February 10, 2019

#AYearOfEpicReads Hosted @EpicReads Retellings with @MeaganSpooner @BrigidKemmerer

Did you know that Epic Reads has a facebook group?  Well they do and its amazing!! Each week you get a prompt to read a book in a given theme!  This week is Retellings! I am so excited for this one! As there are a ton of different retellings out there that I would love to dive into! But on my list I have 2 books that I am going to try and get done this week for this prompt! 
Want to join the official group for our Year of Epic Reads! 

Here is a little about the group! 
We hope you’re ready, because 2019 is the year we’re going to positively crush that TBR pile. You all know by now that we’re a very ambitious bookish bunch, so we decided that we wanted to turn that into something we could do with all of you!
We’re setting this up so that no matter how safe or lofty your goal—whether it’s 4, 12, or 52 books—you can read along. Your first step? Decide what reading track you want to be on:


• Quarterly: I want to read a new book every season!

• Monthly: I want to read a new book every month!

• Weekly: I want to read a new book every week!


Along the way, feel free to use this as a forum to chat with one another, gather book recommendations, and discuss all the amazing books you’ll be reading for each challenge theme! Plus, we’ll be popping in with giveaways, polls, bonus videos, and so much more. Make sure you always check the pinned post, and definitely save the current graphic so you don’t lose track.
Lastly, and maybe most importantly, turn your notifications on and get ready for your Year of Epic Reads to kick off! We’ll be *book shimmying* with you soon.


So what am I reading for this weeks prompt? 

A Curse So Dark and Lovely by Brigid Kemmerer

Click Here To Buy
In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.



Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.
Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.
Break the curse, save the kingdom.
A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.


Sherwood by Meagan Spooner


Robin of Locksley is dead. 
Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancĂ©. 
Who is there to stop them? 
Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.



Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...