September 12, 2021

#BookReview: Ariadne by @jennysaint






Synopsis: As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur - Minos's greatest shame and Ariadne's brother - demands blood every year.

When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods - drawing their attention can cost you everything.

In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne's decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover's ambition?

Ariadne gives a voice to the forgotten women of one of the most famous Greek myths, and speaks to their strength in the face of angry, petulant Gods. Beautifully written and completely immersive, this is an exceptional debut novel.

A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCEA SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 5 Stars
My Review: This is a captivating story that I loved from the very first page.  The story was lyrical and beautiful and you should totally read this one! I love mythology and this one leaped off the pages! This retelling that if you love stories that stay true to their mythologies then check this one out. 




Review

A Most Anticipated Book (Bustle, Buzzfeed, PopSugar, Goodreads)
IndieNext Pick

Beautifully written and nuancedAriadne explores the bonds between women and their epic quest for agency in patriarchal Greek society.”
BuzzFeed

"Circe fans would do well to take note."
Bustle 

If you loved Madeline Miller’s Circe, then you have to check out Ariadne by Jennifer Saint.”
PopSugar

“Saint’s immersive novel thrusts the reader straight into the heart of Greek mythology with this wonderful reimagining of the story of Ariadne.”
The Independent (UK)

“A lyrical, insightful re-telling.”
The Daily Mail

“Energetic and compelling.”
The Times (UK)

“Captivating…Saint’s mesmerizingly beautiful prose makes Ariadne a fascinating read.”
The Nerd Daily 

“An illuminating read.”
Woman & Home

Relevant and revelatory.”
Stylist (UK)

“A beautiful epic…In a world ruled by temperamental, petulant gods, Ariadne is a shining beacon of female strength and courage―making this a story that’s impossible to forget.”
―CultureFly (UK)

Enchanting…Saint expertly highlights how often the women of this world pay the price for the actions of the men around them. Lovers of mythology should snap this up.”
Publishers Weekly

Complex―and bold…Fans of Madeline Miller's Circe will enjoy this faithful retelling that centers the often-forgotten women of Greek myth.”
Booklist 

"Ariadne is a shimmering tapestry of two sisters bound by deceit and the shadows of family history. One marries a hero, the other a god. As their lives criss-cross through girlhood and womanhood, the secrets that their husbands keep become a monstrous backdrop to their relationship. With a fresh voice and keen insight, Saint adds flesh and bone to an ancient myth, drawing the reader into an uneasy world of ever-afters."
―Yangsze Choo, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Tiger 

“An ancient story of love and sisterhood reimagined, Jennifer Saint's Ariadne is a truly masterful debut―compulsive, absorbing and lyrical. Saint breathes new life into the forgotten women of Greek mythology with a novel that's both incredibly absorbing, and full of heart.” ―Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Due to a lifelong fascination with Ancient Greek mythology, Jennifer Saint read Classical Studies at King’s College, London. She spent the next thirteen years as an English teacher, sharing a love of literature and creative writing with her students. Ariadne is her first novel, and she is working on another retelling of an ancient myth for her second, revolving around Clytemnestra and her daughter Electra. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.










Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...