February 28, 2022

#BookReview: Blood Heir (Blood Heir Trilogy #1) by Amélie Wen Zhao






Synopsis: In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled. Their varied gifts to control the world around them are deemed unnatural--even dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, is one of the most terrifying Affinites.

Ana's ability to control blood has long been kept secret, but when her father, the emperor, is murdered, she is the only suspect. Now, to save her own life, Ana must find her father's killer. But the Cyrilia beyond the palace walls is one where corruption rules and a greater conspiracy is at work--one that threatens the very balance of Ana's world.

There is only one person corrupt enough to help Ana get to the conspiracy's core: Ramson Quicktongue. Ramson is a cunning crime lord with sinister plans--though he might have met his match in Ana. Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of all.
 



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 1 Star
My Review: It's you not me.  This book started out so well! I was engaged, I was hooked! Then it came for the core of the story to start and I was bored out of my mind.  I was like it would have been better if the Moon bear would have attacked them in the woods.  The rest of the story was so slow and boring that I wouldn't have cared if all the characters died a horrible death. 











Review

Zhao shines in the fast-paced and vivid combat scenes, which lend a cinematic quality that pulls readers in.”—NYT Book Review

Blood Heir is cinematic storytelling at its best. A stunning new voice in YA, Amélie Wen Zhao has drawn characters who are as complex and captivating as the fantastical world she’s built. Get ready for a retelling like you’ve never seen before.” 
Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep and The Girl the Sea Gave Back

“Sure to keep readers turning pages…. Perfect for fans of Amy Tintera or Sarah J. Maas, but readers should prepare for plenty of heartbreak.” — Booklist

"[A] pointed exploration into the consequences of exploitation and the defining nature of choices." — Publishers Weekly

"Ana is not the typical damsel in distress." — Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Amélie Wen Zhao was born in Paris and grew up in Beijing in an international community. Her multicultural upbringing instilled in her a deep love of global affairs and cross-cultural perspectives. She seeks to bring this passion to her stories, crafting characters from kingdoms in different corners of the world. She attended college in New York City, where she now lives. Amélie is the author of Blood Heir and Red Tigress.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...