July 17, 2021

#BookReview: Small Favors by Erin A. Craig






Synopsis: Ellerie Downing lives in the quiet town of Amity Falls in the Blackspire Mountain range--five narrow peaks stretching into the sky like a grasping hand, bordered by a nearly impenetrable forest from which the early townsfolk fought off the devils in the woods. To this day, visitors are few and rare. But when a supply party goes missing, some worry that the monsters that once stalked the region have returned.

As fall turns to winter, more strange activities plague the town. They point to a tribe of devilish and mystical creatures who promise to fulfill the residents' deepest desires, however grand and impossible, for just a small favor. But their true intentions are much more sinister, and Ellerie finds herself in a race against time before all of Amity Falls, her family, and the boy she loves go up in flames.
 



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 3 Stars
My Review: 
This was a story that felt very vintage. It gave the feel from the movie The Village which was great. I loved the mystery and the characters but sadly the story itself was just boring. At around a 100 pages in I DNFed it. I was so bored out of my mind. I wished that the pacing would have been faster and just more. This authors other book I devoured so fast and this one just so slow that I lost interest and had to put it down.









Praise for SMALL FAVORS:

“If you’re looking for a book to give you goosebumps as you read, you’re going to want to add this one to your TBR!”—The Nerd Daily 

"A chilling tale about what lurks in the shadows of the people you think you know."—TOR 

“Full of beasts, bargains, and blood, Small Favors is a folk horror tale that feels like a classic but is utterly fresh. Sweet, dark, and complex as wildflower honey.”—Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf 

"A deliciously dark fairy tale filled with bone-chilling horror and breathtaking romance that will keep you turning the pages long into the night."—Kara Thomas, author of The Cheerleaders 

“As dark and romantic as it haunting, Small Favors is an eerie fairytale that I couldn’t put down.”—Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching 

"An engrossing combination of the supernatural and human psychology."—Kirkus 

"Small Favors is as much about humanity as it is about horror. Perfect for readers who love mysteries and the macabre."—BookPage 

"Fans of Brenna Yovanoff and Erin Bowman will enjoy this lushly built, ominous rural America."PW 

"Craig twists a slow-burn fairy tale around classic horror tropes that ultimately land on satisfying beats."—SLJ 

Praise for HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS:

Hauntingatmospheric, and immersive.”--Bustle

“Nothing short of both haunting and mesmerizing. . .a perfect step into escapism and away from real life.”--Hypable

"It’s a fairy tale, a young-adult romance (though gothic enough for adult readers) and a whodunit too."--The Wall Street Journal

"Chilling and atmospheric."--Laura E. Weymouth, author of The Light Between Worlds

"Evocative details and lyrical, moody prose  . . . a richly conceived story that blends mythic and Gothic storytelling."--PW

"The novel’s vivid, evocative atmosphere will please fans of the gothic . . . chills aplenty."--The Bulletin

"Equal parts gothic fairy tale and romance . . . compulsively readable."—SLJ

"This moody maritime retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses blends elements of suspense and horror for a gothic twist on a familiar tale. A memorably built world populated with a hauntingly doomed family."--Booklist

About the Author

Erin A. Craig is the New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows. After getting her BFA in Theatre Design and Production from the University of Michigan, she stage-managed tragic operas filled with hunchbacks, séances, and murderous clowns, then decided she wanted to write books that were just as spooky. An avid reader, an embroidery enthusiast, a rabid basketball fan, and a collector of typewriters, Erin makes her home in West Michigan with her husband and daughter.

erinacraig.com
@Penchant4Words on Twitter and Instagram









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...