October 11, 2018

#BookReview of The Inquisitor's Mark by @diannesalerni


The Inquisitor's Mark (Eighth Day, #2)


About the Book: 

After the all-out Eighth Day war in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords who want to use Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, to get control over the Eighth Day. 

So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax’s defenses go up—especially when Finn tells Jax that he’s holding Jax’s best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle and Jax is closely related to the Dulacs—a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who have been dying to get their hands on Riley and Evangeline. And family or not, these people will stop at nothing to get what they want.

With suspense, action, and intrigue lurking around every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.












About the Author: DIANNE K. SALERNI, a former fifth grade teacher, is the author of YA historical novels, We Hear the Dead (Sourcebooks) and The Caged Graves (Clarion/HMH), as well as a children's fantasy series from HarperCollins: The Eighth Day, Book 1, The Inquisitor's Mark, Book 2, and The Morrigan's Curse, Book 3. 

The Caged Graves is a Junior Library Guild Selection, and We Hear the Dead was the inspiration for a 10 minute short film, The Spirit Game, which premiered at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival. http://vimeo.com/64738099

Recently retired from teaching, Dianne is prone to hanging around creepy cemeteries and climbing 2000 year-old pyramids in the name of book research.
Reviewed By: Rachael
Publisher: HarperCollins
Recommended Age: Middle Grade
Genre: Fantasy
Goodreads | Amazon


My Review: The sequel to Salerni's freshman novel, The Eighth Day, was just as exciting and action-packed as the first one!  It’s exciting and fun. Though it did take a good deal of time to get things rolling. I didn't like this one as much as the first book and that's because I didn't like Billy. I know he meant well but he was so idiotic. I like the weaving in of historical legend surrounding King Arthur and his knights. All in all, I enjoyed this follow-up, and I'm definitely going to read the next book in the series.

Do I Recommend this book? Yes!
 








Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 






 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...