April 07, 2019

#BookReview for Last Things by Jacqueline West


Synopsis: When strange things start happening to local music idol Anders Thorson, everyone blames his number-one-fan, Thea. But is she out to hurt him? Or protect him?

High school senior Anders Thorson is unusually gifted. His band, Last Things, is legendary in their northern Minnesota hometown. With guitar skills that would amaze even if he weren’t only eighteen, Anders is the focus of head-turning admiration. And Thea Malcom, a newcomer to the insular town, is one of his admirers. Thea seems to turn up everywhere Anders goes: gigs at the local coffeehouse, guitar lessons, even in the woods near Anders’s home. When strange things start happening to Anders—including the disappearance of his beloved cat, then his sort-of girlfriend, and, somehow, his musical talent—blame immediately falls on Thea. But is she trying to hurt him? Or save him? Can he trust a girl who doesn’t seem to know the difference between dreams and reality? And how much are they both willing to compromise to get what they want?

This title will be released on May 7, 2019.

Add to Goodreads

Buy from Amazon

  




About the Author:  
Jacqueline West is the author of the award-winning and bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. Her short fiction and poetry appear in a variety of publications. She is also a classically trained singer and an actress, and she still performs with local theatre troupes. She lives with her family in Red Wing, Minnesota. www.jacquelinewest.com

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
My Review: This was such an interesting title.  I had read her middle grade titles a few years ago and really enjoyed them so when this one came up I jumped at the chance to read a young adult novel.  I swear this author can do no wrong with her titles.  This one was full of flow and music that I just could not put it down.  I loved it all.  


It was dark, creepy, and again so full of music.  I have to say that I really hope that she does more young adult titles in the future.  





“I devoured this book in a day. Told in evocative, spare prose through the eyes of two complex teens who ache and yearn and are jaw-droppingly brave, Last Things is the kind of taut, atmospheric thriller that gets your heart racing and sets your imagination on fire. Sensational.” (Claire Legrand, New York Times-bestselling author of Furyborn)

“West has an eerie way with words, an uncanny ability to conjure the perfect image. Last Things is at once poetic and urgent, evocative and authentic, everything I love in a book.” (Victoria Schwab, author of #1 New York Times bestseller This Savage Song)

“West goes for a slow build while framing her two narrators as one music-smitten teen approaching a realistic stay-or-go crossroads in his life and another who could well be just an oddball....Come the wild, scary climax, Thea turns out to be much more than she appears.... A suspenseful tale wrought from power chords, creeping darkness, and disquieting twists.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“West uses evocative language, including song lyrics, to enhance the ominous atmosphere in this updated Faustian thriller; her pitch-perfect depiction of music conjures pulse-pounding concerts and Anders’s passion for metal. A dark and lovely saga, ideal for fans of Brenna Yovanoff and Holly Black.” (ALA Booklist)









Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...