December 02, 2018

#BookReview: Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen #2) by Alisa Kwitney #CorpseCrown #NetGalley

Title: Corpse & Crown
Author: Alisa Kwitney
Series: Cadaver & Queen #2
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, SteamPunk (Oliver Twist, Frankenstein)
Pages: 320
Pub Date: February 12th 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Book Source: NetGalley
My Rating: 3 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis: 
Oliver Twist gets a fresh take in this reimagining of the Dickensian classic taking the familiar characters and turning them on their heads in a historical thriller packed with weird science, political suspense, and steamy romance, perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco's Stalking Jack the Ripper and Marissa Meyer's Cinder.

From Alisa Kwitney comes a connected novel set in the same alternative Victorian England of Cadaver & QueenCorpse & Crownfollows the story of Agatha DeLacey, an Ingold nursing student who travels to London and uncovers a devastating secret about the country's Bio-Mechanicals. Inspired by the classic story of Oliver Twist and complete with a dashing Artful Dodger-inspired male lead, this retelling is a satisfying follow-up to Kwitney's clever and critically acclaimed young adult debut.




About the Author: Alisa Kwitney was once an editor at DC Comics/Vertigo and is an Eisner-nominated author of graphic novels, romantic women's fiction and urban fantasy. She is one of the authors of A Flight of Angels, which made YALSA's Great Graphic Novels for Teens Top Ten list, and the YA graphic novel Token, named a highlight of the Minx imprint by Publishers Weekly. Alisa has an MFA from Columbia University.






"This is not a parody of Mary Shelley's classic but a clever new take on its elements in a mystery complete with Victorian writing flourishes and the mild titillation expected from a romance novel. Here the evil scientists are surgeons with an ambitious plot to change the course of politics... Fans of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles will enjoy this." -Kirkus Reviews on Cadaver & Queen

"In this inventive Victorian-era steampunk tale...Kwitney blends elements of murder mystery, classic science fiction, and gothic romance, all cleverly framed around a Beauty and the Beast take on Frankenstein." -Booklist on Cadaver & Queen

"A page-turner from start to finish, fans of Marissa Meyer, Gail Carriger, and Cassandra Clare will find much to love. Highly recommended." -School Library Journal on Cadaver & Queen

"Alisa Kwitney has an understanding of human foibles and follies and a light, intelligent touch that marks her as an author to watch and enjoy." -#1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman on Cadaver & Queen




My Review: Although I really enjoyed book one to this series I was a little let down with this one.  I wanted to enjoy that this one had a new set of characters to follow but it was just lacking that spark that book one had.  It felt like key characters were left out and that it was completely disconnected in parts to book one.  I will say that I loved the romance in this one.  In the end, this one was still an ok read but it just wasn't as good as book one.  



Go Into This One Knowing: Great Romance, Disconnected to the series, New Characters 
 








Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...