May 18, 2019

#BookReview: The Sisterhood by A.J. Grainger

Title: The Sisterhood
Author: A.J. Grainger
Genres: Young Adult, Thriller

Pages: Hardcover, 320
Published: February 12, 2019
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young 
Rating: ✰✰✰

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old Lil stumbles across a dangerous secret while searching for her missing sister in this gripping thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Darkest Corners and The Third Twin.

Seventeen-year-old Lil’s heart was broken when her sister Mella disappeared. There’s been no trace or sighting of her since she vanished, so when Lil sees a girl lying in the road near her house she thinks for a heart-stopping moment that it’s Mella.

The girl is injured and disorientated and Lil has no choice but to take her home, even though she knows something’s not right. The girl claims she’s from a peaceful community called The Sisterhood of the Light, but why then does she have strange marks down her arms, and what—or who—is she running from?




About the Author: A. J. Grainger lives in London, England, where she works as a children’s books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day. She is the author of Captive and The Sisterhood. Visit her at AJGrainger.com and follow her on Twitter at @_AJGrainger.

My Review: I really wanted to love this one. I mean a missing sister and a cult sign me up!! But it was really just a miss for me.  I do think that some people will love this story but for me, it was a one time read and not one that I think I would come back to again.  The biggest issue for me was the pacing it moves very slowly and mumbles through the entire story.  

Another issue was that the characters were all just kind of meh.  I really wished this would have been in Mella's POV vs. her sisters.  I know that would have taken out a lot of the mystery but I just really didn't care for Lil and at times it felt like she was more middle grade vs. young adult.  And well Lil is 17 so that really kind of sucked.  I just couldn't tell what Lil's personality was or who she was as a person.  

Another issue for me was that since this was all in Lil's POV we don't really get a good grasp on the cult of the Sisters of Light.  I think if this would have been in Mella's POV we could have gotten first-hand accounts of what was going on.  

And last but not least the mystery part of this falls far from the bar that I was looking for.  The best part of this book was the last 40% and the rest just needed a lot of work. 




Go Into This One Knowing: Romance, Mystery, Bad Pacing







"Teens will find it easy to relate to this drama that touches on the supernatural but is grounded in sisterly love and common sense." (Kirkus Reviews )









Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...