March 03, 2022

#BookReview: The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta






Synopsis: A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring the Dreamers to a permanent end—an opportunity Indir will give him if he discovers the two secrets she is struggling to keep. As violent change shakes Indir’s world to its core, she is forced to make an impossible choice: fight for her home or fight to survive.

Saya is a seer, but not a Dreamer—she has never been formally trained. Her mother exploits her daughter’s gift, passing it off as her own as they travel from village to village, never staying in one place too long. Almost as if they’re running from something. Almost as if they’re being hunted. When Saya loses the necklace she’s worn since birth, she discovers that seeing isn’t her only gift—and begins to suspect that everything she knows about her life has been a carefully-constructed lie. As she comes to distrust the only family she’s ever known, Saya will do what she’s never done before, go where she’s never been, and risk it all in the search of answers.

With a detailed, supernaturally-charged setting and topical themes of patriarchal power and female strength, The Lost Dreamer brings an ancient world to life, mirroring the challenges of our modern one.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 3 Stars
My Review: A dual POV takes us on an adventure of a dreamer with a gift and someone who has lot the ability to dream.  I will say that I loved one story over the other.  I think that the other POV needed some work to make it more interesting.  However, I did like that we didn't get a lot of back story or info dumping.  You are thrown right into the story and get going.  Overall I think this one might be better to grab from the library etc before committing to it fully.  Ive read a few books that do this story just a little better.  However I do think that some readers will really enjoy this one. 











Review

A "Most Anticipated 2022" selection by Buzzfeed, TOR.com, HipLatina, The Portalist, The Nerd Daily, and Forever Young Adult!

“A transcendent story of community, sisterhood, and resilience set in a richly drawn world. Lizz Huerta is a powerful new voice in fantasy.” ―Katy Rose Pool, author of There Will Come a Darkness

“Lizz Huerta’s radiant debut reminds us that our power is in our own instincts, even in moments of chaotic change.” ―Xochitl Gonz├ílez, author of Olga Dies Dreaming

“Next Spring's buzziest fantasy debut.” Entertainment Weekly

"Glorious worldbuilding and powerful leads make this a can't-miss read!" ―Buzzfeed

"Perfect for readers who love rich worldbuilding and want to see patriarchal systems burn down." ―The Portalist

About the Author

Lizz Huerta is a widely-admired Mexi-Rican short story writer and essayist, published in LightspeedThe CutThe Portland ReviewThe RumpusMiami Rail, and more. Her short story “The Wall” is included in the anthology A People’s Future of the United States. Huerta has also been a 2018 Bread Loaf Fellow, a five-time VONA Fellow, and the winner of the LUMINA fiction contest, selected by Roxane Gay, who called her writing “a menacing inescapable seduction.” She has appeared on CSPAN’s BookTV to discuss the erasure of Mexican American Studies in Arizona, and has taught creative writing to homeless youth through San Diego nonprofit So Say We All.









Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...