June 08, 2021

#BookReview: Five Ways to Fall Out of Love by Emily Martin






Synopsis: This whip-smart rom-com explores the risks and rewards of letting love in, for fans of Jennifer E. Smith, Julie Buxbaum, and Sandhya Menon.

How do I hate thee? Let me count the ways…

Aubrey Cash learned the hard way not to rely on love. After all, Webster Casey, the new boy next door she’d been falling for all summer, stood her up at homecoming in front of everyone with no explanation. Proving her theory that love never lasts seems easy when she’s faced with parents whose marriage is falling apart and a best friend who thinks every boy she dates is “the one.” But when sparks fly with a boy who turns out to be Webster’s cousin, and then Webster himself becomes her lab partner for the rest of senior year, Aubrey finds her theory—and her commitment to stay single—put to the test.

As she navigates the breakdown of her family, the consequences her cynicism has on her relationship with her best friend, and her own confusing but undeniable feelings for Webster, Aubrey has to ask herself: What really happened the night Webster stood her up? And if there are five ways to fall out of love…could there perhaps be even more ways to fall back in?



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 2 Stars
My Review: Parts of this story felt very under developed and others just felt that these teens just didn't seem right or realistic.  I didn't care for the narrative and the teenage issues.  It all felt like this was more geared towards the lower end of ya.  Which is fine it just wasnt for me.  If you looking for some major teenager angst with 
unbelievable plot then this one might be for you. 





From School Library Journal

Gr 10 Up-When Webster Casey moves in across the street, Aubrey Cash is excited to have made a friend. After spending the summer getting to know him, she asks him to the homecoming dance. When he stands her up, though, she realizes he's not the person she thought he was. Not only does he stop talking to her, but he spends most of their senior year bullying her, leaving Aubrey confused about his former kindness. Then Aubrey starts dating his cousin Holland and realizes what it's like to have someone treat her well. When she finds out why Webster acted the way he did, she must confront new emotions that change her outlook. Though the premise of this story is sweet, its execution falls flat. In the first half of the novel, the characters seem naive and their actions are not always realistic. During the second half, the author suddenly throws in heavy sensual scenes that do not fit the flow of the narrative. The problems that Aubrey faces are relatable and important, but the way her character complains often comes across as whiny. Webster's identity as bisexual, though an important attempt at greater inclusion in the narrative, is poorly developed. Despite the inconsistencies, Martin does a good job at advancing the plot and highlighting the granular level of teenage angst. Main characters are white. VERDICT Books by Julie Buxbaum and Marie Marquardt are better choices, but this is a possible purchase for libraries with a large teen romance following.-Karin Greenberg, Manhasset H.S., NY╬▒(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

“Five ways to fall in love with this book: the witty banter, complex characters, cute dogs, affirming friendships, and exhilarating, please-kiss-already romance. Aubrey is a deeply relatable protagonist, one who is allowed to make mistakes and learn from them. I devoured this smart, charming romantic comedy.” --Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

About the Author

Emily Martin is the author of The Year We Fell Apart, which was a 2017 YALSA Teens’ Top Ten Nominee. When she’s not writing, Emily enjoys baking, hiking, and watching (arguably) too much TV. Emily is originally from Michigan, but currently lives in Boston with her husband, daughter, and Goldendoodle.










Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...