September 18, 2018

#FirstPage with The Perfect Candidate by @pstonebooks

Welcome to this week's First Page post!  This week we have a thriller that is perfect for this October!  This has been pegged as the perfect ya thriller for right now-think John Grishman meets John Green.  ~Margaert Stohl! 



About the Book:

From debut author Peter Stone comes a heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

When recent high school graduate Cameron Carter lands an internship with Congressman Billy Beck in Washington, DC, he thinks it is his ticket out of small town captivity. When he lacks connections and Beltway polish he makes up in smarts, and he soon finds a friend and mentor in fellow staffer Ariel Lancaster.

That is, until she winds up dead.

As rumors and accusations about her death fly around Capitol Hill, Cameron’s low profile makes him the perfect candidate for an FBI investigation that he wants no part of. Before he knows it—and with his family’s future at stake—he discovers DC’s darkest secrets as he races to expose a deadly conspiracy.

If it doesn’t get him killed first.
 








About the Author: Peter Stone is a lifelong fan of thrillers on the big screen, small screen, and page. Prior to his career in TV and film marketing, he worked in Washington, DC, first as an intern on Capitol Hill and later as a Spanish tutor for a former Speaker of the House. The Perfect Candidate is his debut novel. He lives in Tokyo, Japan, with his wife and two sons.


 
This is the first page from the Advance Readers Copy (print)

Prologue-
The End of the Summer
You don't notice it at first. 
                    Initially, you see our nation's next Speaker of the House, whose all-American grin is rivaled only by the pick me! smiles of the interns surrounding him. You see the gleaming, upright dome of the Capitol in the background-lodged into the building like some massive, neoclassical Faberge egg. You good, uncomfortable posture. 
                     It is the official summer intern photo op we are looking at here. A glossy eight-by-ten, automatically sent by the Capitol photographer's office to summer interns' homes, a few weeks after they drain out of the city. It's the picture that will hit the proud local papers. The one that will stay on the refrigerator. 
                      And in my case, some FBI file. 
                      You don't notice it at first, but then you can't not see it. 







 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 





Comments are DELICIOUS! and now that were using this new format for comments the TOP 3 Commenters will all win bookish goodies each month! So that is just one more reason to comment!  This is open to everyone!  So get commenting!  

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest! 
@CrossroadReview 


0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...