June 18, 2020

#BookReview: The Forest of Stars by Heather Kassner @heatherkassner






Synopsis: In this mysterious and mesmerizing fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Splendor and Glooms and Circus Mirandus, a windswept girl who can float among the stars searches for her long-lost father at a shadow-filled carnival. 

Left all alone after her mother passes away, twelve-year-old Louisa LaRoche watches the sky for her father. Long ago, a powerful gust of wind swept through town, stealing him away on the wings of his untamed magic--the same magic that stirs within Louisa. As if she is made of hollow bones and too much air, her feet never quite touch the ground.

But for all her sky gazing, Louisa finds her fortune on the leaf-strewn street when she spots a gleaming black-and-gold invitation--a ticket to the Carnival Beneath the Stars. If her father fits in nowhere else, maybe she'll find him there, dazzling crowds alongside the other strange and wonderful feats. Only, soon after she arrives, a tightrope act ends disastrously--and suspiciously. As fate tugs Louisa closer to the stars, she must decide if she's willing to slip into the injured performer's role, despite the darkness plucking at the carnival's magical threads.

Heather Kassner weaves a spectacle of wondrous magic, unexpected friendship, and dark secrets.

This title will be released on August 4, 2020. 

Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★★★
My Review: This was a cute little story that was full of magic and of course the carnival.  The magic of friendship comes together full heartedly in this book with a touch of magic.  I loved the story and the characters and I can not wait for more! 








Review

Praise for The Forest of Stars

* "Irresistible." ―Kirkus Reviewsstarred review
"Kassner’s writing dazzles . . . a tale of hope, courage, and friendship." ―Newbery Honor winner Ingrid Law 

"Like the carnival at its heart, this story is richly magical and delightfully eerie." ―Cassie Beasley, New York Times bestselling author of Circus Mirandus 

"A dark and dazzling tale, glistening with marvels, mysteries and the magic of friendship." ―Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs 

"Woven together with atmospheric, lyrical language, this is a sparkling tale about grief, hope, and found families. The magic of this book will touch your heart and send it soaring." ―Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades 

"A spellbinding tapestry of dreams and nightmares, shadows and hope." ―J.A. White, author of The Thickety 

"A dark, glimmering story that combines the coziness of a classic fairy tale with the joyful inventiveness of poetry, THE FOREST OF STARS is a heartfelt, hopeful novel about owning your magic and finding your place in the world that fans of Catherynne Valente will love." ―Hayley Chewins, author of The Turnaway Girls 

"Told in prose both dark and glittering, Kassner's mesmerizing, magical story of friendship, belonging and loss will have readers eager to join the Carnival Beneath the Stars and the extraordinary characters found inside its tents." ―R. M. Romero, author of The Dollmaker of Kraków 

Praise for The Bone Garden

"[Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book." ―Booklist 

"Best read aloud on a dark autumn night (under a cozy blanket, of course), this magical story―and the brave girl in its pages―will haunt you in the best way." ―Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon
"A gorgeously creepy tale with a timeless feel. With her vulnerability and courage, Irréelle is a heroine you can't help but love." ―Elly Blake, New York Times bestselling author of Nightblood

About the Author

Heather Kassner loves thunderstorms, hummingbirds, and books. She lives with her husband in Arizona, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the rain, photographing hummingbirds, and reading and writing strange little stories. The Bone Garden is her debut novel.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...