January 11, 2019

#BookReview: 29 Dates by @MelissadelaCruz @InkyardPress #29dates #NetGalley

Title: 29 Dates
Author: Melissa De La Cruz
Hardcover400 pages
Published December 18th 2018 by Inkyard Press
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Korean Culture 
Synopsis:  Jisu's traditional South Korean parents are concerned by what they see as her lack of attention to her schoolwork and her future. Working with Seoul's premiere matchmaker to find the right boyfriend is one step toward ensuring Jisu's success, and going on the recommended dates is Jisu's compromise to please her parents while finding space to figure out her own dreams. But when she flubs a test then skips out on a date to spend time with friends, her fed-up parents shock her by shipping her off to a private school in San Francisco. Where she'll have the opportunity to shine academically—and be set up on more dates!

Navigating her host family, her new city and school, and more dates, Jisu finds comfort in taking the photographs that populate her ever-growing social media account. Soon attention from two very different boys sends Jisu into a tailspin of soul-searching. As her passion for photography lights her on fire, does she even want to find The One? And what if her One isn't parent and matchmaker approved?


Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon




About the Author: Melissa de la Cruz is the #1 New York Times, #1 Publishers Weekly and #1 IndieBound bestselling author of novels for readers of all ages, including The Isle of the Lost and Return to the Isle of the Lost. Her books have topped the USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times bestseller lists and have been published in more than twenty countries. Today she lives in Los Angeles and Palm Springs with her husband and daughter.






"A heartwarming, sparkling romantic comedy about what happens when what your heart wants and what your parents want don't match...Melissa de la Cruz enchants and delights in her usual style. Completely unputdownable!"-Sandhya Menon, New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met Rishi

"A refreshingly modern love story, 29 Dates serves up a funny and heartfelt rom-com about finding love and figuring out life on your own terms."
-Maurene Goo, author of I Believe in a Thing Called Love and The Way You Make Me Feel

"29 Dates is a sweet, unique take on the high-school rom-com...cinematic and inviting. This latest by de la Cruz is perfect for fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before." –Booklist

"A surprise ending brings the story to a satisfying close that will thrill fans of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before (2014). A surefire hit wherever lighthearted romances are popular." –Kirkus Reviews

"Wow. Something in Between hit me right in the heart, challenging what we understand of love, law, identity, ambition, and the American Dream. Both heartbreaking and bursting with hope, this is the book we all need."

-Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Young Elites and Legend series on Something in Between

"Jasmine's fairytale-turned-nightmare story will have you laughing, seething, relating, crying, and cheering. A great love story, a great heroine, a great family...simply a great read!"

-Rachel Cohn, New York Times bestselling coauthor of Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist on Something in Between



My Review: This book was so adorable. I thought that the middle snippets of her dates were going to take away from the story at large but after a few chapters, I was actually looking forward to reading how each one went. This book was unlike anything I have ever read and it felt very diverse with the characters.  I loved learning more about Korean Culture (even though the author notes that she took liberties with the matchmaking dates) and I really hope that De La Cruz does another story set in another culture soon.  I loved all of the characters and the pace of this story.

The one thing that I wish would have been really touched on in this story was the fact that Jisu's parents were very hard on her. It would have been nice for her to sit down with them to have a real talk about how they were pressuring her to not only to do her best but to surpass that.  Kids these days are under so much stress during school, especially being a senior. It would be better for parents to support their children vs. stressing them out more.  Although Jisu does talk to her mom about the issue its never really talked about at large and is never really resolved.

In the end, I think was a very cute and at times funny story.  I am really glad that I got the chance to read it and I could see this one being a great summer read. To grab a copy and layout at the beach and get a tan while watching the waves and reading.



Go Into This One Knowing: Korean Matchmaking (with liberties), Romance, Humor 
 








Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Hosted Desktop
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...