April 10, 2020

#BookTour: What I Like About Me by @JennaGuillaume @PeachtreePub



You know all those movies where teenagers have, like, THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES? This vacation is probably not going to be that.

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she'd be doing over vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she's spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie's already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she's always loved. But Maisie's got something to prove.


As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn't let anything, or anyone, hold her back.


Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.





Welcome to the What I Like About Me Blog Tour!

To celebrate the US release of What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume on April 1st, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive original content from Jenna, as well as 10 chances to win a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror, as well as one grand prize giveaway of a book, mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses!




Rating: ★★★★
My Review: This one would be perfect for those who are fans of Dumplin, Faith and others that are about body positivity.  I loved how the story unfolded and the characters were so good.  This book is great for right now because it will take you to the backdrop of Australia!  Super Adorable and Cute!!

Follow Jenna: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook


Follow Peachtree Publishing: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

5 Writing Tips for When You Have No Idea What You're Doing (AKA Always)
by Jenna Guillaume

1. Just write 
I know this sounds so basic, but it’s harder than it seems. There’s a reason you often hear “you can’t edit a blank page.” It’s simple and obvious, but it strikes at the heart of a problem many writers face: procrastination. It’s not even necessarily the kind of procrastination where you’re lazy or bored. For me, procrastination often stems from my anxiety and perfectionism. I’m so overwhelmed with the possibility that I’ll make a mess of my story it can stop me from starting it or moving forward with it.

The only way around this kind of hesitation is, of course, to actually just move forward with it. Acknowledge that yes, your story will probably be a mess on the page—but it’s better than nothing on the page. Once you have something down, you can go back and fix it, as many times as you need to. You’ve got to ignore the voice in your head that tells you that you can’t do the thing, and just do the thing. Just write.

2. Figure out what works for you
There’s a lot of writing advice floating around—whether it be through courses, books, or lists on the internet like this very one. The thing is, there are as many different ways to write a book as there are writers. There is no right or wrong way to do it, and what works for one writer might not work for you. Listen to advice, try it out, but if it doesn’t work for you, don’t be disheartened. Find your own way through trial and error, and don’t be too hard on yourself.

3. Consume stories 
If you want to write fiction, it’s vital that you also consume it. Every writer will tell you to read, and read widely. Read outside of the genre you write. Read good books. Read bad books. Every single one will teach you something—even if it’s what not to do. The key is to be a conscious reader: take note of your reactions and try to unpack why the book caused you to think and feel a certain way. Think about the techniques the writer used to elicit that response.

Beyond reading, pay attention to other art forms, whatever they may be. Some writers are inspired by music. I personally watch a lot of TV and movies, and while some (ahem, Stephen King) will tell you this is wasted time that could be used for reading and writing, I would argue that they can actually teach you a lot about narrative, characterisation, and genre. Or at least, that’s what I tell myself as I rewatch Skins and Jane the Virgin for the 37th time.

Really, it’s all about what nourishes your creative energy.

4. Forget what everyone else is doing
I touched upon this regarding writing advice, but it applies to so many other aspects of writing (and life). There are always going to be people who can write faster or better than you, who get published before you, who earn more than you, who get to travel more, receive better reviews, and so on and so on. Comparing yourself to others is the enemy of happiness AND productivity. Focus on your own writing and your own journey, and try not to let your competitive instincts get the better of you.

5. Find your people
Writing is a solitary pursuit, which is why it’s so important to surround yourself with people who are supportive and understanding. They might be other writers, they might be readers, or just friends who get it, but either way, when you’re on the floor having a meltdown because the words just won’t come (*ahem* not that I’ve had personal experience with this), you need at least one person in your life who can pick you up and tell you it’ll be okay.

By the same token, it’s important to be selective of who your early readers are. They should be people who know what a first draft means—not a perfect story, but a potential story. They’re the kind of readers who can give you positive feedback and gentle, constructive criticism that will help make the story better.

In writing, as in life, you should surround yourself with people who can help you through the tricky times, and celebrate the good stuff with you. It makes it so much easier and way more fun.


*****

Blog Tour Schedule:

March 30th - BookHoundsYA
March 31st - Sprinkles of Dreams

April 1st - The Fandom
April 2nd - Fangirlish
April 3rd - Word Spelunking

April 6th - Julie Caught Reading
April 7th - A Dream Within a Dream
April 8th - Mundie Moms
April 9th - Good Choice Reading
April 10th - Crossroad Reviews


“This is the book I would hand to teen me.”
—Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Funny and heartfelt. I loved it." 
—Melina Marchetta, author of On the Jellicoe Road

“Debut author Guillaume's novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own….Perfect for fans of Dumplin’, a hilariously sweet yet complex romance.” 
Kirkus Reviews




About the Author
Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for BuzzFeed Australia, where she wrote about pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and, most importantly, Chris Hemsworth’s biceps. Previously, she worked in the features department of Girlfriend magazine in Australia, writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She also contributed to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl’s completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years. Guillaume lives in Australia. Visit her website at jennaguillaume.com.



GIVEAWAY

  • 10 winners will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One winner will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me, WILAM pocket mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...