We read and talk about books, post reviews, host giveaways, and have fun! We are 4 reviewers based in Florida, USA. We love books and love talking with our fans and followers! From adult to child! We hope that you enjoy our posts and have fun! Make sure to check out the links below to follow us on social media!

April 18, 2017

#BookReview: Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

 
A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.





DEMITRIA LUNETTA is the author of the sci-fi duology In the After and In the End. While attending university in Scotland, she developed a love of Scottish history and folklore, especially the dark tales of Edinburgh’s past. Those frightening things (ghosts, witches, and haggis) helped inspire this book. She lives in Racine, WI.

demitrialunetta.blogspot.com
@demitrialunetta on Twitter


I really wish this one wouldn't have started out like it did. I understand what it was supposed to be but that start really makes you want to read the book. Then you get a great few chapters from the current time period and then you get whisked back to the past but a few years before the start of the first chapter. (hope I didn't confuse you).   

I love that this was set in Scotland and I really love this author. But this one just fell far from my interest.  The character at the start of the book was wonderful but going on they both seemed kind of flat. I really didn't connect with either of them. And well they were just kind of boring.  The story itself dragged a lot and really just lost my interest. So for me, this one has issues abound. 




 Go Into This One Knowing 
Self Harm, Dual POV, Time Jumps











"All opinions are 100% honest and my own." 






 Disclaimer: Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these above links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. This money gets used to buy items for giveaways. In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. I am in no way compensated for any reviews on this site. All donations are to help keep this site running via costs from shipping, .com charges, and other giveaways.


Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 

Reactions:

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...