March 31, 2020

#BookReview: Darling Rose Gold by @stephwrobel 4~Stars






Synopsis: Sharp Objects meets My Lovely Wife in this tightly drawn debut that peels back the layers of the most complicated of mother-daughter relationships...

For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold.

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar.

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere to go and begs her daughter to take her in. The entire community is shocked when Rose Gold says yes.

Patty insists all she wants is to reconcile their differences. She says she's forgiven Rose Gold for turning her in and testifying against her. But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty Watts always settles a score.

Unfortunately for Patty, Rose Gold is no longer her weak little darling...

And she's waited such a long time for her mother to come home.


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ★★★
My Review: This one was a hit and a miss all in one.  I loved Patty and Rose Gold and the alternating chapters.  However, this book kind of creeped and grossed me out just a smidge.  It was a love/hate relationship and I just don't know how to review this one.  If you are ready for your head to spin I would say pick it up and check it out!! The story pacing was well done, the dual POV was also done very well too.  The time line was also done well.  I have to really say that although this one was somewhat ugh (nasty) and creepy that it really gripped me.  Man o Man after writing this up.  I think I do need a finished copy of this one.  #WhyDoIDoThisToMyself?




Go Into This One Knowing: Creepy!!







“Sure to be one of the most unique books of the new year.”Newsweek
“Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train...set to be next year's biggest thriller.”—Stylist
“Ingenious...a maelstrom of a suspense story.”—Maureen CorriganThe Washington Post
“[An] excellent debut…Darling Rose Gold briskly moves with surprising twists as Wrobel delivers assured character studies.”—Associated Press
"A taut tale that will keep you guessing until the very end."—Kirkus Reviews
“[A] diabolically plotted debut...Propulsive pacing, a claustrophobic setting, and vividly sketched characters who are equal parts victim and villain conspire to create an anxious, unsettling narrative. Psychological suspense fans will be well satisfied.”—Publishers Weekly
“Sensationally good—two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won’t let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch.”—Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
Darling Rose Gold is an absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it.”—Lisa JewellNew York Times bestselling author of The Family Upstairs

“It’s rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all—a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious.”—JP Delaney, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Before

“Two extraordinary narrators drive the nail-biting action in this sensational, compulsively readable debut. A tour de force of captivating psychological suspense.”—Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Nanny

“One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut.”—Samantha Downing, USA Today bestselling author of My Lovely Wife

“I absolutely devoured Darling Rose Gold!...I couldn’t get enough of Patty and Rose Gold, alternating my opinion of them at the same speed that I was turning the pages! A fabulous read!"—Sandie Jones, author of Reese Witherspoon book club pick The Other Woman 
Darling Rose Gold is an original, stunning debut! Masterful crafting of a split time-frame and utterly compelling characters will hook readers from the very first page until they finally learn the truth hiding within this chilling mother-daughter relationship. An intelligent, beguiling read that should be at the top of every reader’s list.”—Wendy Walker, USA Today bestselling author of The Night Before

“Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects.”—CJ Tudor, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Chalk Man

“Wrobel writes a fascinating and thrilling debut that looks deeply into the complicated reasons a mother and daughter choose to hurt each other. A psychological twister that had me completely captivated until the end.”—Diane Les Bescquets, National bestselling author of Breaking Wild
"More than a page-turner—although it's undoubtedly that—Darling Rose Gold plumbs the depths of this poisoned mother-daughter relationship, asking probing questions about why we all hurt the ones we love. An explosive debut from a thrilling new voice.”—Kirstin Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take
 
“I inhaled this book. Darling Rose Gold delves so deep into family dysfunction that we are left gasping as the last pages turn. Compelling, intriguing, beautifully written and paced like a roller coaster ride, cancel all your plans when you pick up this terrific book.”—Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait
 
“I love it. Fascinating, immersive, whip-smart, with a supremely clever ending that left me gasping.”Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings
“Wrobel's debut explores a fresh premise in a story that does not shy away from dark and disturbing scenes. Patty and Rose Gold are complicated, well-developed characters whose motivations are subtle and difficult to foresee. This dynamic results in a story that leaves readers guessing to the end and should be a draw for fans of psychological thrillers.”Booklist

“An utterly unpredictable and deliciously disturbing tale of revenge in all its brutal glory.”Crimereads“[A] gripping mystery.”—Good Housekeeping
"A thorough and delectable novel about class, interfamilial relationships, and the limits of forgiveness."—Shondaland









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...