October 31, 2016

The Changer's Key (A Riddle in Ruby #2) by @kentishdavis #BookReview

 
 
The second book in the fantasy-adventure trilogy that School Library Journal called “Good fun!” and Booklist says has “fun and danger around every corner.” In an alternate version of colonial America, young thief Ruby Teach trains to become the coming war’s greatest weapon. Fans of Jonathon Stroud and Terry Pratchett will find that humor and action abounds.

To save her friends and family, apprentice thief Ruby Teach bargained with the man who chased her across the sea and through an alternate version of colonial Philadelphia. Now she’s training to become a soldier in the war he foresees and being experimented on by the army’s scientists. Ruby’s blood holds a secret, if only someone can unlock it.

Meanwhile, Captain Teach and Ruby’s friends—a motley crew made up of a young aristocrat, a servant, an alchemist, and mysterious woodswoman—are racing against time to find and liberate Ruby. Kent Davis’s imagining of a colonial America powered by alchemy is fascinating and wholly original, and he sweeps our heroes through cities and unsettled territories with imagination, humor, and magic. This action-packed trilogy has equal appeal for both boy and girl readers—there’s never a dull moment.





Kent Davis is the author of A Riddle in Ruby. He is also an actor, a game designer, and a teacher. He lives in Bozeman, Montana, with his wife and a wily dog ninja named Bobo. www.kentishdavis.com



Hi this is Endy here!  I was so happy when I found out this book was its way!  I dived into it as soon as it came and I finished it in two days.  This one was even better than the first one. This picked right up where the events of book one left off and this one did not disappoint at all.  I was absorbed as soon as I started and it stayed that way until the very last page.  

We learn so much about the the characters from the first book.  This one will make you smile, cry, I loved the this book so much I can’t wait for book three.  All the characters were well written.  The author did an amazing job creating tough characters and challenges.  

This one is a little slower pace than book one. But it worked out well of this story.  Everyone should read this if they loved book one. 











"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 






 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways. In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. I am in no way compensated for any reviews on this site. All donations are to help keep this site running via costs from shipping, .com charges, and other giveaways.


Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...