September 15, 2020

#BookReview: Behind Closed Doors by @BAParisAuthor






Synopsis: Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.

You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
My Review: 
Wow. This book was simply amazing. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time wondering how it would end. To their friends Jack and Grace seem like the perfect couple. Once behind closed doors it's a whole other story though where Jack's sadistic tendencies shine. This book isn't for the faint of heartand goes into some serious subjects but for me that's what made it so amazing. 





Review

An August 2016 Best Books of the Month by Real Simple magazine
An August 2016 Indie Next pick and LibraryReads list pick
An August 2016 Book Club Pick by Popsugar: “Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train!”
As seen featured in The Skimm’s newsletter: “It’ll have you page turning ‘til the end.”
“If you’re hunting for a thriller to give you chills in August, look no further than this book, which is already a big hit in the U.K.” ―Real Simple magazine 
“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you ― especially if you’re about to tie the knot. Paris’s thriller asks the question: ‘The perfect marriage or the perfect lie?’ Jack and Grace, the couple at the center of this totally enthralling novel, are so clearly not what they seem you’ll have no choice but to read and read and read until their darkest secrets are revealed. Warning: brace yourself.” ―Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)
“A gripping domestic thriller…the sense of believability and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” ―The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post
“B.A. Paris takes the clich√© about not knowing what goes on beyond closed doors to nightmarish place…. Each chapter escalates the tensions and stakes faced by Grace in the nightmare that is her new ‘perfect’ marriage to Jack.” ―Huffington Post
Behind Closed Doors takes a classic tale to a whole new level…This was one of the best and [most] terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read…each chapter brings you further in, to the point where you feel how Grace must feel. The desperation, the feeling that no one will believe you and yet still wanting to fight because someone you care deeply about will get hurt.” ―San Francisco Book Review
“Paris grabs the reader from the beginning with a powerful and electrifying tale. Behind Closed Doors, a novel sure to make one's skin crawl, also reveals no one truly knows what does go on behind closed doors.”―New York Journal of Books
“This dark and twisted thriller will keep you on your toes and have you wondering exactly what goes on behind your neighbor’s door.”―Buzzfeed (“6 Thriller/Mystery Reads That Will Have You Sleeping With the Lights On”)
“Really freaking creepy. And really good. Until the end, which was an honest gasp and imaginary pearl clutching moment. Yes, that good. Reader, if you want to read the thriller that enthralled even this jaded soul, pick up Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris…. Then draw the blinds and turn off your phone because you will not want any interruptions.”― LitHub (“18 Books You Should Read This August”)
“Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” ―Booklist (starred review)
“Making her smash debut, Paris [keeps] the suspense level high. In the same vein as Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” ―Library Journal (starred review)
“Newlyweds Grace and Jack Angel seem to lead a perfect life in British author Paris’s gripping debut, but appearances can be deceiving...Grace’s terror is contagious, and Millie’s impending peril creates a ticking clock that propels this claustrophobic cat-and-mouse tale toward its grisly, gratifying conclusion.” ―Publishers Weekly
“A frighteningly cool portrait of a serious sadist, Behind Closed Doors is a gripping, claustrophobia-inducing thriller... Read at the risk of running from every handsome British lawyer who crosses your path.” ―Romantic Times
“This book proves that looks are most definitely deceiving...Disturbing, to say the least, readers will definitely be shaken as the story commences and they become immediately absorbed. The writing was incredible, and the pace is quick, offering up too many chills to count...Behind Closed Doors screams: ‘Stay single!’” ―Suspense Magazine
“B.A. Paris’s debut, Behind Closed Doors, is a chilling confirmation of the adage that no one ever really knows what transpires in other people's private lives…. Paris has created one of the most heinous villains in recent memory, upon whom even the most pacifist of readers might wish torturous revenge. They’ll likely remain behind their own closed doors as they race through this thriller to see how, or if, the nightmare ends.” ―Shelf Awareness
"This book just has to be huge in 2016. I flew through it in two breathless sittings. Quite simply: astounding." ―S.J.I. Holliday, author of Black Wood
"This outstanding debut novel will leave you breathless." ―Bella
"This one is 2016's answer to Gone Girl. Nuff said." ―Women's Health UK
"It took me just an afternoon to read this book and by the end, my heart was pounding. If you like fast and frantic stories, you'll love this." ―The Sun
"Behind Closed Doors is an intriguing, sharply gripping debut thriller." ―Lovereading.co.uk
"An utterly compelling journey through the darker side of the human psyche. Your blood will run cold but you won't be able to stop reading, I promise you that." ―Sarah Harper, Lovereading reviewer
"This has been one of my best reads EVER and will be huge in 2016. Congratulations to B A Paris on a remarkable debut book." ―Shelley Bennett, The Book Club member

About the Author

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author B. A. PARIS grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. Behind Closed Doors is her first novel.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...