June 06, 2021

#BookReview: Canadian West Collection (Canadian West #1-6) by Janette Oke

Synopsis: A beloved series from Janette Oke! Nothing in her cultured upbringing prepared Elizabeth for life in the West. The frontier will test this teacher's faith but also stir her heart.

When Calls the Heart
When Comes the Spring
3 When Breaks the Dawn
4 When Hope Springs New
5 Beyond the Gathering Storm
When Tomorrow Comes


Rating: 5 Stars
My Review:  
This collection includes six of Janet Oke's books about the Canadian West and the Royal Mounted Police which inspired a Hallmark Channel series based on the main character Elizabet and titled after book one, When Calls the Heart. If you pick up this series expecting it to be like the TV show, you may be disappointed.  Apart from Elizabeth traveling West to become a school teacher and marrying a Mountie there are not many similarities between the two. With that being said, I did find this entire series to be wholesome and charming. The first four books focus on Elizabeth and Wynn as they go through the struggles of living in the remote North among the Indians and trappers. There is a heavy focus on their faith and religion but not enough to turn me off from the books. I did enjoy the first four books more than the last two which focused more on Elizabeth and Wynn's adopted children Henry and Christine. To me Christine seemed to be a rather weak character and wasn't very pleasant but I still enjoyed the story. I think the ending of the series could have been a little more as it felt like it ended abruptly. Overall I really enjoyed this series and look forward to reading more of Janet Oke's work.


Janette Oke (pronounced 'oak') pioneered inspirational fiction and is the leading author in the category today. Love Comes Softly, her first novel, has sold over one million copies. Janette is now the bestselling author of over 70 books, 32 of which have been translated into fourteen languages. Her books have sold over 22 million copies. 
Janette receives fan mail from all over the world and answers each letter personally. She received the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association for her significant contribution to Christian fiction, the 1999 CBA Life Impact Award and has been awarded the Gold Medallion Award for fiction. Janette and her husband, Edward, have four grown children and enjoy their many grandchildren. They make their home in Canada.

Photo from bakerpublishinggroup.com

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 


Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...