July 15, 2019

#BookReview of Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1) by @marypearson


Synopsis: A new novel in the New York Times–bestselling Remnant Chronicles universe, in which a reformed thief and the young leader of an outlaw dynasty lock wits in a battle that may cost them their lives—and their hearts.

When the patriarch of the Ballenger empire dies, his son, Jase, becomes its new leader. Even nearby kingdoms bow to the strength of this outlaw family, who have always governed by their own rules. But a new era looms on the horizon, set in motion by a young queen, which makes her the target of the dynasty's resentment and anger.

At the same time, Kazi, a legendary former street thief, is sent by the queen to investigate transgressions against the new settlements. When Kazi arrives in the forbidding land of the Ballengers, she learns that there is more to Jase than she thought. As unexpected events spiral out of their control, bringing them intimately together, they continue to play a cat and mouse game of false moves and motives in order to fulfill their own secret missions. 

Add to Goodreads
Buy from Amazon

  




About the Author:  
Mary E. Pearson is the NYT bestselling and award-winning author of eleven YA novels and one novella. Her works include the completed trilogy, The Remnant Chronicles, which in a starred review, Publisher’s Weekly called “masterfully crafted.” Her favorite activities as a child were climbing tall trees imagining she was a hero in some fantastical world, or running along fence tops and roofs pretending she was a spy with a bagful of amazing gadgets. She was rarely herself. Amazingly, she never broke a bone until she caught a basketball in gym class. Catching real balls was not her forte. These days she continues to live in make-believe worlds she creates in her books. Her latest 2-book series, Dance of Thieves, allows her do all kinds of dangerous things without breaking any bones. So far. 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

My Review: I absolutely love Mary's writing. The Kiss of Deception was my favorite book of 2014. This book uses some of the same characters in a minor way. Her world-building and character development are just so brilliant! I flew through it SO QUICKLY. I just couldn't put this book down. Pearson knows how to write romance. Like seriously! There's a heavy focus on the romance but with a bigger plot looming over it all. Overall one of my favorite fantasy reads of the year so far.


Do I Recommend this book? Uhh duh!







“A brilliant fantasy with a boldly beating heart. Mary E. Pearson is a fearless storyteller―I’m still trying to catch my breath from this book.” ―Stephanie Garber, New York Times–bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary
"The slow-burning, seductive romance never overwhelms the intricate plot, which is built with layers upon layers of twists, reveals, and double-crosses." ―Booklist

"This novel has it all―romance, conflict, danger, and humor." ―School Library Journal

"Pearson is a gifted storyteller and spinner of eminently satisfying romances and fantasy." ―Publishers Weekly 
The Beauty of Darkness:
"Pearson has created such a dynamic and inspiring heroine. . . . Fantasy fans will love this marvelous, high-action conclusion to the trilogy." ―School Library Journal
"Full and rich." ―Booklist
"Pearson is an excellent storyteller . . . . She brings an ambitious trilogy to a rousing conclusion." ―The Horn Book
The Heart of Betrayal:
New York Times Bestseller
"It's rare that the second book in a series is as good–or perhaps better–than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down." ―Bookliststarred review

The Kiss of Deception:
"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." ―Publishers Weeklystarred review

"Pearson offers readers a wonderfully full-bodied story: harrowing, romantic, and full of myth and memory, fate and hope." ―Bookliststarred review
"Romance, adventure, mysticism–this book has it all and it just may be the next YA blockbuster." ―School Library Journalstarred review









Don't forget to check out our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and out other social media found on the side bar! 

Did you know that comments are DELICIOUS? Well they are and if you comment on any of these posts you could win some awesome goodies! 



 Disclaimer: "All opinions are 100% honest and my own."  Thanks to Goodreads and Amazon for the book cover, about the book, and author information. Buying via these links allows my site to get a % of the sale at no cost to you. 

FTC Guidelines: In accordance with FTC guidelines regarding endorsements and testimonials for bloggers, I would like my readers to know that many of the books I review are provided to me for free by the publisher or author of the book in exchange for an honest review. If am compensated for any reviews on this site I will state that post has been sponsored. 




0 comments:

Post a Comment

Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...