We read and talk about books, post reviews, host giveaways, and have fun! We are 4 reviewers based in Florida, USA. We love books and love talking with our fans and followers! From adult to child! We hope that you enjoy our posts and have fun! Make sure to check out the links below to follow us on social media!

September 19, 2014

#Review of One of Us by Tawni O'Dell

Dr. Sheridan Doyle, a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist, is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney's office whenever a twisted killer's mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he's still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unraveling of his mother years ago.

Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Lost Creek gallows where a band of rebellious Irish miners was once executed. Strangely, the body is connected to the wealthy family responsible for the miners' deaths. Teaming up with veteran detective Rafe, a father-like figure from his youth, Danny, in pursuit of a killer, comes dangerously close to startling truths about his family, his past, and himself.




Finished 

About the Author

                               ›Website
Tawni O'Dell is the New York Times bestselling author of Fragile Beasts, Sister Mine, Coal Run, and Back Roads, which was an Oprah's Book Club pick and a Book-of-the-Month Club Main Selection. Tawni's screen adaptation of Back Roads is currently in development to be made into a film with Adrian Lyne set to direct. Her work has been translated into 15 languages and been published in over 30 countries.

Tawni was born and raised in the coal-mining region of western Pennsylvania, the territory she writes about with such striking authenticity. She graduated from Northwestern University with a degree in journalism and spent many years living in the Chicago area before moving back to Pennsylvania where she now lives with her two children.

My Review 4 One of Us Stars


Love watching deaths as they happen?  Well then this is the book for you.  Mystery, Murder, and Deep Dark Family Secrets await the reader of this one.  So ask yourself.  Do you want to be One Of Us?



Go Into This One Knowing

That title really creeps me out!! This one you will read very fast!!  With the lights on.
"All opinions are 100% honest and my own."

Buy The Book

"With deft prose, authenticity of character, and sheer tenderness, O'Dell…is the absolute master of her craft." (The Denver Post)

"Poignant…achingly beautiful prose…remarkable." (San Diego Union)

"Rich, compassionate storytelling." (Entertainment Weekly)

"Triumphantly fulfilling the promise of her bestselling debut, O'Dell examines the tangled, enduring bonds of family and community in a Pennsylvania mining town…[a] searing, tragic vision of working-class people…Powerful and uncompromising, yet radiant with love, this one's pretty close to a masterpiece." (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

"Riveting storytelling and genuine emotional punch…excellent." (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

"A masterfully unfolded, absolutely engrossing story as smart and sassy as it is wise…love [is] at the heart of it all, in crisp, insightful prose that sweeps the reader along. A knockout." (Booklist (starred review))

"Her hard-hitting, well-crafted story packs a wallop.” (Library Journal)

"Another gem." (People)

“A well-written psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell.” (Library Journal ("Summer Suspense" spotlight))

“An evocative novel about murder and intrigue in a small mining town in which secrets and lies from the past threaten to destroy the very fabric of the community. Compulsively readable.” (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN)

“A gritty tale of vengeance.” (Kirkus Reviews)


Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information.

Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...