September 26, 2014

#Review of The Forbidden Stone (The Copernicus Legacy #1) by @TonyAbbottBooks with #Giveaway #Thanks @NightOwlReviews

The Serpent’s Curse is the second full-length novel in the Copernicus Legacy, an epic tween adventure series that New York Times bestselling author Ridley Pearson says is “full of mystery and intrigue.”

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca may have found the Copernicus Legacy’s first relic—a beautiful blue stone named after the constellation Vela—but they have lost much more than they have gained. Darrell’s mother, Sara, has been kidnapped by Galina Krause, the conniving leader of the Teutonic Order, who hopes that the renowned academic will lead her and her minions to the next relic. 

That means the stakes couldn’t be higher for the Kaplan kids, who trek across the cold wilderness of Siberia, along the winding canals of Venice, and through the streets of Moscow’s Red Square in search of their beloved family member and the sought-after relic called the Serpens. In the process, they meet another network of Guardians and discover that Galina’s plan for Sara involves a scientific experiment that could jeopardize her life.

Filled with another globe-trotting quest and more riddles, puzzles, and secret histories, The Serpent’s Curse is a heart-stopping and suspenseful read for fans of Rick Riordan and Peter Lerangis. The second book in a six-book, six-novella journey, The Serpent’s Curse will leave readers hungry for the next adventure and excited to enter a sweepstakes to participate in a real-life scavenger hunt hosted by Tony Abbott that lets fans become part of the story.

Finished

About the Author

                               ›Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

Tony AbbottTony Abbott (born 1952) is an American author of children's books. His most popular work is the book series The Secrets of Droon, which includes over 40 books. He has sold over 12 million copies of his books and they have been translated into several other languages, including Italian, Spanish, Korean, French, Japanese, Polish, Turkish, and Russian. He has also written the bestseller "Firegirl".
Abbott was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1952. His father was a university professor and had an extensive library of books which became one of Abbott's first sources of literature. When he was eight years old, his family moved to Connecticut where he went through elementary school and high school.
Abbott attended the University of Connecticut, and after studying both music and psychology, decided to study English and graduated from the University of Connecticut with a bachelor's degree in English literature. He attended the workshops of Patricia Reilly Giff to further develop his writing after college. 
Abbott currently lives in Trumbull, Connecticut, with his wife, two daughters, and two dogs. Tony had one brother and two sisters.



My Review 5 Secret Stars


I love this book! I started this book as soon as I finished book one which at the time it was like 1am in the morning.  I devoured both of these and so can't wait for the next one.  This is a very large middle grade novel that will have both girls and boys wanting to sit for hours and read.  The characters are well rounded and they all have a different voice so you won't have to worry mixing them up.  The plot was just stunning.  In this continuation the kids are on the hunt to find Sara whom is Darrell's mom.  And well with twists turns, new threats, and an ending I didn't see coming this is one book that will have you reading until the wee hours of the night. 

Go Into This One Knowing


"All opinions are 100% honest and my own."

Buy The Book

Right before Wade’s uncle Henry, an astronomy professor in Berlin, meets a suspicious and untimely demise, he sends Wade’s dad a coded e-mail. Using an antique star map Uncle Henry gave Wade for his birthday years earlier, Wade and his dad, along with Darrel, Lily, and Becca, unlock the first in long sequence of puzzles, leading them to Berlin, Bologna, Rome, and all around the world. As they dig deeper into the clues, they discover a hidden history of Nicolaus Copernicus, including 12 relics that are protected by guardians who make sure they stay out of the wrong hands. Unfortunately for Wade and his friends, those wrong hands are hot on their tail. Wade and his friends have to use all their smarts to solve the clues in this high-stakes adventure and beat their powerful pursuers to each magical relic. With word games and rebus puzzles to spare, this whirling first entry in a projected six-part series from Abbott (City of the Dead, 2011) has international intrigue, fast-paced action, entertaining characters, and a healthy helping of science history.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Best-selling Abbott is getting the usual—signings, tours, website tie-ins—but the kicker is a sweepstakes for a trip to New York City for a real-life scavenger hunt led by the author. Grades 4-7. --Sarah Hunter

Other Books By This Author

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information.

Reactions:

4 comments:

jan farnworth said...

thanks for the chance

jan farnworth said...

thanks for the chance

Yun-A said...

It sounds like a cute and fun MG fantasy story.

The Caffeinated Booknerd said...

Sounds interesting. Thanks for the chance!

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop