December 22, 2018

#BookReview: Past Due for Murder (Blue Ridge Library Mysteries #3) by Victoria Gilbert

Title: Past Due for Murder
Series: Blue Ridge Library Mysteries #3
Author: Victoria Gilbert
Genres: Adult, Cozy Mystery 
Pages: Hardcover, 304
Pub Date: February 12th 2019
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Book Source: Publisher
My Rating: 3 Stars
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Synopsis: Has a curse fallen on the small town of Taylorsford, Virginia? After a young woman goes missing during a spring bonfire, library director Amy Webber must wade through the web of lies only to find a truth that she may not want to untangle. 

Spring has sprung in quaint Taylorsford, Virginia, and the mayor has revived the town’s long-defunct May Day celebration to boost tourism. As part of the festivities, library director Amy Webber is helping to organize a research project and presentation by a local folklore expert. All seems well at first―but spring takes on a sudden chill when a university student inexplicably vanishes during a bonfire. 

The local police cast a wide net to find the missing woman, but in a shocking turn of events, Amy’s swoon-worthy neighbor Richard Muir becomes a person of interest in the case. Not only is Richard the woman’s dance instructor, he also doesn’t have an alibi for the night the student vanished―or at least not one he’ll divulge, even to Amy. 

When the missing student is finally discovered lost in the mountains, with no memory of recent events―and a dead body lying nearby―an already disturbing mystery takes on a sinister new hue. Blessed with her innate curiosity and a librarian’s gift for research, Amy may be the only one who can learn the truth.

This title will be released on February 12, 2019.



About the Author: Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian. Victoria has worked as a reference librarian, research librarian, and library director. When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers and lives in North Carolina. This is her third Blue Ridge Library mystery.






For fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay, the third conspiratorially delightful third entry in Victoria Gilbert’s critically acclaimed Blue Ridge Library mysteries.

Praise for A Murder for the Books:
"Gilbert's series kickoff offers an intricate mystery, an interesting look at the past, and a clever and determined heroine."
Kirkus Reviews

“This debut mystery and series launch by a former librarian is an intriguing cozy that combines historical tidbits, a taste of the supernatural, a budding romance, and humor. Fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay will welcome a new librarian sleuth to the fold.”
Library Journal

"Captivating...Cozy fans will look forward to seeing more of the appealing Amy."
Publishers Weekly

Nicely framed by details of library work and research.”
Booklist

"As cozy mysteries go, this is one of the best."
NY Journal of Books



My Review: When I got this I didn't realize that it was a book 3 in a series.  I think this book did a great job with being read as a stand alone as well as making references to books one and two in the series.  It made it enjoyable for all to read, so you might miss a few connections in this one but overall I think the author did a great job.  However, if you want a really strong connection I would say to make sure to read the other two books in this series first.  

I loved how the author weaved the story about two girls being taken by the Fey or the Folk as they are called in this one. It made a great side story to solve.  What I didn't care for is that it takes this book a very long time to get to the murder that it was supposed to be about.  I was past the halfway mark before it even happened which made this one a lot slower than I would have liked.  This one also has a lot of talk about realtionships which overshadowed the main plot of this mystery.  

The story pacing was very choppy at times from going slow to fast which just made the story feel off.  and the characters themselves at times felt one sided and not fully developed.   

In the end this one is not so much about solving a mystery as it is about the characters in the story.  





Go Into This One Knowing: More about relationships than mystery, The Folk, Choppy Pacing
 








Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...