July 26, 2018

#BookReview: The Color of Lies by C.J. Lyons

Reviewed By: Jessica P. 
Publisher: Blink
Recommended Age: Young Adult 
Genre: Mystery, Illness

About the Book:

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons comes The Color of Lies, a world drenched in color and mystery.

 

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses—her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella’s own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions…until she meets a guy she just can’t read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out—he wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella’s world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident.

After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown, The Color of Lies blurs the lines between black-and-white facts and the kaleidoscope of reality.






   


About the Author:
Pediatric ER doctor turned New York Times bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons has been a storyteller all her life—something that landed her in many time-outs as a kid. She writes her Thrillers with Heart for the same reason that she became a doctor: because she believes we each have the power to change our world. 

In the ER she witnessed many acts of courage by her patients and their families, learning that heroes truly are born every day. When not writing, she can be found walking the beaches near her Lowcountry home, listening to the voices in her head and plotting new and devious ways to create mayhem for her characters. 


To learn more about her Thrillers with Heart go to www.CJLyons.net





Noteworthy experiences while reading this book: This reads like middle grade at times. 
Do I Recommend this book? Yes

Notes and Opinions: Although parts of this book feel more middle grade vs. young adult at times it was still an enoyable read.  This one showed up right before I was leaving for New Orleans and ALAAC18. So I speed read it before I left and got this review done.  This book was a short book but was a great read.  It talks about this new to me illness called synesthesia. Before this book I knew what this was on the surface but nothing really past what I had seen in movies and tv shows.  This however was a great concept to place a story around.  

This was a well paces story and there were very few parts that were slow.  I did think at times even though the main character is a senior it felt like this was more middle grade vs. young adult that was cleared up pretty quickly and didn't take away from the story at large all that much.  

The mystery was done very well. I was always at the edge of my seat and just couldn't out it down.  The twists in this one were unexpected and I didn't see them coming. That made this book very unperdictible and awesome!  I can't wait to see what else this author has in store for us reader in the furture.

Go Into This One Knowing: Great story with a new illness to shed some light. 
 









 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 





Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 


0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...