February 20, 2019

#BookReview: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

Title: The Psycology of Time Travel
Author: Kate Mascarenhas
Genres: Adult, Time Travel

Pages: Hardcover, 336
Published: February 12, 2019
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Rating: ★

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike.




About the Author: Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. Since 2017, Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Before that she worked as a copywriter, a dollhouse maker, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.

My Review: This one was very orignal but parts of it just were not for me. And in the end it was kind of out there for me.  This one really suffered from that first bookness that we find sometimes with new authors.  It just for me needed a little more tweeking and it would have been amazing.  I don't know why this one didn't really work for me.  I just think that it wasn't for me at all. 










Praise for The Psychology of Time Travel:

"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups... A tightly plotted novel about the potential hazards of time travel on a person's sense of self, not to mention world events."
―Refinery29
"[A] superb debut novel... The Psychology of Time Travel heralds the arrival of a master storyteller."
―BookPage

"Intricately plotted . . . The story unfolds in a captivating way, and fascinating suggestions are made about the effects of time travel."
Publisher's Weekly

"With plenty of twists and turns, The Psychology of Time Travel is a provocative thought experiment."
―Foreword Reviews

"A dazzling genre-defying debut . . . witty, inventive and unflashily wise about human hearts; Mascarenhas’s future promises to be an exciting one."
The Guardian

"Mascarenhas' writing is clear and strong, making this a good choice for readers who want to be immersed in a story."
―Booklist

"The narrative moves back and forth through time with its almost all-female cast meeting their future and past selves in an intriguing, multi-layered mystery that is ingeniously plotted." 
The Daily Mail

"[A] compelling, confident debut...wrapping the psychological exploration around a diverse, real set of characters and a thrilling murder mystery."
SFX Magazine, 4 1/2 stars

"A surprising, mysterious, and sometimes unsettling novel, threaded with off-kilter ideas and wonderful insights.”
―Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays

An elegant braid of a narrative, delivering queer joy and time-traveling women . . . Fans of Jo Walton will feel very much at home in this gorgeous, nested tale.” 
―Meg Elison, author of The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

"The Psychology of Time Travel is the most imaginative thriller I've read in ages: captivating, delightful, and thoroughly original. Ms. Mascarenhas' genius is in patiently exploring the small, fascinating details of a world in which time travel is possible . . . an all-around wonderful novel." 
―Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters

"Kate Mascarenhas deftly weaves an innovative tale with The Psychology of Time Travelpart mystery; part time travel. Entirely entertaining!"
―Julie McElwain, author of A Murder In Time









Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...