July 10, 2019

#BookReview: The Starter Wife by Nina Laurin


Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Girl Last Seen comes "a spine-tingler" (Booklist) of a psychological suspense, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Jessica Knoll. 

Local police have announced that they're closing the investigation of the suspected drowning of 37-year-old painter Colleen Westcott. She disappeared on April 11, 2010, and her car was found parked near the waterfront in Cleveland two days later, but her body has never been found. The chief of police has stated that no concrete evidence of foul play has been discovered in the probe.


I close the online search window, annoyed. These articles never have enough detail. They think my husband's first wife disappeared or they think she is dead. There's a big difference. 

My phone rings, jarring me away from my thoughts, and when I pick it up, it's an unknown number. The only answer to my slightly breathless hello is empty static. 

When the voice does finally come, it's female, low, muffled somehow. "Where is it, Claire? What did you do with it? Tell me where it is."

A woman. A real flesh-and-blood woman on the other end of the phone. She's not just in my head.

A wave of panic spreads under my skin like ice water. It's Colleen.

"Laurin knows how to ratchet up the suspense." --Publishers Weekly


Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author:  Nina Laurin studied Creative Writing at Concordia University in Montreal, where she currently lives. She arrived there when she was just twelve years old, and she speaks and reads in Russian, French, and English but writes her novels in English. She wrote her first novel while getting her writing degree, and Girl Last Seen was a bestseller a year later in 2017. The follow-up, What My Sister Knew, came out in summer 2018 to critical acclaim. Nina is fascinated by the darker side of mundane things, and she's always on the lookout for her next twisted book idea. She blogs about books and writing on her own site, thrillerina.wordpress.com.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟
My Review: This one was very interesting.  It had two narrator's that you just couldn't trust and a story that really got me. I have to say that I didn't see a lot of this story coming but by the end I did guess the ultimate outcome.  I would say that if you are looking for suspenseful story that will surprise you then check this one out. 


My biggest issue with this one was that I just really didn't like anyone.  I didn't care about their lives and I just didn't feel connected with anyone.  





"Laurin, with her knack for psychological suspense, here portrays the effects of obsession in chilling detail as the facts of Claire's life are revealed. A spine-tingler."
Booklist

"The Starter Wife will give you chills thanks to the heart-pounding suspense laid out by author Nina Laurin."―Women.com

"Laurin knows how to ratchet up the suspense."―Publishers Weekly

"Nina Laurin's psychological suspense thrill ride will have you ripping through its pages at warp speed..."―PopSugar.com on What My Sister Knew

"Every good thriller has a shocking plot twist. Girl Last Seen has many. Author Nina Laurin's eerie novel will stay with you for days, months, even years to come."―HelloGiggles.com

"A twisty, mind-bending thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat..."―USAToday.com on What My Sister Knew

"One of the best things a novel can do is keep you guessing, and Nina Laurin's sophomore effort does exactly that."―CriminalElement.com on What My Sister Knew

GIRL LAST SEEN by Nina Laurin is a chilling suspense about two missing girls whose stories intertwine - perfect for Paula Hawkins fans."
EliteDaily.com

"Fast-paced and hard-edged, it is a heart-stopping thriller that had me guessing to the very end."―Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author on Girl Last Seen

"Psychological suspense doesn't come much grittier or more packed with satisfying twists and turns."―Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winning author on Girl Last Seen










Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...