June 04, 2021

#BookReview: Ember of Night (Ember of Night #1) by Molly E. Lee






Synopsis: I am a weed.

Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic dad. Unwanted by my classmates. Unnoticed by everyone else.

But I’d suffer anything to give my kid sister a better life—the minute I turn eighteen, I’m getting us the hell out of here. And some hot stranger telling me I am the key to stopping a war between Heaven and Hell isn’t going to change that.

Let the world crumble and burn, for all I care.

Draven is relentless, though. And very much a liar. Every time his sexy lips are moving, I can see it—in the dip of his head, the grit of his jaw—even if my heart begs me to ignore the signs.

So what does he want?

I need to figure it out fast, because now everyone is gunning for me. And damn if I don’t want to show them what happens when you let weeds thrive in the cracks of the pavement…

We can grow powerful enough to shatter the whole foundation.



Goodreads
Amazon

Rating: 4 Stars
My Review: Who hasn't felt like a weed?  I know I have on occasion. This book doesn't pull any punches and lets it all go at the start of the story with a massive trigger warning that you should read. There is a ton of action in this one and it was almost too much.  I felt that the pacing was a little off. As it would hype way up then way down all thought the story.  Which in itself isn't a bad thing.  This one had a lot of twists and turns. But I just kept feeling that parts of this one felt like it was for lower young adult and other parts was for older young adult.  So it messed with my enjoyment just a smidge. Overall the story was really good and I will read the next one. 




Go Into This One Knowing:  thoughts of suicide, child abuse, alcoholism, violence. 






Review

"[A] lively, imaginative love story with plenty of hellishenergy." -Kirkus Reviews
 
"I had to sit and process this book for a good, long while after Ifinished. The last paragraph of this book had me shaking in my boots. I didn'teven know how to handle it. What a way to end a book! I am gobsmacked bythat ending. Wow." -Brittany Z., Goodreads
 
"Ember of Night is a is a wonderful and incredibly rich fantasynovel, so well built and fast paced that I wasn't able to put it down tillI reached the end. I was absolutely captivated by the atmosphere, and thecharacters." -Amanda M., NetGalley
 
"An intense, suspenseful, and immersive urban fantasy."-Julie P., NetGalley

"This is definitely a MUST READ!" -Graces_Waffles, Instagram

 
"What a fantastic YA read. Ember of Night was is such anoriginal idea full of twists you'll never see coming. This book was full ofaction, characters you fall in love with, characters to hate, a romance toadore, and so much more." -Chey W., NetGalley
 
"I am DYING for the sequel!" -lastpagepromise,Instagram 
 
"Ember of Night is a powerhouse YA fantasy debut, and I highlyrecommend it for all fans of YA fantasy.I am giving it 5 fantastic stars!" -Leighton S., NetGalley
 
"I am honestly OBSESSED!" - heypeaches.books,Instagram 
 
"Don't miss this adventure filled with the paranormal andromance--and boy that end will blow your mind!" -Melissa M., Goodreads
 
"Believe me when I say that the book will have you hanging onto the edge of your seat!" -mattheasbookshelf, Instagram 
 
"So addicting that I had to just keep going back to it so Icould finish and know what happened to everyone. I am very excited for thesequel and seeing what else happens in this world!" -JoAnna H., NetGalley
 
"All the characters are endearing and unique and Harley is afierce character that everyone will cheer for." -Kaitlin K., NetGalley
 
"It's a romance, it's a new type of fantasy, it's crazily enoughsort of realistic- but all around fun and an enjoyable read." -AlexisS., Goodreads
 
"This book is perfect for fans of Tracy Wolff and Jennifer L.Armentrout. I loved the fast paced writing style, and the dynamic betweenHarley and Draven. I cannot wait for the next book to come!" -Courtney C.,Goodreads
 
"Ember of Night is full of twists turns and never-ending action.The main character Harley is tough as nails, yet full of love, compassion and aspirit that drew me to her from the start." -Barbara E., NetGalley
 
"I greatly enjoyed Ember of Night, and I would highly recommendit for fantasy lovers!" -Haley B., Goodreads
 
"This book was so much fun! Dark and creepy, full of wit and humor,demons and monsters and a girl wanting to know her truth to survive theterrible abusive life her father has inflicted on her." -Sara B., NetGalley
 
"WOW. Molly E Lee's tale of supernatural powers and the fall ofthe earth is mesmerizing." -Kimberly B., NetGalley
 
"Loved it!!! As a YA fantasy book, Ember of Night gave meeverything I needed and more! It was truly a roller coaster ride of emotionswith action and romance." -Kayla H., Goodreads

About the Author

Molly E. Lee writes adult and young adult contemporary featuring strong female heroines who are unafraid to challenge their male counterparts, yet still vulnerable enough to have love sneak up on them. In addition to being a military spouse and mother of two plus one stubborn English bulldog, Molly loves hiking, enjoying the outdoors around her mountain home, and digging for treasures in antique stores. She is the author of Ask Me Anything, the Grad Night series, and the Love on the Edge series.

mollyelee.com










Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 


Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...