September 05, 2019

#BookReview: The Boy and Girl Who Broke the World by Amy Reed


Synopsis: Billy Sloat and Lydia Lemon don’t have much in common, unless you count growing up on the same (wrong) side of the tracks, the lack of a mother, and a persistent loneliness that has inspired creative coping mechanisms.

When the lives of these two loners are thrust together, Lydia’s cynicism is met with Billy’s sincere optimism, and both begin to question their own outlook on life. 

On top of that, weird happenings including an impossible tornado and an all-consuming fog are cropping up around them—maybe even because of them. 

And as the two grow closer and confront bigger truths about their pasts, they must also deal with such inconveniences as a narcissistic rock star, a war between unicorns and dragons, and eventually, of course, the apocalypse.


This title will be released on July 9, 2019.




Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author:  Amy Reed is the author of the contemporary young adult novels BeautifulCleanCrazyOver YouDamagedInvincibleUnforgivable, and The Nowhere Girls. She is also the editor of Our Stories, Our Voices. She is a feminist, mother, and quadruple Virgo who enjoys running, making lists, and wandering around the mountains of western North Carolina where she lives. You can find her online at AmyReedFiction.com.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟
My Review: Although this was a very interesting book at times at others it felt very wordy.  I think it could have been way shorter. On the other hand the characters and story were very well done.  This is a book about truth, friendship, with a little hint of magic.  I think for the right reader this would be a hit out of the park.  





Gr 9 Up—Reed introduces readers to the "grand" state of Washington—home to the Rome Unicorns and Carthage Dragons, and Billy Sloat and Lydia Lemon. Billy lives his life as an optimist, or as optimistic as you can get with no mother, a cranky grandmother, and a drug-addicted missing uncle. Lydia, on the other hand, sees life as an endless cycle of misery and gloom. When the two towns' schools must survive under the same roof, Billy's and Lydia's worlds collide. At first, Lydia is wary of Billy, as she is with all the people she meets, but as time goes on, she realizes that some of Billy's optimism might just be rubbing off on her. And Billy realizes that maybe he can have a decent friend and someone he can count on. The unlikely duo forge a beautiful and strong relationship that changes them both. This is a fascinating story that's incredibly hard to put down. Reed does a fantastic job of connecting readers to her characters with quick chapters that alternate between Billy's and Lydia's viewpoints, and the tale is so captivating that teens easily feel the emotions Billy and Lydia struggle with throughout the entirety of the novel. VERDICT Fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green who also like a bit of fantasy will fall in love with Billy and Lydia. A great purchase for all contemporary young adult collections.—Caitlin Wilson, Meadowdale Library, North Chesterfield, VA










Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...