November 08, 2018

#BookReview: The Turning by Emily Whitman

About the Book:

Does he belong to the land or to the sea?

Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan's Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.

Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk?

When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?



About the Author: Emily Whitman is the author of two acclaimed books for teenagers, and this is her first novel for younger readers. In all her books, myth and magic are a part of everyday life. She has worked in bookstores and behind library reference desks, and now she teaches writing workshops. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Recommended Age: Middle Grade
Genre: Fantasy 
Goodreads | Amazon



My Review: This was a beautifully written book about a boy selkie who is left with humans while his mother finds him a pelt because he was born without one.  I really loved the writing and the story. The book was a good length and one that I think boys will love. We don't get to many fantasy books for boys so this one was a great find.   

Do I Recommend this book?  YES


 








Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 

Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 






 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...