March 02, 2015

3 Star #Review #Giveaway of Rooms by Lauren Oliver

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Deliriumtrilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways 

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. 

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. 

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.
 About the Author

Biography

Lauren Oliver is the author of the New York Times bestselling YA novels Before I Fall, which was published in 2010; Panic; and the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. She is a 2012 E.B. White Read-Aloud Award nominee for her middle-grade novel Liesl & Po, as well as author of the fantasy middle-grade novel The Spindlers. Panic, which was published in March 2014, has been optioned by Universal Pictures in a major deal. Her first novel for adults, Rooms, was published in late September 2014. Upcoming in March 2015 will be Vanishing Girls, a gripping YA novel. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU's MFA program, Lauren Oliver is also the co-founder of the boutique literary development company Paper Lantern Lit. You can visit her online at www.laurenoliverbooks.com




Dysfunctional family abounds in this new book by Lauren Oliver.  They really make my family look sane.  This book was on the weird end as the residence ghosts watch everything unfold.  It starts out with someone talking about burning down their house and dying.  Then switches to two ghosts talking about where the resident is going to die.  It was very very weird after that. 

There are like 6 POVs in this book all in different tenses.  At times it was confusing but I got through it.  Just make sure to pay attention. There is also a lot of backstory though out this book.  Which really slowed it down.  It was also somewhat boring in parts.  

All in all if you like this kind of thing then check it out. If not pass it by. 


 Go Into This One Knowing 
Weird!











"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 









 






 a Rafflecopter giveaway


 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. If you can not see the link above you will need to turn off your spam blocker. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways.





  Love doing your nails? Well find a new way to do it without all the smell and fuss! Jamberry nail wraps are the way to go! They are vinyl wraps that no dry time and are sold for $15 a sheet that will get you 2 manicures and 2 pedicures! And you can even buy them Buy 3 Get 1 Free! http://crossroads.jamberrynails.net 

The best part is if you buy from me I will send you a loyalty card. And when you fill it up you get free products! Want more for free? Well host a party! Its free and It can even be done online! http://crossroads.jamberrynails.net/host/
https://www.facebook.com/CrossroadReview

4 comments:

Tiffany Mahaffy said...

To be honest I don't know. Does Anna Dressed in Blood count? I really loved that book. Same with Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. I'm not sure if that's what you were looking for but they were the first two books with ghosts that I could think of... Thanks for the chance to win <3
Rafflecopter name: Elizabeth Holme

Rachael Rivera said...

Honestly, the last scary ghost like book I read was in Elementary School and it was Scary Stories to Read in the Dark, if I remember correctly.

Thais Pampado said...

I really liked Bad Girls Don't Die too! Possessions by Nancy Holder is also great.

Paola Rocha said...

I haven't read ghosts books that much, just like little stories and stuff. But Im sure that Lauren should have done a good job on this book.

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...