May 04, 2021

#BookReview: The Reincarnationist Papers by D. Eric Maikranz






Synopsis: Now the major motion picture INFINITE starring Mark Wahlberg

“For fans of The Matrix and Memento, a twisty, exciting adventure!” -Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Outlander series

Discovered as three notebooks in an antique store in Rome at the turn of the millennium, Infinite, previously published as The Reincarnationist Papers, offers a tantalizing glimpse into the Cognomina, a secret society of people who possess total recall of their past lives.

Evan Michaels struggles with being different, with having the complete memories of two other people who lived sequentially before him. He fights loneliness and believes he is unique until he meets Poppy. She recognizes his struggle because she is like him, except that she is much older, remembering seven consecutive lives. But there is something else she must share with Evan--she is a member of the secretive Cognomina. They are, in effect, immortals--compiling experiences and skills over lifetimes into near superhuman abilities that they have used to drive history over centuries.

Poppy invites Evan into the Cognomina, but he must face their tests before entering this mysterious society as their equal.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 💫
My Review: This is one of those books that I think will make an incredible movie.  However the book itself just didn't work for me at all.  The book felt like it was all over the place with flashbacks.  I think those will work out a lot better in movie form. Overall, this story felt very flat and not all that exciting. I didn't really care about the characters either. 







Review

''For fans of The Matrix and Memento, a twisty, exciting adventure!'' --Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Outlander series

''The Reincarnationist Papers is a book sprung from an imaginative premise: the existence of secret society, called Cognomina, whose members have the ability to remember everything from their past lives.'' --O, The Oprah Magazine

''Maikranz's spellbinding dark fantasy debut offers a fresh take on the concept of reincarnation ... Presented as a true account of the Cognomina society unearthed from an antique store in Rome, this nail-biting mystery builds slowly, with Evan's search to understand his identity propelling the plot forward before the action kicks into high gear in the final act. The high stakes and clever premise of Maikranz's thrilling debut successfully evoke a sense of wide-eyed awe.'' --Publishers Weekly

''D. Eric Maikranz has a gift for the suspenseful ... I found the opinions on religion and spirituality from the perspective of immortals very compelling. The story itself was well told and the premise intriguing enough for me to hope for a sequel on the future lives of the members of the Cognomina.'' --Book Junkie Reviews

''Multilayered and complex, The Reincarnationist Papers opens a door into a world that seems both plausible and fantastical. Maikranz succeeds at mixing philosophy and history with a highly suspenseful plot, resulting in a book that's both thought-provoking and entertaining.'' --Sarina Dahlan, author of Reset

About the Author

D. Eric Maikranz has had a multitude of lives in this lifetime. As a world traveler, he was a foreign correspondent while living in Rome, translated for relief doctors during a cholera epidemic, and was once forcefully expelled from the nation of Laos. He has worked as a tour guide, a radio host, a bouncer, and as a Silicon Valley software executive. The Reincarnationist Papers is his first novel, which has been adapted into the Paramount Pictures film Infinite.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...