July 16, 2018

#BookReview: The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch #1) by @rinchupeco

Reviewed By: Jessica P. 
Publisher: SourceBooks Fire
Recommended Age: Young Adult 
Genre: Fantasy 
About the Book:

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.



About the Author: 
Despite uncanny resemblances to Japanese revenants, Rin Chupeco has always maintained her sense of humor. Raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. She's been a technical writer and travel blogger, but now makes things up for a living. Connect with Rin at www.rinchupeco.com.


   
Noteworthy experiences while reading this book: I tried this book a little while ago and ended up DNFing. Well, I have to say that I am glad I gave it another go because this book was so good.
Do I Recommend this book?  Yes

Notes and Opinions: This book is written as an interview. You have the one character who is learning the story of the Bone Witch Tea. I do not think I understood that the first time I tried to read this one.  But this time around I made it all the way through and I couldn't put it down. This is a beautifully written story about a girl who ended up being something that she didn't ask for.  I loved all the descriptions and way the story was told. It was different than any other fantasy that I have read. I have to say that if you love fantasy and amazing stories then you should check this one out.

Go Into This One Knowing: hints of Japanese culture, magic









 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 





Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 


SaveSave
SaveSave

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...