November 22, 2018

#BookReview: The Geography of Lost Things by @JessicaBrody

About the Book:


In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does?

Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans.

He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected.

And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.
 




About the Author: Jessica Brody is the author of several popular novels for teens and tweens, including The Geography of Lost Things, 52 Reasons to Hate My FatherA Week of Mondays, Better You Than Me, and the Unremembered trilogy. She lives with her husband and four dogs near Portland, Oregon. Visit her online at JessicaBrody.com.

Recommended Age: Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary, Travel, Romance



My Review: I really liked that the message to this story at least for me is that even though something gives you a memory that may not give you the best emotions it doesn't mean you should get rid of it.  I know friends of mine have kept things from a baby they lost ages ago.  It may not bring the best memory to them but it is still something that they cherish.  In this book our MC Ali gets rid of things that do this.  But during a trip she learns theres another way.  

I really enjoyed that this story had a ton of connections.  Although it was a little far fetched at times it was still very interesting. This situation in this book was so relatable. I think a lot of teens have been though something like this and it just made this book and story come alive. I really loved Ali she is so strong but also weak, and such a great character.  

I really loved how the author explorded family dynamics and the story of loss.  I hope to get my own copy of this soon. Jessica Brody knows how to pull you into a story. 



Go Into This One Knowing: Family, Loss, Memories
 








Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...