May 25, 2019

#BookReview for After the Woods by Kim Savage


Synopsis: Would you risk your life to save your best friend? 

Julia did. When a paroled predator attacked Liv in the woods, Julia fought back and got caught. 


Liv ran, leaving Julia in the woods for a terrifying 48 hours that she remembers only in flashbacks. 

One year later, Liv seems bent on self-destruction, starving herself, doing drugs, and hooking up with a violent new boyfriend. 

A dead girl turns up in those same woods, and Julia’s memories resurface alongside clues unearthed by an ambitious reporter that link the girl to Julia’s abductor. 

As the devastating truth becomes clear, Julia realizes that after the woods was just the beginning.






Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

About the Author:  Kim Savage is the author of After the Woods, a debut psychological thriller for young adults coming on February 23, 2016 with Farrar, Straus and Giroux/Macmillan. Her second novel, also with FSG/Macmillan, comes out in 2017. Her short stories, audio stories, and flash fiction have been published in The Drum Literary Magazine, Six Minute Magazine, Trapeze Magazine, and Red Fez, among others. She is represented by Sara Crowe of Harvey Klinger Inc, and is a member of the Freshman Fifteen, the Sweet Sixteens, NESCBWI and Grub Street. Kim received her degree in English from Stonehill College, and a Master's degree in Journalism with Honors from Northeastern University. Once upon a time, she worked as a business journalist, pitching story ideas along the lines of "Stigmatized Properties: When Murder Kills Property Values." You get the idea. Today, Kim resides in a town west of Boston near the real Fells of After the Woods. Born directionally challenged, the fear of getting lost in those lovely woods lives close to her skin. She and her wickedly funny husband have three children, each of whom beg to appear in her books. They shouldn't. Visit her at kimsavage.me.

Rating:  ✪✪✪
My Review: This is one of those books that you kind of enjoy it but once your done its like a weight lifted off your chest. And that is how I felt about this one.  I kind of enjoyed the premise and the characters and the mystery but part of me wonders why I just didn't call it quits and DNF it.  The start was kind of confusing and the ending just didn't make up for what I got from the start and middle.  









After the Woods
"Savage offers up a mystery wrapped in a psychological breakthrough tied with the bow of lyrical language. The characters are engaging beyond their habitation of an intricately woven plot and supply readers with the motivation to care beyond the simple solving of the mystery. A riveting exploration of what it's like when the enemy is much closer than you suspect." ―Kirkus Reviewsstarred review

"A remarkable, engrossing debut about what it means to be a survivor and the many ways to take control of your own destiny." ―Bookliststarred review

"An entertaining mystery that will appeal to fans of Law & Order–type plots." ―School Library Journal
"In her debut novel, After the Woods, Savage tells a story not unfamiliar from the five o’clock news, except this time the viewer is given a more detailed look into the incident. What results is an ability to empathize with the victim but also to fully comprehend the motives of the perpetrator, a man with limited intellect obsessed with an online fantasy world." ―VOYA
"An intense, dark, staggering debut. Full of lovely writing that casts a serious contrast against the dark plot, this thriller will absolutely keep you guessing until the very end." ―PasteMagazine.com









Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...