February 02, 2019

#BookReview: The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson

Title: The Wren Hunt
Author: Mary Watson
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: Hardcover, 432
Published: November 6, 2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens 
Rating: 1 ★

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

Synopsis:  Every Christmas, Wren is chased through the woods near her isolated village by her family's enemies—the Judges—and there’s nothing that she can do to stop it. Once her people, the Augurs, controlled a powerful magic. But now that power lies with the Judges, who are set on destroying her kind for good. 

In a desperate bid to save her family, Wren takes a dangerous undercover assignment—as an intern to an influential Judge named Cassa Harkness. Cassa has spent her life researching a transformative spell, which could bring the war between the factions to its absolute end. Caught in a web of deceit, Wren must decide whether or not to gamble on the spell and seal the Augurs’ fate.
 




About the Author: Mary Watson grew up in Cape Town, South Africa, where she worked as an art museum guide, library assistant, actress in children's musicals, front-of-house duty manager, and university lecturer. She now lives on the west coast of Ireland with her husband and three young children. After publishing a short story collection and novel for adults, she fell in love with the brave girls in YA books, which inspired her to write her debut novel for teens, The Wren Hunt.
www.marywatsonbooks.com
@stonemadonna

My Review: This one was very confusing.  I know that is not what you want to hear and trust me that is not what I wanted from this story.  The cover grabbed me and I was so excited to dive in but it just wasn't what I thought it was going to be. The world building to this one left me in the dark so much that I am still not sure what world it was really set in other than the fact that it was set in Ireland. The magical system was one of the worse that I have ever read about and was very confusing and left a lot untold.  And lastly, the characters were ok at best. 

For me, this one fell far from the bar that I set for it and it was very disappointing. 




Go Into This One Knowing: Confusing, No World Building, No Explanation for Magic System, One Sided Characters 







“[R]eminiscent of Maggie Stiefvater's Raven Cycle . . . Watson brings a deep and visceral voice to old stories as well as an authentic and modern urban sensibility, making this a highly stylized read.” ―School Library Journal, starred review
"Watson’s core characters . . . enchant. Calista is a nuanced, sympathetic antagonist; Wren’s struggles between love and duty, fate and free will are transfixing; and Wren and Tarquin’s forbidden romance feels at once modern and folkloric." - Publishers Weekly
“The mythology introduced in this debut is lovely and haunting . . . [For] readers who loved the dark lore and lyrical language of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood.” ―Booklist
“Lush. . . [G]ood for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black.” ―Kirkus Reviews
“In this moody magical thriller, a girl with a secret identity and a talent that doubles as a curse has to outwit her enemies, survive her own damaging power, and follow her heart. For fans of . . . [t]he Shannara Chronicles.” ―Buzzfeed
“Wren's a feisty but vulnerable hero . . . Readers who enjoy the mix of modernity and mythology of Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle will find that same blend here.” ―BCCB
“[A] compelling take on druid mythology combined with a dash of family mystery. . . . The novel asks how knowledge not only defines but also changes someone, engendering interesting surprises.” ―Foreword Reviews
“This book will be a great read for those who enjoy fantasy, romance, and a little bit of mystery.” ―School Library Connection
The Wren Hunt rings with ancient, subtle magic, masterfully transmuted into words. A tale that gets into your bones.” ―Samantha Shannon, New York Times bestselling author of THE BONE SEASON





 










Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...