September 22, 2019

#YearOfEpicReads with A Dress for the Wicked by Autumn Krause via @EpicReads


This weeks prompt is to Read a book with a dress on the cover and I chose A Dress for the Wicked!  This book has been on our TBR for a few months so I thought hey it has a dress so why not!  This title is slated as "Betrayal has never been so fashionable than in Autumn Krause’s glamorous debut, perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe." Although I've never read the Luxe series I loved the Belles!! So Im excited to see what this book has in store! Let us know in the comments to see which title you are reading this week! 


Synopsis: Nothing much happens in the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-upon-Kynt. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing.

But when the head of the most admired fashion house in the country opens her prestigious design competition to girls from outside the stylish capital city, Emmy’s dreams seem closer than they ever have before.

As the first “country girl” to compete, Emmy knows she’ll encounter extra hurdles on her way to the top. But as she navigates the twisted world of high fashion she starts to wonder: will she be able to tailor herself to fit into this dark, corrupted race? And at what cost?





Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

About the Author: Autumn Krause was born and raised in Los Angeles, California. She attended Biola University for her undergrad and worked as a wedding gown stylist at an upscale bridal salon in Beverly Hills while getting her MFA in creative writing for children and young adults. She lives in Orange County, California, with her husband and daughter. She can be found online at www.autumnkrause.com.


The high-stakes fashion scene of a reimagined nineteenth century Europe takes center stage in this YA debut perfect for fans of The Belles and The Luxe.
True to its name, the sleepy town of Shy in Avon-Upon-Kynt is a place where nothing much happens. And for eighteen years, Emmaline Watkins has feared that her future held just that: nothing.
But when Madame Jolene, the head of the most prestigious fashion house in the country, throws open her annual design competition to girls from outside the stylish capitol city, Emmy's dreams seem closer than they ever have before.
After all, no one is ever going to see Emmy's grand, lavish dresses if she stays behind the bar in her mother's pub. There may not be room for her talent in Shy, but if she can make it to the capitol and into the competition, she and her designs could make their mark on the world forever.
As the first "country girl" to compete, Emmy knows she'll encounter extra hurdles on her way to the top. But there are surprises around every corner in the Fashion House, and distractions--from unexpected romance to competitors set on sabotage--threaten to derail Emmy's concentration for good.
As Emmy navigates the twisted world of high fashion, she starts to wonder: will she be able to tailor herself to fit into this dark, corrupted race? And at what cost?

“Set in an alternate Victorian London–like past, this blends competition and cooperation for compelling drama. A unique debut with plenty of flair.” (Booklist)

“Krause deftly handles the oft-belittled personal and political power of clothing, and fans of couture and fabulous fashion will enjoy the extravagant clothing and glamorous world that Emmy is determined to enter.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“No one expects Emmaline, a girl from the country, will have anything to offer. Forced to adapt to a ruthless environment, Emmaline will surprise them — and surprise herself, too. If you binge Project Runway and gobble down YA dystopias, then A Dress For the Wicked is for you.” (Refinery 29)









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...