July 27, 2021

#BookReview: One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston






Synopsis: From the New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue comes a new romantic comedy that will stop readers in their tracks...

For cynical twenty-three-year-old August, moving to New York City is supposed to prove her right: that things like magic and cinematic love stories don’t exist, and the only smart way to go through life is alone. She can’t imagine how waiting tables at a 24-hour pancake diner and moving in with too many weird roommates could possibly change that. And there’s certainly no chance of her subway commute being anything more than a daily trudge through boredom and electrical failures.

But then, there’s this gorgeous girl on the train.

Jane. Dazzling, charming, mysterious, impossible Jane. Jane with her rough edges and swoopy hair and soft smile, showing up in a leather jacket to save August’s day when she needed it most. August’s subway crush becomes the best part of her day, but pretty soon, she discovers there’s one big problem: Jane doesn’t just look like an old school punk rocker. She’s literally displaced in time from the 1970s, and August is going to have to use everything she tried to leave in her own past to help her. Maybe it’s time to start believing in some things, after all.

Casey McQuiston’s One Last Stop is a magical, sexy, big-hearted romance where the impossible becomes possible as August does everything in her power to save the girl lost in time.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 3 Stars
My Review:  
This one was slightly disappointing to me.  There was a lot that I loved about it such as the characters and they way they interact with each other. The sarcasm and banter between them is hilarious.  And the romances are so sweet. But the pacing tended to be a little slow and it felt like it drug on for too long. I think if it was a little shorter or faster paced it would have held my attention more. Overall though I did enjoy it and would love to read more from this author.







Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of June 2021: The author of 2019’s Red, White & Royal Blue sets her sophomore novel far from royal estates—on the Q train in Brooklyn, in fact. When August moves to New York to finish college and escape her mom, she doesn’t have expectations beyond earning her degree and enough to pay the rent. But soon she’s intrigued by Jane, an open, electrifying young woman whom August encounters on the Q train, and who seems too good to be real. As little clues start to pile up, August begins to wonder if indeed reality and Jane don’t mix. One Last Stop leans into friendship, found families, and unexpected love, offering an unforgettable heart-warmer that makes even New York City’s subway seem magical. —Adrian Liang, Amazon Book Review

Review

*NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
*USA TODAY BESTSELLER*
*WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER*
*#1 INDIE BESTSELLER*


A *Must Read* for: 
The Today Show, E! Online, Marie Claire, Elle, Time, CNN, Lambda Literary, Pop Sugar, Oprah Daily, Advocate, She Reads, Bookish, The Nerd Daily, Book Riot, Bookpage, The Rumpus, Book Bub, LGBTQReads, Culturess, Pajiba, Goodreads, LA Magazine, Country Living, NewNowNext, Bustle, Parade, Pride, and more!


"Absolutely brilliant." The New York Times

"One Last Stop is an earnest reminder that home ― whether that means a time, a place, or a person ― is worth fighting for." - New York Magazine

"The story of August and Jane's chance meeting is swoony, thoughtful, and one of those big-hearted romances you'll gush about long after finishing." - Hello Sunshine

"This delightful love story is everything you need for a feel-good day of beach reading." - Elle

"Casey McQuiston has done it again." - Hypable

"One Last Stop is an electrifying romance that synapses into the dreamy "Hot Person Summer" kind of story you wish you were a part of. McQuiston is leading the charge for inclusive happy-ever-afters, radiant with joy and toe-curling passion, and bursting with the creative range to make anything from electricity to social activism sound sexy." - NPR

"A dazzling romance, filled with plenty of humor and heart." - Time

"To say that Casey McQuiston's latest novel is so electrifyingly fun and swoon-worthy that you'll miss your subway stop while reading it is probably a little on the nose, but whatever...One Last Stop is a heart-thawing ode to the impossible magic of New York, and will even leave you feeling somehow wistful for the MTA (yes, really)." - Oprahmag.com

“The most buzz-worthy book this season.” - The Young Folks

“Sure to be one of the biggest hits of the summer and beyond.” - Book Reporter

"This one's sexy, swoon-worthy, and just made for summer reading." - Good Housekeeping

"One Last Stop is the time-slip sapphic rom-com in book form that mixes real-life queer history with 2020 escapism you'll want to hold onto forever." - Pop Sugar

"A funny, modern, and entertaining novel, One Last Stop will have you rooting for love that makes people feel free to be their truest selves." - Shondaland

"Come for sweet romance, stay for the bridge scene and the breakfast sandwich recipe." - Real Simple

"Queers, complicated family relationships, romance, time travel, and Brooklyn... what’s not to like? From the author of the frothy and yet incredibly compelling Red, White & Royal Blue comes an equally improbable and equally delightful summer romance story that somehow feels timeless." - VICE

"Casey McQuiston doesn’t miss: Those who read and loved Red, White & Royal Blue will also fall for One Last Stop, another rom-com told from the perspective of an enchanting protagonist who has no idea what awaits them. One Last Stop is the perfect summer romance." - Bitch Media

"
Overwhelmingly, it's the slow burn discoveries and the risks we see the characters become brave enough to take that make One Last Stop such a moving and transportative read...It's a very particular feeling to be in a room where joy and community and good humor are all palpable. How remarkable then, that One Last Stop takes you to so many such spaces – apartments, drag bars, diners, and so many subway cars, tunnels and bridges – and lets the reader bask in the love that lives, is remembered, and is cultivated there." - Austin Chronicle

"Bursting with heart, snappy banter and a deep respect for queer history and community, One Last Stop isn’t just another surefire hit for McQuiston. It also might be the best read of the summer." - BookPage (starred review) 

"[A] love story on all levels, one that marvels at the magic of human connection and is unabashedly romantic." - Booklist (starred review)

"Both a satisfying romance and a heartwarming, realistic coming-of-age tale, McQuiston’s latest book features finely drawn, fully realized characters, a healthy dose of speculative mystery, and a soupc¸on of true crime. It will appeal to a wide range of readers and is essential for public library collections." - Library Journal (starred review)

"McQuiston’s joyful sophomore romp mixes all the elements that made Red, White & Royal Blue so outstanding―quirky characters, coming-of-age confusion, laugh-out-loud narration, and hilarious pop-cultural references―into something totally its own...With all the fun and camp of a drag show (of which this novel features more than one) but grounded in the tenderness of first love, this time-slip rom-com is an absolute delight." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"[A] a moving look at the strength of true love even when faced with seemingly insurmountable obstacles." - Kirkus

"Red, White & Royal Blue was all I could talk about for three blissful months and now I'm downright giddy to start the process all over again with One Last Stop, McQuiston's second novel. It's just as queer, just as romantic, and just as thrilling of a read. I mean, lesbians and time travel. What's not to love?" - Advocate

"McQuiston’s witty writing, hilarious and familiar side characters, and gorgeous slow-burn romance is just *chef’s kiss*. And this city is magical, so it works perfectly." - Tor.com

"Readers who loved Red, White & Royal Blue won’t want to miss Casey McQuiston’s next book: a queer Kate & Leopold retelling about a 23-year-old who discovers that the subway cutie she’s been crushing on is from another time." - Bookish

“Casey McQuiston writes the stories I grew up dying to read―the ones I’m still dying to read. One Last Stop is passionate, funny, romantic & exactly as queer as I am: VERY. You’ll read this in a single sitting and miss August & Jane when it’s over. Don’t miss this book!” - Cameron Esposito, bestselling author of Save Yourself

"One Last Stop is a simply stunning book. It's tender and honest at every turn. Reading this book healed something in me that I didn't know was hurting, and fed something in me that I didn't know was hungry. It's perfect, perfect, perfect." - Sarah Gailey, Hugo award-winning author of Upright Women Wanted

"Dreamy, other worldly, smart, swoony, thoughtful, hilarious - all in all, exactly what you'd expect from Casey McQuiston!" - Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding Date and Party for Two

"A breathtaking love story, filled with heart, yearning, coming of age, and the most wonderful found family. Honest, often humorous, always relevant, McQuiston's writing reads like poetry. One Last Stopis meant to be savored slowly." - Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Kiss Quotient and The Heart Principle

"McQuiston’s One Last Stop is an exquisite sophomore novel exploring love and its power to reach across time and space. This romance proves that an instant electric connection can develop into the most beautiful happily-ever-afters." - Roselle Lim, author of Vanessa Yu's Magical Paris Tea Shop

"If magic and delight had a baby, it would be this book." - Julia Whelan, author of My Oxford Year

"Casey McQuiston once again creates a world you don't want to leave, filled with a vibrant cast of queer characters and a couple you root for from the beginning. Casey's writing is so good it seems only natural to be jealous, but I can't bring myself to be anything but glad readers get to enjoy their work." - Meryl Wilsner, author of Something to Talk About










Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...