October 20, 2016

Heartless by @marissa_meyer #BookReview

 
 
Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.





Marissa Meyer is the USA Today- and New York Times-bestselling author of the Lunar Chronicles: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, WinterFairest: Levana's Story, and Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection.


It took me a little while to figure out what I wanted to say about this one. So here are my very jumbled thoughts. 

I really both loved and hated Catherine. Sometimes she was strong but other times she was a push over. I think in the end I loved the hatter the most. 

I really loved the story of the Jabberwocky I don't recall if we found out where it had come from in the org story of Alice. So that was a very nice mystery/surprise. 

The story wasn't extremely fast paced but it didn't move at a snails pace either so it was a slowish burn with some great action. 

The world building I have to say was wonderful. The author did an amazing job making Wonderland come alive!  I know why I love her retellings so much. She had a way of writing strong characters, intriguing stories, with a wonderful balance of mystery, romance, danger, and action. 

I really hope that this turns into a series as I would love to know and hear more about the following! 


  1. I want a story from the cats POV. I don't think that's ever been done. 
  2. I want to hear more about the land of Chess!  
Book in a Pinch
For fans of Wonderland and Retellings

 Go Into This One Knowing 
If your going to watch the new release of Alice Through the Looking Glass man it felt like this book gave me a refresher before watching the movie.  Which was weird! 











"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 





 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways. In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. I am in no way compensated for any reviews on this site. All donations are to help keep this site running via costs from shipping, .com charges, and other giveaways.


Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 

Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop