January 05, 2020

#BookReview: Tell Me Lies (Detective Max Carter #1) by Ed James


Synopsis: Fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci will be gripped by this heart-racing FBI thriller from bestselling author Ed James. 

Megan Holliday opens her eyes and finds herself slumped on her doorstep. The last thing she remembers is being in the car with her two kids. She sees a handwritten note on her lap – Don’t call the police. It’s then that she realises her car is missing, and her children are gone… 

Leading the FBI’s Child Abduction Rapid Deployment team, FBI agent Max Carter will stop at nothing to find children taken from their families. After all, he was once one of those taken children, so he knows exactly what’s at stake. When he hears that a young senator’s two children have been abducted and their mother left for dead, he races to the Holliday family home in Washington State. 

Facing a wall of police cruisers and blacked-out SUVs, Carter quickly uncovers the facts. Megan Holliday was ambushed by a man with a gun as she returned home from taking her kids out for ice cream. Bound and drugged, the attacker left her unconscious on the doorstep with the sinister note on her lap. 

As Senator Christopher Holliday walks through the halls of the US Federal Building in Seattle, his phone beeps with an alert. Frustrated by the interruption, he takes a cursory glance and is horrified by the image on the screen – his two children, Brandon and Avery, unconscious. The message he gets simply reads Meet me or they die

When Agent Carter tries to make contact with the busy senator, it seems the politician has gone missing, fleeing from the Federal Building and abandoning his distraught wife. If Carter knows one thing, it’s that Holliday has something to hide. And he just became Carter’s prime suspect. 


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★
My Review: This slow burn story was one that I am kind of torn with.  Parts I liked and others I didn't. The story was a little slower than I normally like so that took some of the enjoyment out of this one.  The multi POVs were a little too much in this one as well. I had issues keeping track of everyone and felt lost a lot of the time.  The pacing was off and well in the long run I just don't think this one was for me. 







What readers are saying about Ed James:  
What a book!... I loved the author’s style of writing. It is certainly fast-paced and an easy read.’ Baker’s Not So Secret Blog, 5 stars 

Compulsive reading.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘Fast-paced and heart-stopping.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘Excellent read. The story gripped me… I can’t wait for the next one!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘Loved this book. I literally couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

Ed James does it again!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘A gripping story from beginning to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘What a read. I started it and couldn’t put it down until I’d finished and now I’m in withdrawal… if you are looking for a high-octane book, this is the one.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

Enthralling. Kept me guessing right up to the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 

‘Such a fantastic, original story. Very clever and loads of twists you can’t see coming.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...