Shop Amazon?

30 March 2012

Guest Post with Vivienne Malynn and Sean Kade Authors of Dawn of Angels!

Tour with 








Title: The Dawn of Angles
Author: Vivieene Malynn & Sean Kade
Publisher: Sutherland Press (January 3, 2012)
Summary:











Left by her mother at a young age, Kyra has grown-up in the foster system, leaving her angry and hateful towards the world. The only person she can trust is Hammond, her case worker who has watched over her since the time her mother left. When Hammond places Kyra in a foster home located in a small town, strange things begin happening and Kyra starts unraveling the mystery of her past. When Kyra’s life is threatened, she is saved by an angel, her guardian angel, Ashur, who falls from heaven to save her. Together, Ashur and Kyra must figure out why her life is in danger and stop a strange cult from bringing about the end of days. 


Excerpt:

"I didn’t just fall from heaven to save your life…” Ashur pulls me in closer until my chest touches his. “…I came here because after all those years, I could not spend another moment of eternity knowing that you would not be there.”
He begins to sweep his head down toward mine. I know what’s coming and I can’t allow it. Turning away, I say, “I can’t.” My objection is not that I don’t love him, but that I can’t love him. He is an angel, I am a mortal. Two worlds that never have, and never will exist together. “You know as well as I do that this can never be. No matter how desperately we may want it. What will become of us?”
“I don’t know,” he says. “I don’t care.”
“Well, I do,” I say. “All this will end and you will have to go back. And I will be left here alone.”
“But…”
“No,” I say, sternly. “It’s better this way.”
Our eyes meet and I look away, but his eyes do not retreat as if they are holding me in place, preventing me from leaving.



About the Authors:  Vivienne Malynn and Sean Kade are the parents of five lively children and live in a rural suburb surrounded by eagles and coyotes. They spend their free time reading, writing, and playing make-believe with their children. In their not so free time, they teach.



Author Links: 
Website
Facebook

 Guest Post with 
Check out the other stops on the tour 
Vivienne Malynn and Sean Kade


The Role of Guardian Angels in our Lives:
In our book, Dawn of Angels, the protagonist Kyra falls for her guardian angel and we guess you could say that her guardian angel literally falls for her. Though the book does not reflect any religious belief of our own, the question inevitably arises: do you believe in guardian angels? This is often expressed in a less forward way as, What are your thoughts on guardian angels?
The idea of a guardian angel is very interesting. It exists in almost every culture and religion in one form or another. The Buddhists call them deva; the Greeks, daemon. Whatever their name, they all represent the same thing. In the metaphorical sense and perhaps in a very real sense, no one can deny the fact that there are in our lives those who act as guardian angels to us—mothers, fathers, friends, associates, etc. There is at least one person we would hope in each of our lives that takes a personal interest in our affairs without any real drive toward self-interest.
But we suppose this is just one way that we escape the question, much like a parent who when confronted with the question of is there a Santa Claus says that they believe the spirit of Christmas exists in the sharing of love at the holidays. That’s well and good, but it does not answer the question. We imagine they mean it as so. They’re afraid to answer the question because they are afraid of taking responsibility for the implications of their answer. As hard as it may be to answer the question, we hope to give you the respect to answer the question at least in the sense that we have answered it for ourselves.
In the book Kyra struggles with issues of abandonment from a father she never knew and a mother who gave her up to the foster system. As each of us looks out across the vastness of the universe, we come to that unsettling realization that we are nothing but a spec in the interstellar void—no centers of anything. It’s hard not to feel a degree of abandonment in the universe, especially when we are subjected to the harsh realities of nature.
 In all the tragedies of life it is hard not to ask the question, Where is God in all of this? We think the idea of a guardian angel is man’s attempt to answer that question. When one asks Do I believe in guardian angels?, the real question is Do I believe that God has a personal role in my life? Does he take notice of me at all? That is a much deeper question, whether you’re religious or not.  To this question we have answered yes, though we have no means to prove that to anyone directly. However, life seems to have proved it sufficiently to us. We don’t know that there is any particular angel assigned to anyone. It doesn’t really matter to us. We only need to know that when we face life’s stern realities that in there somewhere is a loving being who has our interest at heart.


MARCH 2012






Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday



1
2
5
6
7
8
9
12
13


14

15
16
19
20

21
22

23
26

27

28

29

30


28 March 2012

Review: Goddess Test Series

Mass Review of The Goddess Test Series 
by: Aimee Carter 









Well I was approved to read the second book in this series by netgalley. So I broke down and purchased both the novella and the first book in the series. 

I am so glad that I did as I was not disappointed in any way and I can't wait for the next one. 

17 March 2012

Embrace










There are spirits in this world.................... 

What if you found out that angels were real?  

What if on your 17th birthday you were given a letter from your mom that had died the day you were born?

My girl,
Happy 17th birthday. I wish I could be there with you, but I think if you are reading this...I am not. For that, I am sorry. The day your dad and I found out we were going to have a baby was the happiest day of my long life. I know the only day that will exceed that joy will be the day you are born – no matter how that day ends.
A big decision lies ahead. The burden of the covenant is a heavy one to bear. Choose with your heart, for I already know that you, my girl, must let your heart guide the way.
I love you. Please forgive me.
Mom



My Review:
The only real issue I had with this book was that Angels ave always had to follow the will of God.  What would happen if they didn't have to do this.  What would happen if they had FREE WILL?  


Well Embrace answers this question......and its NOT pretty! 


This book has something in common with the House of Night books by P.C and Kristen Cast.  


That just because something is light doesn't always mean that it is good.  As the goddess Nyx says:


Darkness does not alway equate to evil, Just as Light does not always bring good. 


So my one BIG question in this book is where is god in all of this.  It seems that he/she has taken a vacation and is not around right now.  The angels have the reins and are using them to their advantage. 




In the end this book was wonderful.  It was a little slow at times so take your time with it.  But it is worth reading!  


Ill leave you with some words from the book and also from the bible.  (yes the bible can have some really good end lines lol!  Even me being a witch I can't deny that)


"This is your fate, the destiny I have planned for you......" 


Jeremiah 13:25 




And with that Farwell and May You Embrace YOUR Destiny!





Ok So I have an ARC of Embrace 

And its up for grabs!  

One lucky follower will win it.  Now please understand that it has some pencil writing in the margins from where I made notes but thats about it.


So all you have to do is Follow via GFC, Twitter, and Google + and then comment with what you did and who you did it as and well don't forget your email address.  

Then ill email you if you win.  

I pay for shipping so its free!!

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Software

07 March 2012

Promises by: Amber Garr Author Interview




















Description: 


Sometimes following your heart can end up destroying the ones you love.

When seventeen-year-old Eviana Dumahl is faced with the responsibility of an arranged marriage and clan leadership, she is forced to choose between the life required of a mermaid and one of a teenage girl simply infatuated with the wrong guy. Kain, her devoted fiancĂ© would make a wonderful husband except that she’s been in love with Brendan, a shape-shifting selkie, ever since they were kids. Choosing to abandon her family, her clan, and her life with Kain will have dire consequences far beyond anything she could have imagined.

A war is brewing amongst the clans and Eviana unwittingly becomes a pawn in the intricate schemes of a twisted mastermind. With Brendan’s life on the line, she has no choice but to involve those who she once considered friends. Amidst encountering senseless tragedies and immense loss, Eviana discovers that she is more valuable as a clan leader than anyone ever suspected. Her survival is not only dependent upon the loyalty of her friends, but also on her acceptance of a life that she had so adamantly tried to escape.


Promises is the first book of The Syrenka Series trilogy following Eviana and her friends through the perils of growing up in a discrete world that inherently threatens human society.




Tags

urban fantasy, paranormal romance, young adult, mermaid





Author Bio:
Amber Garr spends her days conducting scientific experiments and wondering if her next door neighbor is secretly a vampire. Born in Pennsylvania, she lives in Florida with her husband and their furry kids. Her childhood imaginary friend was a witch, Halloween is sacred, and she is certain that she has a supernatural sense of smell. She writes both adult and young adult urban fantasies and when not obsessing over the unknown, she can be found dancing, reading, or enjoying a good movie.
(bio provided by author)



Here are the links to where you can find her book:



























Check out the other stops on this tour!


  • Tour Dates - March 2 - 28, 2012:

**Also note: The second book in The Syrenka Series, Betrayal, was released on February 20th!!

 From A Book-a-licious Story Book Blog
Can you tell me about yourself, say, in 5 words
A girl with a plan

 What do you like to do when you're not being an author and crafting the very exciting life of Eviana and her two boyfriends?
Well, when Eviana and the crew aren’t screaming in my brain, I spend my days working as a marine biologist (just recently earned my Ph.D.!!).  So I conduct experiments, write proposals, manuscripts…things like that.  I also teach dance at a local studio, so sometimes I get to tell stories through movement instead of words.

What are both of your dreams? Has your dream always been to be an author, Amber? What about being a marine biologist? Which one came first? Which one comes first now?
Well, originally I was going to be a ballerina.  And then I met some scientists when I was ten and I decided that I was going to be a marine biologist.  I ended up going to school for both.  I’ve always loved creative writing and thought it would be awesome to have something published…but my focus had consistently been on the science side of writing.  So, I would say that I’ve really focused on fiction writing in the last few years and now I’m totally obsessed!  When I’m not at work, I’m writing!!!


What were your previous dreams?
Amber: Oops, I think I kind of answered this one.  But to add to the mix…I wanted to invent gills for humans so that we could breathe underwater without wearing a tank!  I should probably start working on that….

What was the hardest part in your path to becoming an author?
Getting over the fear of rejection (although I’ll never really be over it!). I don’t have a problem making the time to write all of my stories, but asking someone to critique them for me has really been my biggest obstacle.  Accepting that not everyone will enjoy your story is a part of this process, and it’s still a work in progress for me!

What age did you start penning down all those crazy ideas of yours, Amber?
You know?  I’m not really sure.  We had a lot of artists in the family, so I remember telling stories through drawings or putting on plays.  Of course I also danced a lot and made up a ton of stories that way.  I did have a journal when I was a kid, so that would have probably been where all of my written ideas were stored.  

Is PROMISES the first novel you ever wrote? Any that didn't get published?
No, it was actually the second novel.  I have an adult urban fantasy under review right now that I’m thinking about publishing later this year.  After I finished that, I took a short story (pretty much the first chapter of Promises) and just kept on writing.  It quickly turned into a trilogy! I’ve written three complete books so far, and a bunch of random short stories.

What is the inspiration behind PROMISES? Eviana the mermaid with a big destiny, Kain the man with a big heart and Brendan the selkie loverboy?
Well, of course I always wished that I could be a mermaid so I often wondered what that life would be like.  Would I live in the ocean or walk amongst the humans?  And what kind of responsibility would that entail.  So the story kind of developed from there…a secret society of mermaids and a girl who feels like the she has the weight of the world on her shoulders.  Because, who hasn’t felt that way at least once in their life?  Kain’s character is a combination of all of us who have ever loved unconditionally or without it being returned.  It is tragic!  Kain represents the good in people.  And the selkie…well, I was just really fascinated with their mythology and wanted to incorporate that into my mermaid world.  I mean, why would there only be one water creature out there?  Brendan really loves Eviana, and he would have been a good match for her…if only he had been a merman.  I think Brendan represents those “if only” type moments. 

Did you base any of your characters on real life people/experiences? Which ones?
Ha!  It’s funny you ask this because the first thing my mom asked me was if I based Marisol on my own sister.  And the short answer is YES!  She’s not so bratty anymore, but we didn’t always get along well as teenagers and you can tell that it stuck with me! (Love ya, Aimee!) 

Why a love triangle? Haha. And why YA? Why not adult fiction? Thinking of it, I've never seen an adult fiction novel about mermaids before...hmm..
You know, that’s a good point.  An adult mermaid story…sounds like the next project!  And the dreaded love triangle…I think I needed to include that because I remember having feelings all over the place as a YA (be it with boyfriends, friends, or family) and I thought that it is a very real situation.  Having to choose and knowing you may hurt someone’s feelings in the process is not an easy thing to do.  Even as an adult (sigh, yes I’m no longer a YA).  I also have parts of those inner struggles in my adult novels too.  One is an urban fantasy dealing with grief and the other one tests the boundaries of choosing right and wrong. 

Anyway, what do you plan to do now? Sequel to PROMISES, more diving, more experimenting?
All of the above!  Betrayal, the sequel to Promises will be out in February and I am a third of the way done with the final book of the trilogy.  I also want to finish my adult books and hope to see those on the shelves within the next year.  I always love diving, so that’s on the table, plus I’m gearing up to finish my doctoral studies in May!  So that means more experimenting, more writing….

Where can readers buy PROMISES?
Both paperback and ebook formats are available and readers can buy them at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords. 

From Candice A. Coghill’s Blog
At what age did you first realize you wanted to write books and how/when did you first share this ambition with “the world”?
I honestly hadn’t seriously thought about publishing a book until a couple of years ago when I really started to make the time to write.  I had always created “stories” through dance and shows (like in the forest with my sister), but when that creative outlet was subdued due to an injury, I turned to writing.  It was short stories at first, but a few of those turned into first chapters and it just grew from there.  I published my first novel in December 2011.

Who in your life and what authors you read had the most influence over your decision to write?
My close friends and family, who I initially shared my writing with, were encouraging enough to give me the drive to continue.  I am a huge fan of the urban fantasy genre – where the supernatural may be right next to you and you’d never know – so authors like Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, Richelle Mead, Charlaine Harris have certainly inspired me.  I read every day, and all of the authors who have created worlds of their own are amazing and make me want to be able to capture that same magic.

What influence has your career choice had on your choice of writing subjects?
Well, I am a marine biologist who has always wanted to be a mermaid, so my first published series centers around a mermaid and other water creatures.  All of the underwater scenes have to be accurate!  My second career choice would have been a medical examiner, so I made sure to write a forensics component into my adult urban fantasy book (not been released yet).  I have also been a high school teacher, and I am currently working on a non-fantasy book that explores slightly darker themes with a protagonist who teaches by day but is an assassin by night (no, I never did that!).

You are writing for a Young Adult audience. Are there other YA authors you admire and what is it about their writing that you like?
Absolutely!  I didn’t write the YA series first…but once I started including YA books in my reading list, I was hooked.  It brings me back to all of the immature, overwhelming, and erratic feelings we all have as teenagers.  Where we think we know it all, but really have no clue.  I am a sucker for the Richelle Mead, Kelley Armstrong, and Rachel Caine type series.  They do a great job capturing the YA voice and I think that’s what’s most intriguing to me.

What about adult fiction authors? Same question.
Some of the authors are the same.  I admire how they can have successful adult series and are still great YA authors.  But for adult books, I respect those authors who can make me sit down and read the entire book in one day or one weekend, and then a few weeks later I want to read it again.  I suppose it’s the story telling that gets me emotionally attached and I strive to be able to do the same with my characters.

Is there another genre you’d like to try and what attracts you about that genre?
I kind of hinted to this above…probably some type of dark fiction or detective/mystery type novel.  I’m looking forward to exploring characters that are not like anyone I know (or would want to know), and seeing how that develops.

If you could pick another’s character and use him or her as a character in a novel, who would that be and in what type of setting would you write about him or her?
Ooh, good question!  I think that I would have to say Eric Northman, an old and powerful vampire from Charlaine Harris’s novels.  I like his detached persona created to hide years of memories, so I think that I would write him into a comedic scene to try and loosen him up a bit.

You poll your readers and ask them to list five words that best describe your novels. What top five words do they list?
I hope they would say something like – intriguing, suspenseful, emotional, addicting, different.

Your book covers are beautiful! Did you know all along what you wanted your covers to look like and how did you go about finding a cover artist who could fulfill your wishes?
Thank you!  I didn’t necessarily have a cover in mind aside from knowing I wanted my protagonist only, and that an attractive cover was important.  I actually found my cover artist for the mermaid series through reading other self-published books and researching who did their work.  I knew the minute I saw Claudia’s designs (phatpuppyart.com) on her website that she would be able to create something wonderful.  And thankfully, she was excited to work with me on a mermaid cover.  It amazes me what she can do and for both jobs, she had my covers complete within two days.  Her business is really taking off, so I hope that I can still snag her for the final book in the series!

Often, it takes a lot of encouragement for young readers to pick up a book and read. Do you think that e-publishing will be a good way to break down youth’s resistance to reading?
Absolutely.  In fact, I know a teenage girl who got an iPad for Christmas and the first thing she did was download my book (which was nice).  She said she never used to read for fun, but now she has this tool that she can use, and I believe she is reading other books now.  It’s quick, convenient, and cheap…so I definitely think this will be a great revolution for young readers.

Are you a dog person or cat person and what kind of canine or feline assistance with your writing do you receive, if any?
Both!  I’ve had dogs and cats my whole life and currently have one hound dog (Noodles), a cranky Calico (Screamie), and my new muse (Bitsy).  Every time I sit down to write, Bitsy is in my lap or right next to the computer.  (I think she likes the heat, but I’ll pretend she’s really bringing me ideas!)

You’re admitted to heaven and you decide to throw a dinner party to celebrate your arrival.  What five people are on your guest list?
Assuming they have to be in the same state as myself, I’d invite a wide range of people representing all of my interests in life. Jacques Cousteau, Bram Stoker, Gregory Hines, Mary Leakey, and Trond Stegen (a family member that I haven’t seen for a long time).

From Twi-mom Book Blog:
1. guilty pleasure?  
I am a fan of sugar. So something sweet like chocolate or gum drops. They can’t be in the house!

2. 1 book you could read over and over?
There are actually several books/series that I’ve read more than once. But I think the ones I devoured over and over were Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series. All of them!

3. you could meet someone dead or alive, who would it be?
It would have to be Jacques Cousteau. I’m a marine biologist so I think meeting someone as inspirational and successful as he was, would help remind me of how far the field has come and what I can do to continue his ocean conservation legacy.

 4. one thing you cannot leave the house without?
My iPod - I simply cannot function without music in my ears! My Kindle would be a close second.

5. fav song/singer?
There are so many - but I’d say that right now I’m on a Tori Amos kick and have been listening to her newest album over and over.

6. hobby?
If not writing, it would be dancing and choreographing. Since I spend my day surrounded by science and fact-finding, I need to do something creative for my brain at night.

7. fave movie/actor and /or actress?
This is a hard one. I confess that I will watch Braveheart whenever it’s on so that probably puts it in the favorite category. As far as actresses, I’d go with Emma Stone or Bryce Dallas Howard. And Russell Crowe or Tom Hanks would be my actors.

8. one place you would love to visit?
Antarctica. Seriously. I think it would be so beautiful and unspoiled. But I also think I’d need to go in the summer!

9. fav food?
Cheese ravioli’s with no sauce please (just butter and garlic!). It’s about one of the only things I can/will cook myself!

10. fav author/book?
I don’t know if I can pick just one.  There are four authors that I really love and try to read everything that they publish: Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, Richelle Mead, and Charlaine Harris.


Amber Garr, Author Biography:
Amber Garr spends her days conducting scientific experiments and wondering if her next door neighbor is secretly a vampire. Born in Pennsylvania, she lives in Florida with her husband and their furry kids. Her childhood imaginary friend was a witch, Halloween is sacred, and she is certain that she has a supernatural sense of smell. She writes both adult and young adult urban fantasies and when not obsessing over the unknown, she can be found dancing, reading, or enjoying a good.





Take a look at Book 2!  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/134695

Extended description

Life as a mermaid can be suffocating.

Eviana Dumahl has returned home as a clan leader, an orphan, and a heartbroken teenage girl. Her parents are dead and her boyfriend, Brendan, has decided that he needs some time away. While battling her inner turmoil, Eviana is forced into the war that Lucian Sutherland has incited amongst her own kind. With the help of Kain, her friend and formally betrothed, the two work together to prove that they deserve their birthrights as young merfolk leaders.

When the Council requests a demonstration of Eviana’s mermaid powers, she finds herself with an opportunity to win back Brendan’s heart. But her orders to train with a repulsive merman and the presence of an attractive new suitor challenges Eviana to embrace her leadership and resist temptation. Lucian is after her, and no one seems to understand why. Loyalties are tested as the casualties increase, showing Eviana that sometimes it is impossible to delineate between friends and enemies.







Giveaway Information:
  • We will only be holding one big giveaway. The giveaway will begin on March 2nd and end on March 28th. There will be a grand prize(signed copy of Promise and Betrayal[U.S. and Canada] OR e-book of Promise and Betrayal[International], $10 Amazon giftcard, signed postcards, magnet), and two e-book copies of Promises will be given away for second and third place, too. The Rafflecopter form will be found on the members' posts, and down below(links will guide you to where you need to comment to gain an entry).
  • Don't forget to check back for updates!

06 March 2012

Second Look @ The Splendor Falls










Tuesday- MARCH 6,2012


Book Description

September 8, 2009

Can love last beyond the grave?
Sylvie Davis is a ballerina who can’t dance. A broken leg ended her career, but Sylvie’s pain runs deeper. What broke her heart was her father’s death, and what’s breaking her spirit is her mother’s remarriage—a union that’s only driven an even deeper wedge into their already tenuous relationship.

Uprooting her from her Manhattan apartment and shipping her to Alabama is her mother’s solution for Sylvie’s unhappiness. Her father’s cousin is restoring a family home in a town rich with her family’s history. And that’s where things start to get shady. As it turns out, her family has a lot more history than Sylvie ever knew. More unnerving, though, are the two guys that she can’t stop thinking about. Shawn Maddox, the resident golden boy, seems to be perfect in every way. But Rhys—a handsome, mysterious foreign guest of her cousin’s—has a hold on her that she doesn’t quite understand.

Then she starts seeing things. Sylvie’s lost nearly everything—is she starting to lose her mind as well?













Upon Reading this again I have decided that a rating of 4 stars would be better.  I really did LOVE this book.  I just wish they would have done more with the magic portion of it and edited it better.











Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Software

05 March 2012

Monday Note!




MONDAY- MARCH 5, 2012



So for the start of this week!  

I finished well I didn't finish anything!


I am still reading:

Romeo Redeemed 

Book Description

October 9, 2012
Cursed to live out eternity in his rotted corpse, Romeo, known for his ruthless, cutthroat ways, is given the chance to redeem himself by traveling back in time to save the life of Ariel Dragland. Unbeknownst to her, Ariel is important to both the evil Mercenaries and the love-promoting Ambassadors and holds the fate of the world in her hands. Romeo must win her heart and make her believe in love, turning her away from her darker potential before his work is discovered by the Mercenaries. While his seduction begins as yet another lie, it soon becomes his only truth. Romeo vows to protect Ariel from harm, and do whatever it takes to win her heart and soul. But when Ariel is led to believe his love is a deception, she becomes vulnerable to Mercenary manipulation, and her own inner darkness may ultimately rip them apart.







Candlewax
A medieval masterpiece of adventure, romance and horror, younger readers of Paolini and Cashore will gobble up this award-winning debut.

An Ancient Prophecy. A Powerful Relic. An Insatiable Evil. When all three converge, the fate of every living thing will be in peril.

All her life Catherine had hoped to see a fairrier cat. No book, no scroll provided to her by her tutors had ever mentioned this legend, much to her frustration, and now-at the worse possible time-she was getting her wish. Only, in her wish the cat wasn't about to kill her.

A 732-year-old fairrier cat the size of a horse has killed his fair share of hunters. Driven to the brink of extinction for the supernatural powers of his coat, is he indeed the last of his kind?

Sheltered, 16-year-old Catherine is about to find out. Unwitting heir to the Ancient Onyxes, she flees an arranged marriage only to stumble upon the cat's secrets, the force of the ancient relic she wears, and the dangerous mission they must undertake.

Hidden under a desert that was once a fertile land, millions of predators are waiting to feast again. Catherine must discover the secret of the Ancient Onyxes and stop the creatures known as trodliks before they consume everything in their path. A whispered prophecy becomes her only guide and a rejected suitor just might be the one warrior she desperately needs. 





My TBR pile

OMG this pile is ever growing.  So ill make sure to make a list for the future. 

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detection Software
Back To Top