February 03, 2019

#BookReview: The True Queen (Sorcerer Royal #2) by Zen Cho @zenaldehyde

Title: The True Queen
Series: Sorcerer Royal
Author: Zen Cho
Genres: Adult, Fantasy

Pages: Paperback384 pages
Published: March 12th, 2019
Publisher: Ace Books

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:   In the follow-up to the "delightful" Regency fantasy novel (NPR.org) Sorcerer to the Crown, a young woman with no memories of her past finds herself embroiled in dangerous politics in England and the land of the fae. 

When sisters Muna and Sakti wake up on the peaceful beach of the island of Janda Baik, they can't remember anything, except that they are bound as only sisters can be. They have been cursed by an unknown enchanter, and slowly Sakti starts to fade away. The only hope of saving her is to go to distant Britain, where the Sorceress Royal has established an academy to train women in magic.

If Muna is to save her sister, she must learn to navigate high society, and trick the English magicians into believing she is a magical prodigy. As she's drawn into their intrigues, she must uncover the secrets of her past, and journey into a world with more magic than she had ever dreamed.




About the Author: Zen Cho was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and her short story collection Spirits Abroad was a joint winner of the William L. Crawford Fantasy Award. Her debut novel Sorcerer to the Crown won a British Fantasy Award for Best Newcomer and was a Locus Awards finalist for Best First Novel. She lives in the UK.







 
“An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susanna Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide.”—Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of the Temeraire novels
 
“Absolutely everything about this book is delightful…Witty, wise and wonderful, Sorcerer to the Crown is an admirable achievement and a deep delight.”—NPR.org
 
Sorcerer to the Crown felt like Pride and Prejudice but with magic and race, which makes Zen Cho Austen crossed with Susanna Clarke and Ignatius Sancho…I am utterly in love.”—tor.com
  
"A winning combination of magic and thrill set in an alternative version of Regency England."—The Washington Post

"A captivating debut that, aside from examining both gender and racial prejudice, tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill."—The Guardian (UK)

"Fans of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell will flock to this historical fantasy debut for its shared setting and be rewarded with an exciting story and nuanced, diverse characters who make this novel soar on its own merits."—Library Journal (starred review; debut of the month) 

"Combines magic and the Regency period in the manner of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, but adds an Austenian piquancy...Cho's debut has much to recommend it, particularly its implicit critique of colonialism and its frothy good humour."—Financial Times

"A classic, gently barbed upper-crust comedy mixed with magical thrills, modern social consciousness, and a hint of political intrigue. A decidedly promising start."—Kirkus Reviews



My Review:  Although I didn't read the first book I didn't feel to confused on what was going on.  I read a few reviews about what happened in book one and that really worked for this one. I will totally be reading the first book when I get a chance but this one was very good.  I loved the world and the characters and a great fantasy!! This felt like a blend of a few other books in the same genera but man was it so good. 



Go Into This One Knowing: Fantasy, Fine to Read Alone
 










Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...