September 11, 2020

#BookReview: These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin






Synopsis: Anyone can ask the Red Court for a favor...but every request comes at a cost. And once the deed is done, you're forever in their debt.

Whenever something scandalous happens at Heller High, the Red Court is the name on everyone's lips. Its members--the most elite female students in the school--deal out social ruin and favors in equal measure, their true identities a secret known only to their ruthless leader: the Queen of Hearts.

Sixteen-year-old Ember Williams has seen firsthand the damage the Red Court can do. Two years ago, they caused the accident that left her older sister paralyzed. Now, Ember is determined to hold them accountable...by taking the Red Court down from the inside.

But crossing enemy lines will mean crossing moral boundaries, too--ones Ember may never be able to come back from. She always knew taking on the Red Court would come at a price, but will the cost of revenge be more than she's willing to sacrifice?


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ⭐
My Review: I fell in love with this cover and contacted the author about coming on the show. Well sadly this book just wasn't for me.  It was a dark contemporary mean girls tale that was far closer to the Mean Girls movie than it should have been.  I didn't connect to the main character and I just felt like this didn't bring anything new to the world of mean girls getting what they deserve.  The pacing was done pretty good and the start of the book was fabulous. I mean it was crazy.  You start your Monday off with a car soaked in blood. You can't get more creepy than that.  


This story just lacked that spark to keep me interested and in parts it felt like the story had gotten going long before I started it.  Which again made the story feel off.  I know that this is only the author's second book and I have to say that it really shows.  It didn't feel very well refined.  And after about 60 pages I just had to put it down.  



Go Into This One Knowing: To close to mean girls movie, lacks good plot 







Review

“Ember draws readers into the drama of finding the members of the Red Court… Recommend this to fans of E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and Daisy Whitney’s The Mockingbirds.” –School Library Journal

“Laurin has crafted a well plotted suspense novel that's all the more powerful because the reader can sense from the beginning how destructive and seductive power can be.... Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, this will keep readers rapt.” –Booklist

“Laurin’s novel tackles the destructive power of high school bullying through characters who are compelling in their complexity.” –Kirkus Reviews

These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin is an enthralling thriller, filled with riveting revenge, tantalizing tension, and enough intrigue to keep readers turning pages long into the night… Sometimes a book comes along and smacks you in the face with how good of a read it is. These Vengeful Hearts is that kind of book.”–The Nerd Daily

About the Author

Katherine Laurin lives in Colorado with her husband, two sons and tiny dog. When she's not writing, Katherine enjoys reading, traveling, hiking and listening to true crime podcasts.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...