September 19, 2020

#BookReview: These Vengeful Hearts by @writerkatherine






Synopsis: Anyone can ask the Red Court for a favor...but every request comes at a cost. And once the deed is done, you're forever in their debt.

Whenever something scandalous happens at Heller High, the Red Court is the name on everyone's lips. Its members--the most elite female students in the school--deal out social ruin and favors in equal measure, their true identities a secret known only to their ruthless leader: the Queen of Hearts.

Sixteen-year-old Ember Williams has seen firsthand the damage the Red Court can do. Two years ago, they caused the accident that left her older sister paralyzed. Now, Ember is determined to hold them accountable...by taking the Red Court down from the inside.

But crossing enemy lines will mean crossing moral boundaries, too--ones Ember may never be able to come back from. She always knew taking on the Red Court would come at a price, but will the cost of revenge be more than she's willing to sacrifice?


Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
My Review: 
I was a little hesitant to start this book after seeing the mixed reviews but I was drawn to the beautiful cover so I gave it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised by the story. It did have a mean girls type of theme but that was part of why I loved it. I loved the whole secret society part of it as well. Watching the main character Ember struggle with enjoying what she's doing and feeling bad about hurting people made her feel a little relatable to me, I think I would have hated her if she hadn't felt bad about what she was doing. I would have liked to have seen more as far as why they picked people that she was close to for her jobs, I feel like that part and the end were a little rushed. Overall, I highly enjoyed the story and hope that there's a sequel after that ending. 







Review

“Ember draws readers into the drama of finding the members of the Red Court… Recommend this to fans of E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and Daisy Whitney’s The Mockingbirds.” –School Library Journal

“Laurin has crafted a well plotted suspense novel that's all the more powerful because the reader can sense from the beginning how destructive and seductive power can be.... Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, this will keep readers rapt.” –Booklist

“Laurin’s novel tackles the destructive power of high school bullying through characters who are compelling in their complexity.” –Kirkus Reviews

These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin is an enthralling thriller, filled with riveting revenge, tantalizing tension, and enough intrigue to keep readers turning pages long into the night… Sometimes a book comes along and smacks you in the face with how good of a read it is. These Vengeful Hearts is that kind of book.”–The Nerd Daily

About the Author

Katherine Laurin lives in Colorado with her husband, two sons and tiny dog. When she's not writing, Katherine enjoys reading, traveling, hiking and listening to true crime podcasts.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...