonen Manga”

A boy wakes up surrounded by corpses. Unable to move, he is assaulted by vultures who stop pecking at him only when he speaks. To survive this nightmarish ordeal, he tells them the story of how he ended up on their menu…

What follows is the wild tale of the young gardener Khurafa, coping with the aftermath of the Mongol invasion of Baghdad and the death of his parents amidst the bloodshed. After a vivid dream and several supernatural encounters, he becomes convinced that an ancient group of nine sorcerers called the Servants are bent on world domination. Accompanied by his scholarly mentor Shaykh Nariman, and the sly, uncannily perceptive Zakiyya, he seeks saintly help against the Servants, but finds mostly monsters instead.

Thursday, July 11, 2024

#BookReview: Mantras & Minotaurs (Leviathan Fitness #3) by @abennettauth






Synopsis: Leviathan Fitness is a sanctuary for monsters, muscles, and a widow on a journey of self-discovery.

When Pam Rollins decides to shake things up after her kids leave the nest—she makes two major changes. Starting yoga classes and joining a dating app. After her daughter’s urging to connect with other singles, Pam Rollins meets a minotaur who is ready to sweep her off her feet.

Alistair Reid is the kind of swoon-worthy monster that every woman dreams of. He’s kind, funny, and a wonderful dad.

The only problem is—they live states apart and have thriving lives of their own.

However, as romance blooms, it becomes harder to envision a future without each other in it. Will Alistair and Pam discover that their hearts can grow together despite the distance between them?

Mantras & Minotaurs is book three in the Leviathan Fitness series. This is a later-in-life romance.


Tuesday, July 09, 2024

#BookReview: Midnight Whispers (Midnight Manor #3) by @PetiteRayne @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: A dark contemporary billionaire romance featuring anti-hero, secret society and close proximity tropes from USA Today Bestselling duo P. Rayne.

I spend my nights slinging drinks at Black Magic Bar or taking my clothes off at the local strip club. After my father passed, my stepmother gave me no other choice.

But when I break free of the chains binding me to my family estate, I find myself with nowhere to go. Until Nero Voss, the youngest of the billionaire Voss brothers, offers me a room at Midnight Manor. Now, I’m under his watchful gaze and enjoying it more than I should.

I shouldn’t give in to temptation, he is my stepsister’s ex-fiancĂ© after all, but the pull toward him grows stronger by the day. I fight, but I’m losing the battle.

Nero is keeping secrets, though.

What he doesn’t know is that I’m keeping secrets, too.


Friday, July 05, 2024

#BookReview: The Rising Tide (Elevation #2) by Helen Brain






Synopsis: Ebba is back, and she’s starting the learn the rules of the game. But what – and who – will she have to sacrifice to fulfill the den Eeden prophecy and save the world from the Second Calamity? The second book in Helen Brain’s Fiery Spiral Trilogy.

Sixteen-year-old Ebba den Eeden is dealing with all the typical teenage things: first boyfriends, mean girls, overbearing aunts – and, of course, navigating the political schemes of a murderous dictator, running a farm to feed an entire city, preventing the genocide of 2,000 teenagers trapped inside South Africa’s famous Table Mountain, and saving the world from another apocalypse by reuniting four ancient amulets with the help of her ghostly ancestors. Just another day for a den Eeden! In The Thousand Steps, we met Ebba, a red-headed mixed-race teen with a mysterious birthmark who spent sixteen years underground when nuclear war caused massive sea level rise and flooded her home city of Cape Town. Now a second apocalypse is on the way, and according to an old family prophecy, Ebba is the only one with power to stop it. With Hal imprisoned, the Colony running out of food, Micah off leading the Resistance with a gorgeous new sidekick, and the Second “Calamity” only days away, Ebba must listen to her instincts, even if it means destroying the things she holds most dear. Who can she trust to help take down General de Groot and find the missing amulets – and who will betray her? In the second installment of Helen Brain’s Fiery Spiral trilogy, Ebba will learn the impossible decisions – and great sacrifice – that sometimes come with destiny. A dystopian fantasy that plays out on the shores of South Africa, for lovers of Akata Witch and Children of Blood and Bone.


Monday, July 01, 2024

#BookReview: The Princess Electric (The Rememberist Saga #1) by Derek Silver






Synopsis: "A kaleidoscopic neo-noir adventure packed with imaginative world building and gorgeous imagery, The Princess Electric is...a glittering fever dream that I won't soon forget." --Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn
--
How do you help your sister remember when all you want to do is forget?

Violet wants nothing more than to forget how she put her sister in the hospital. When she discovers that her sister’s amnesia is caused by otherworldly creatures stealing memories, Violet is propelled into Dementia, an alternate world of lost moments and forgotten dreams.

It is there that Violet meets the Rememberists, a rag-tag crew of memory freedom fighters led by Declan and Cheshire, brothers who try to recruit Violet into their cause. Yet their shadowy demeanors make Violet question their motivations, even when she discovers that they can help her sister. But if Violet doesn’t start trusting someone soon, she’ll never be able to save her sister’s memories—or herself.

THE PRINCESS ELECTRIC is the first book in The Rememberist Saga, a young adult urban fantasy series set in an alternate world of lost memories, where the most precious commodity is the ability to remember, and the pain of forgetting is a tortured silence that lasts forever.


Wednesday, June 26, 2024

#BookReview: Rubber Duckie Shifter Next Door by @MiaHarlanBooks






Synopsis: She’s a hot mess. He’s a rubber duck.

When I become the guardian of my friend’s rebellious kids, I feel like I’m drowning. That’s when he floats into my life and throws me a lifeline.

The moment our eyes meet over the fence, the connection’s undeniable. Sig isn’t just my hot dreamy neighbor. He owns a sprawling water park and he has an effortless way with kids.

But beneath his perfect exterior lies a quirky the man of my dreams spends his days as a floating bath toy.

Can I really fall head over heels for a rubber duckie? Only time (and a lot of bath time fun) will tell.


Tuesday, June 18, 2024

#BookReview: The Scepter (The Mortal Fates #0.1) by J. Bree






Synopsis: The witches of my coven burned.

The Favored Children of the forest were abandoned by the magic that had protected them since time immemorial. Only my brother and I escaped the massacre. Now we’re the last two living Ravenswyrd witches in the Southern Lands.

We must leave before word of our survival reaches our attackers, but first, we have to make the treacherous trip up Augur Mountain to meet with the Seer and discover my fate.

We’ve never ventured this far from home.

Can we avoid the ravenous beasts that stalk us along the dark path?

Will I ever learn to wield my mother’s scepter and take on the mantle I was born to?

And can I trust the man who whispers secrets to me in my dreams?

* The Scepter is a MF PNR short-story prequel with material that may be difficult for some readers. It's recommended for 18+ due to language and sexual situations. It is the prequel to a three-book series coming in 2023.


Monday, June 17, 2024

#BookReview: Stolen by the Orc Commander by K.L. Wyatt






Synopsis: A human girl set on revenge…

Orcs and humans have been at war with each other for as long as Snow can remember. Orphaned as a child, she has spent her years as a tracker, known only as the ‘Hooded Bandit’ by the king’s men. Stealing anything she can in order to survive the harsh human lands of Everdean. The only thing keeping her going is the determination to make those responsible for her family’s death suffer.

When a routine carriage robbery goes south, Snow finds herself face to face with the notorious orc commander himself. Taken as his captive and returned to Orc Mountain, Snow has a new goal: escape from the mountain no matter the cost.

An orc commander determined to end the war…

Azogg the Destroyer is a skilled fighter. As leader of the orc army, he despises humans more than most. The war has destroyed their homelands, leaving them all to suffer in the mountains. As commander, he knows that he must find a way to end this conflict once and for all.

With no other choice, Azogg finds himself tracking a royal advisor…only to have his plans upended by a sickly human female. One he quickly discovers is not what she seems. Azogg is resistant to trusting a human, but her extensive knowledge of the royal trade routes makes her the ultimate find.

Could this human be the key to ending the war?

Tempers and passion flare as both Snow and Azogg realize the only way forward is for them to work together. Will this unlikely pair be able to put aside decades of hate and distrust? Or will factors beyond their control drive them apart before they get the chance?

Welcome to Orc Mountain.


#BookReview: Queen Bee and the Turk: Take 1 by Daphne MacLeod @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: Beatrice Fredricks, a spirited former Texas teacher, swaps textbooks for scripts in a complete career overhaul.

Seeking an escape from the shadows of unrequited love and a dangerous work environment, Beatrice dives in headfirst where laughter, friendship and a mischievous Great Dane named Zeki await in glitzy L.A. When she’s asked to be the maid of honor at her best friend’s wedding back home, her boss, Ihsan, accepts the challenge to help her transform into the confident, leading lady of her own love story. But working closely with the handsome actor stirs feelings she’s not ready for. Desperate to avoid repeating past mistakes, Beatrice convinces herself it’s just another case of falling for the wrong person.

Ihsan Zorlu, already an international Turkish film star, sets his sights on Hollywood to secure his family’s future and heal from a tumultuous divorce. In an unconventional move, Ihsan hires Beatrice as his personal assistant to aid him in his American debut. The line between personal and professional might as well be written in invisible ink as they learn to work and live in the same house. Beatrice believes love is for the flawless, which Ihsan knows from painful experience isn’t true. Does he have what it takes to make it big in Hollywood? And can he convince his assistant that she’s perfect and beautiful the way she is? Will Zeki ever understand personal space?


Monday, June 03, 2024

#BookReview: Mined in Magic (Falling for Fables #3) by Jenna Wolfhart






Synopsis: Each year, the chasm-dwelling dwarves compete in a series of trials to find the best among them. Chocolate-loving Astrid has never bothered to enter. She'd rather tend to her garden, bake moss cakes, or search the mines for a way to break her curse, which forever binds her to the mountains.

But someone else puts forth her name. She has no choice but to take part, especially when she learns the champion will win the Everstone—a gemstone with enough magic to break her curse.

At long last, Astrid's freedom is within reach.

Of course, nothing is ever that simple. An infuriating shadow demon joins the competition, dead set on winning the Everstone himself. He'll do whatever it takes to succeed, particularly if it involves pilfering Astrid's cakes or tormenting her until she gives up hope.

But when the Everstone goes missing, they agree to join forces to track it down. And deep within the mines, they discover something in each other that is far more powerful than magic.

Mined in Magic is a stand-alone cozy romantasy set in the whimsical world of Falling for Fables.


#BookReview: Unbroken Bonds (The Bonds That Tie #6) by J. Bree @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: The gods live among us.

I thought that the death of the man who tortured me, broke me, and then hunted me to the ends of the Earth would be the end of our fight; but it’s only the beginning.

After thousands of years of being apart, our god bonds are reunited once again; and they’re not ready to go down without a fight.

They’ve woken up hungry.

All of the research in the world couldn’t have prepared us for what’s to come, enemies and wars fought over millennia. Now we’re being forced to act, but this time, we have the advantage.

This time, we’re Bonded.

Are we strong enough to survive the gods and their plans? Will we ever live in the peaceful world we’ve fought so hard for, or is history doomed to repeat itself?


*Unbroken Bonds is a full-length reverse harem PNR novel with material that may be difficult for some readers. This book is the final installment and will not end on a cliffhanger. It's recommended for 18+ due to language and sexual situations. Book 6 in the 6 book series.


#BookReview: Tragic Bonds (The Bonds That Tie #5) by J. Bree @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: Nothing will ever be the same again.

Our Bonded Group has been torn apart, and the monsters are now the prey.
But we’re not going to just wait around for our enemy to strike; the blood on his hands is unforgivable, and the god living inside of me wants her revenge paid in blood.

And a thousand souls.

We have been pushed to the limit, tested in ways that have devastating outcomes, and paid the ultimate price. Can we recover from such losses? Is the promise of a world without our enemy worth the sacrifices we’ve made?

Can we prove to everyone, and ourselves, that together our bonds are unbroken?

*Tragic Bonds is a full-length reverse harem PNR novel with material that may be difficult for some readers. This book will end on a cliffhanger. It's recommended for 18+ due to language and sexual situations.


Friday, May 24, 2024

#BookReview: The Wife’s Secret by Debra Lynch






Synopsis: Liz Hunter has done something evil.

To avoid prison, Liz flees Oklahoma and lands in an isolated desert town praying her past won’t catch up with her.
But when Liz and her new husband Gavin win the $698 million lottery jackpot her dreams catapult into nightmares.
Being hounded by a shady reporter intent on unearthing her gruesome past is bad enough, but it's her husband she's really worried about.

All that money has gone to Gavin's head. The man she married, who used to be a kind, loving husband has turned into a cheating, manipulative monster.
But Liz will do whatever it takes to save herself.
Even if it means murder.

You might think you know what happens next, but you’re wrong. With jaw-dropping twists and turns, this is a book you will not be able to put down!

Fans of Freida McFadden, Natalie Barelli, and Nicola Sanders will be hooked by this unputdownable psychological thriller with a pulse-pounding twist!


Thursday, May 23, 2024

#BookReview: The One I Left Behind (Plain Daisy Ranch #1) by @PetiteRayne @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: It’s the classic story—boy goes off into the world to fulfill his dreams and leaves the girl behind.

Not every boy returns home, and I wish Ben Noughton wouldn’t have come back to our small ranching town at all after he retired from playing professional football.

I figure it’s a quick layover for him. He always wanted out of this town and off his 
family’s ranch. I just have to bide my time until he turns his back on all of us again.

Then he takes on the coaching position for the high school football team and starts milling around too much, bulldozing the protective walls I’ve built around myself. But he goes too far when he takes my son under his wing to help him be the best player he can be. Leaving me to protect not only my own heart but my son’s too.

Because I promised myself a long time ago that I’d never be the girl in the rearview mirror again.


Wednesday, May 22, 2024

#BookReview: One Last Summer (Plain Daisy Ranch #0.5) by @PiperRayneRocks @lexilikestoread






Synopsis: He’s my first love. My high school sweetheart. And he’s leaving tomorrow for a bigger and better life. I’ve loved Ben almost my entire life, and we have one night left before he heads miles away to college on a football scholarship. I’m bound and determined to make sure this day goes perfectly so he remembers me as the girl he loves. But I can’t help worrying that I’ll end up as the girl he loved.